BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hana's Suitcase

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    A True Story of Hana Brady

    This book is about a young girl name, Hana Brady, who was born in May 16, 1931 in Nove Mesto, Czechoslovakia. Her family (dad, mom, her brother, George, and her) is Jewish. In March 1941 (spring), Hana¿s mother got arrested by Hitler¿s secret police (called Gestapo). That fall, all Jews had to wear a Star of David (a Jewish symbol) around when they¿re outside. A Nazi officer who is in charge of Nove Mesto says that Nove Mesto must be made Judenfrei (free of Jews). Hanna later stayed with her aunt and uncle because her parents got arrested, but Hanna and George could not do anything. She can¿t go to school, she can¿t play, and ECT because she is a Jew and same with her brother George. Hana got deported to Theresienstadt (Deportation Camp) in May 14, 1942. She was sent to Kinderheim L410 and her brother George was sent to L417. They are away from each other but they get to see each other for 2 hours a week. Hana and George found out that their grandma is at Theresienstadt too (close to where they are) and visited her as often as they could. Their grandma is ill, so after three months, their grandma was dead. The population of death increased day by day. On September 1944, George Brady got transport to Auschwitz and separated from Hana. Hana and the girls got transported to Auschwitz too¿<BR/><BR/> I would recommend this book because for my opinion, I like to learn about the Holocaust. After you read it, you learn to appreciate what you have and think about the people that have been sent to war or Auschwitz. This book teaches me bravery, loyalty, respect, compassion, and tolerance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    SO GOOD!

    I have read this book, it is so sad but at the same time it is so happy. At the end I almost cried for Hana. I loved how Fumiko was so persistent in getting the info about Hana and George.She would not take 'No' as an answer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    Great book, great lesson taught and very interesting on how the book came to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Several stories in one...

    Yes, this is Hana's story, but it's also the story of Hana's brother, of Hana's family, and of a wonderful woman in Japan trying to spread Hana's story and share it with Japan, as well as the children in Japan that are striving to bring the story of the Holocaust and of Hana with other children.

    Great book for children. It not only tells the story of an individual child and her brother from the Holocaust, but it also tells the story of what determination and dedication can accomplish. The children and museum director in Japan kept getting turned away at every attempt to find Hana's story, but they never gave up, and ultimately ended up getting what they were looking for, and so much more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    The best Book Ever Read

    If you love learning about the past and the Holocaust, then this is the book for you! This book is about a girl named Hana Brady and her family. Hana and her family are a Jewish family. One day, after the Holocaust started her mother was taken away then, her dad. After her parents went to the concentration camps, her aunt and uncle took her in. Then one day her and her brother George were taken to a warehouse where they would be deported to children concentration camps. While that went on in 1939 in 2000 Fumica Ishioka was researching Hana because they had gotten some of her stuff from another museum. The most important item that Fumika received was a suitcase: Hana¿s suitcase. If you like that you¿ll surely find the book just fascinating. This book is Hana¿s Suitcase By: Karen Levine. It is a true story and for a hardcover book it is $15.95. This story takes place mainly in Japan, Canada, and Theresienstadt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Hana's Suitcase

    Hana¿s Suitcase By: Karen Levine How would you feel if you were a Jew in World War II? Well if you were in the same position as Hana Brady and her brother George you wouldn¿t be happy. Hana¿s Suitcase is a book to learn about all of the troubles that any Jew would go through. This book also tells about Fumiko Ishioka a lady who receives a girl¿s suitcase from the Auschwitz Museum with the word waisenkind the German word for orphan. How was the suitcase in modern day Japan connected to Hana Brady a Jewish girl in World War II? It turned out that the suitcase was Hanas. Now Fumiko was even more curious about Hana and her family. She asked museums everywhere to see if they had any information on Hana Brady or any relatives. She was always asked questions like how old was Hana and did she survive. What happened during Hanas life and was there any members of her family still alive? I¿ll let you find out. Publisher: Albert Whitman & Company Copy write: 2002 Price: $15.95 (hard cover)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    I GOT TO MEET GEORGE BRADY, FUMIKO, AND KAREN

    IN SCHOOL, GEORGE BRADY, THE ONLY SURVIVOR AND BROTHER OF HANA, FUMIKO, THE JAPANESE TEACHER, AND KAREN THE AUTHOR. IT WAS THE FIRST TIME I HEARD A DIFFERENT HOLOCAUST STORY THEN ANNE FRANK. THE ASSEMBLY WAS EXTREMELY INFORMATIVE AND THE BOOK IS GREAT AS WELL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    WE NEED MORE STORIES LIKE THIS!

    I happened to see this on the CBC National this past week. I was very much overwhelmed by the story. We need to be exposed to more stories like this so that we can truly appreciate how very fortunate we are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Hana's Suitcase

    Hana's Suitcase is a sad yet remarkable story. It brings together three worlds, Hana's world, over a century ago in Czechoslovakia, George, in Canada modern times, and Fumiko, a woman in Japan at a Holocaust museum. This story has a way of capturing your mind and making you want to read it over and over, crying every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    Hana's Suitcase

    Hana's Suitcase is a remarkable yet sad story that I think everyone should read. This story brings together a suitcase in Japan, marked Hana Brady, May 16, 1931, and waisenkind, the German word for orphan, a Jewish girl, more than half a century ago in Czechoslovakia, and a man living in Toronto. This sad story has a touch to it that makes you want to read it over and over, although crying every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Hana's Suitcase

    A quite sad yet quite remarkable story of a Jewish girl in Czechoslovakia during the Holocaust. This story brings together the lost world of a young girl, and modern day in Japan and Canada. The reason these worlds come together is because of one suitcase sent to a museum in Japan and a determined woman who is set on finding out what ever happened to the young child, Hana Brady who owned the suitcase. I think this book is good for anyone who wants to know more about how life was turned upside-down during the second world war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    Hana's Suitcase

    Hana's Suitcase is a remarkable yet sad story of a young jewish girl during the Holocaust. This story is very well told. I liked how it was Hana's life and then in Japan trying to figure out about her. I reccomend this story to children who ould like to know more about the Holocaust and how life was turned upside-down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1