Customer Reviews for

Hammerhead Ranch Motel (Serge Storms Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    This installment was a fast-paced, quirky, and sometimes just wierd jaunt through Florida. Colorful characters and situations. Laugh out loud funny at times, but always enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Lexy

    Says softly thank y-you

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Over-the-top mayhem. In a good way.

    I read Dorsey's first Serge Storms novel, "Florida Roadkill," a few years back. I didn't remember being extremely enamored with the character, but I did enjoy it, so I recently decided to revisit the series with the follow-up, "Hammerhead Ranch Motel."

    Over-the-top is putting things lightly. All of the characters are big-time, and very few have any true redeeming qualities. It speaks novels to Dorsey's (hopefully) fictionalized Florida that a homicidal maniac who just happens to know everything there is to know about his state is the clear protagonist, even when he's dispatching his victims in some of the most absurd, yet clever, ways imaginable.

    The story is fast-paced, with dozens of sub-plots that all tie together very nicely by the end of the story, while also setting in motion the plot of Book Three of the series, which I am certain to dive into in the very near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    Outstanding

    I laughed my way through most of this book, and have purchased every book Dorsey has released since. He has a brilliant way of tying characters and incidents together in a completely hilarious way. It's like a Seinfeld episode on caffine overload.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    READ!!

    this was my first read of a Tim Dorsey book. haha...lots of crazy characters...doing all sorts of crazy stuff!! quite a change from the usual books i read...mysteries, thrillers, paranormal. i really enjoyed this one. of course, living in florida is an advantage i think! (kind of reminds me of Carl Hiaasen novels, if you've ever read him)

    worth a read...be prepared for one wild ride!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    The wild stallion

    Name. None yet. Gender. Duh. Age. 4 yrs. Breed. Anglo Arab. Colors. Black with flaming red cornets. Personality. Protective fierce rebelious and a natural leader. Crush. Thats for me to know and you to find out. Mate. Horses dont have eternal mates. Foals. None. Owners. None yet.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Maggi

    Everyones in lets go!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Pierce and sno

    Getin the trunk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Scarlet

    She drives to beach res 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    If you like to laugh

    Retreading the whole series, Florida as it sorta is. Dorsey and Hiassen see things a little different than the rest of us. Scary how close to the truth it is, but you will laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    A sequel that doesn't disappoint

    A hurricane only adds to the mayhem and laughter that seems to follow Serge as he keeps attempting to recapture his $5 million briefcase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Heck nah

    Nooo dont get it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Kristi

    Hangs up

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unlikely hero.

    I did not like this particularly well. Too much over the top things happening. It was hard to keep track of all the character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Really excellent, a must read.

    Bizarre almost surreal gripping action, Serge is unforgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Very fun to read, fast action with great characters. I just ordered the next in the series, cant wait to read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    Vintage Florida

    How Serge A. Storm has really lasted this long is purely by the grace of Tim Dorsey's benevolent mind. This time he's maybe just a little more than a bubble and a half off plumb: the more-than-whacko Diaz Brothers (er, Boys) the wanna-be mafia boss Zargoza, rejects from Miami Vice, and a weather-dog are all churning up the trademark wake in Dorsey's Florida waters. If you get on A1A, or US1, or, for that matter, any of the widening strips of fast-lane Florida interstate, you're bound to run in to any...maybe all of these characters; they're all too real these days. I'll catch my breath while Tim Dorsey pours another cup of Colombian Supreme and serves up another of his high-octane, caffiene-induced tales. Whew!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    Pack Your Bags and Head for the Panhandle

    The sequel to Florida Roadkill, this book is set during hurricane season on Florida's Gulf Coast. A psychotic spree killer, his journalist sidekick, and an assortment of ex-cons and seedy locals are determined to ride out the storm while taking care of unfinished business inside the Hammerhead Ranch Motel. These eccentric characters make for a funny and entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2000

    Funderful!!

    I rated this book as outstanding because it is such a great read for anyone who enjoys truely comedic mysteries filled with characters that would take one fantastic imagination to come up with or a true knowledge of street people. It is my ever humble opinion that Tim Dorsey has both plus a love of the City of Tampa. Well done!! Now I am reaching out to get a copy of 'Florida Roadkill' and I pray for Mr. Dorsey's good health, mental and physical, so he can work on yet more manuscripts. Florida is so full of genuine people and characters for a writer like Mr. Dorsey to work with and I bet he knows many personally. I hope a producer of stage plays reads this novel as it will be SRO on Broadway!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous mystery

    At the end of FLORIDA ROADKILL, homicidal maniac Serge has still not obtained the five million dollars in laundered drug money he sought. The stash is hidden in a secret panel inside the trunk of a Chrysler New Yorker driven by an innocent person unaware of his cargo. The driver wearing a Santa suit leaps from a bridge bringing the media focus on the event. Serge is back on the trail of the money. <P>Eventually the loot, Serge, other con artists, gangsters, and assorted ilk end up at the Hammerhead Roach Motel, an eyesore, located in an exclusive town in Southern Florida. Former drug supplier turned flim flam man Zargaza runs the motel with the aid of two bumbling thugs. With Hurricane Rolando-berto keeping the collection of riff raff in the motel, violence is inevitable. <P>There are so many weird, eccentric, but funny characters populating the HOMESTEAD RANCH MOTEL in unusual situations, readers will think the story line is irrelevant. Instead, the cleverly designed mystery uses a cartoon-like cast to propel the superb story line, with its biting social commentary, forward to a wild finish. Tim Dorsey makes the irrelevant relevant with his satirical romps. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4