Customer Reviews for

Hammered (Iron Druid Chronicles Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best of the Series so far!

After reading HOUNDED and completely falling in love with this series, I read the synopses for the next two books - HEXED and HAMMERED. I thought HEXED sounded great - who doesn't want to see Atticus mix it up with some more witches and fight an honest-to-goodness falle...
After reading HOUNDED and completely falling in love with this series, I read the synopses for the next two books - HEXED and HAMMERED. I thought HEXED sounded great - who doesn't want to see Atticus mix it up with some more witches and fight an honest-to-goodness fallen angel? I wasn't disappointed, and Hearne exceeded my every expectation with the book - it was even better than HOUNDED with more action, a continued development of the world and the relationships among characters, and more Leif (the guy I want backing me up in a fight!). But the synopsis of HAMMERED left me a little cold [no pun intended ;-)]. I loved the Celtic mythology at the heart of the series so far, and I really liked the Southwest as a setting for urban fantasy. Heading to Asgard and focusing on the Norse gods.I was a little apprehensive. I was wrong. I can admit it. HAMMERED blew me away! It was the best of the series, hands down. The series has always been entertaining - lots of action, plenty of humor, and great characters. These are all present in HAMMERED, but this book offers more. It packs an emotional wallop, and poses some interesting questions. What is the price of revenge? How much are you willing to sacrifice, both for yourself and for your friends? How do the events in our lives shape who we are, what we become, and the choices we make? One thing I really liked about the book was the handful of chapters written from the POV of a different character. Each of these chapters has a very different feel, rhythm, language, etc. It really shows Hearne's skill as a writer that he can make each narrator feel so unique and real. I'm not going to give a plot summary here, since the synopsis is given on the back of the book and in many other reviews. All I can say is that this is the most emotionally satisfying book of the series. If you liked the first two books, this one won't disappoint.

posted by whfanatic on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

3.5stars -- Apply here for membership in the I Hate Thor Club to

3.5stars -- Apply here for membership in the I Hate Thor Club today!

Hmmm….I loved everything about the first book. The second book was ok, I decided I wasn’t the target audience, which must have been teen boys but I found some things to like. This time o...
3.5stars -- Apply here for membership in the I Hate Thor Club today!

Hmmm….I loved everything about the first book. The second book was ok, I decided I wasn’t the target audience, which must have been teen boys but I found some things to like. This time out, I’m disappointed again. Quite a bit feels like filler although the action scenes are interesting and lively. To my taste there were too many homages – I wanted the originality and freshness that was promised in earlier books. There’s also a bit of corn and cheese as we trudge thru the reasons the “I hate Thor” Club exists. I didn’t have nearly enough Oberon; Granuaile has grown on me too – her absence was felt and I was sorry to leave widow MacDonagh (I hope to see her again), but glad to spend more time with both Leif & Gunnar. I was torn about continuing the series and then I got to the ending which of course changed my mind.

posted by ereadwithme on August 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A third installment that feels like a final installment. One get

    A third installment that feels like a final installment. One gets the impression reading Hammered that Kevin Hearne wasn’t really sure Del Ray would publish more than three books, so he ties up a number of characterizational and plot threads from Hounded and Hexed in this book, Atticus’ debts to Leif Helgarson and to the witch Laksha being the biggest and most tied to the main action of the book. There is some lip-service mid-book and again at the end towards setting up where Atticus would go from here should the series continue (which it did, with book 7 just recently coming out in hardcover). In the first half of the book, Atticus ties up a lot of his personal loose ends just in case he’s not going to survive the trip to Asgard, and he’s visited by a number of well-meaning supernatural friends who try to warn him off of the course of action he’s undertaking (at least one cameo made me chuckle out loud, and I don’t want to ruin that appearance for anyone).

    Atticus’ devotion to being honorable, to keeping his word, gets him into a load of trouble throughout the book and at least once puts him in an untenable situation that doesn’t necessarily resolve satisfactorily for the reader (involving the fate of one of the Norse goddesses); I’ve seen a number of reviews that concur with me on this point but again, giving details would count as a spoiler. I’m hoping this decision of Atticus’ is revisited later in the series, that he realizes just how bad of a call it was (even if it might have turned out okay in the end) even under the guise of “do anything to keep my word.”

    In fact, in comparison to the fairly light-hearted, often outright humorous, tone of the first two books, Hammered is almost completely dark. The few funny moments are, as I mentioned, chuckle-out-loud funny, but they are very few. From the start, author and Atticus alike know this is a bad path to walk down: bad choices bring Atticus to even worse choices. Knowing the series has continued, I can only assume the repercussions of this are felt. In my review of Hexed, I complained that unlike Harry Dresden in his first few books, Atticus O’Sullivan is perhaps just too all-powerful. In Hammered, we see that Atticus’ power-level and experience are just as much of a problem as Harry’s early low power and lack of experience, and perhaps even moreso as Atticus is able to do things (like kill gods,plural) that invite much worse things to follow.

    If the novel stumbles anywhere, it’s in the third quarter: when the vampire, the werewolf, the forgotten god, the sorcerer and the Asian mystic each recount why they want to kill Thor, the novel plods almost to a halt. I’m not sure there was any better way to info-dump the characters’ motivations, and Hearne at least attempts to couch the storytelling as a necessity for Atticus’ binding spell to move them all to the Asgardian plane, but this reader grew very impatient reading through them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    Hammered - Beware Thor!

    Another rollicking good read. Amazing how Atticus survives all despite serious danger and injury. This book actually had quite a bit of historical info mixed into the action and adventure. Good job Mr Hearne!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Recommended

    "Hammered" is just as entertaining as the previous books in Hearne's series. It is humorous with much action, but this book had one drawback. The author gives several characters (and even some animals and inanimate objects) their actual Irish names and it gets confusing who is who, considering the odd spelling of the names. He does give a pronunciation guide at the beginning, but who wants to go flipping back all the time to see to whom or to what he's referring. Other than that, it is entertaining and a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Best of the Trilogy

    It's important to read this trilogy in order because there are so many characters. The first one, 'Hounded" was great. The second one 'Hexed' was pretty good. This one I absolutely LOVED. You do NOT have to be a fan of scifi/fantasy to enjoy this. I never was, until now. The main character, Atticus is such a hero. He is thoughtful and brave and so funny. I laughed during this whole trilogy. Out loud. Kevin Hearne has a great sense of humor. The storylines and characters are so over-the-top... but its supposed to be. It works. You will be introduced to gods, goddesses, vampires, weird creatures and more. You will be carried away to other lands with good and evil. And you will laugh often. As of today, the 4th novel is not yet released.. but you can be sure that I have it pre-ordered and will be waiting for the mailman that day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Awesome battle scene!

    Highly entertaiming series. Fans of Jim Butcher will feel right at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    This was a fun-to-read book

    This book, as well as the other two in the series was a delightful read. The characters are interesting, the plot is light-hearted despite fairly serious subject matter. I enjoyed all three of them and will definitely read #4 when it comes out.

    One caveat, this series is a little off beat-if you are a die-hard, serious urban fantasy lover be aware there is a fair amount of humor mixed in. I would imagine that some folks won't think the two things go well together-though I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Great series

    It is quite a jump from Tolkin to Hearne. But I like the modern lifestyle, although Hearne doesn't have a lot of description, there are details in personality.

    Maybe cause I am reading from a Nook, I might get a different perspective, but there is good humor, and I love Oberon.

    I wish Clan Rathskeller was on nook..... hint, hint.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3