Customer Reviews for

Hammer of the Gods: The Led Zeppelin Saga

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    Inside The Warped World of Led Zeppelin

    This Book was a great View of one of Rock's greatest groups. Peter Grant is the unsung hero, orchestrating some wild and down right sick fun. This saga follows Led Zeppelin as it forms around Jimmy Page in the post Yardbird's days, to become a Legend. Inside accounts of Groupies, Drugs, Booze, sex, the imfamous shark incedent and other excesses, as well as a great comentary about doing buisness on tour, make this a Rock And Roll Must Read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Loved It

    A MUST read for any Led fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Hammer has fallen

    I think that this book is the best compilation of all of Led Zeppelin's accomplisments and drawbacks. Surely there are rumors, but you cannot just ignore them. Rumors are a huge part of rock bands' egos and reputation. Led Zeppelin is defined well in this book and I felt very informed and enlightened when I was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2001

    power mystery & magick

    This book is every bit worthy of it,s controversial reputation.The stories in the book make for great story telling and it also proves how much fame can go to your head.I think the rumours about black magic are total rubbish Zeppelin did,nt need that tomake great music ,However they certainly had some shady characters in their entourage.One criticism of the auther is that he slightly glamourises the hard drug abuse.All in all an excellent expose and tribute to the most amazing rock and roll band the world has ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2000

    Awsome Ride

    This is a killer book that any Zeppelin fan would like. Eventhough some say the book is based on rumors rather than facts, Hammer of the Gods does give you a very good idea of what this amazing band is all about. It takes you through a sweet pilgrimage, and makes you feel like your right with them the whole way. The only critizism of the book I have, is I wish the author made Bonham's death a little more dramatic, rather than just stating it. But other than that I would recommend this book to anyone that likes this phenomenal band.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    Whole Lotta Facts

    I'd really recommend this novel if you don't know a whole lotta Zeppelin yet, because a lot is learned here and it's fairly exciting. It does have drag-on moments, and the period from 1980-1990 is boring and tired, but the story of how the band met, and some of the groupie tales are interesting and funny. Jimmy Page is God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    A tabloid novel

    As a huge Led Zep fan I found the book to be a sensationalized version of reality. While it was entertaining, I thought the author was simply trying to give people what they wanted to hear; rumours abounded concerning Zeppelin and this book tries to support all the rumours with hearsay and gossip. Many of the details conflict with what I've read and heard in other books, TV interviews etc. For a great biography of the band, read the book by Ritchie Yorke. It provides a more insightful, factual and personal biography of the band and its music. Hammer of The Gods is entertaining, but true fans know it's overblown and does a great disservice to the best band rock-n-roll ever produced

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Waste of Time

    Don't buy this book. The author's writing is very choppy and the reading is slow. This book is written based on more rumors than fact. Also, for the Led Zeppelin fan, there isn't much new info in the book. I don't recommend this book. But on the other hand, Richard Cole's 'Stairway to Heaven' is good reading. I couldn't put this bbok down.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1