Customer Reviews for

Hand I Fan With

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    So Very Romantic...

    Herman and Lena were the best love story I've ever read. I was slightly jealous. Of course I realize this is fictional, however some of the adventures these two shared...Oh my goodness! This book was something you just want to go on forever. I've shared it with a diverse group of friends, and it's unanimous...Tina you talk to the desires of women, and the hope for all men - True Love! Although I felt like I was there, nothing would be more satisfying then a movie. To see Herman become a mist, and enter Lena's body, the embarrasing yet endearing sounds of 'Lil Sis, etc. I read certain excerpts to my Fiance, and he was so taken in by the romance, the love and especially the words. He adoringly insisted that I read to him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    Marvelously Written!!!!!

    The Hand I Fan With, was the first book I've ever read that had given me so many emotions at one time! I could not bare the thought of not reading about Lena & Herman for one moment. After Reading this novel in 2days I wanted more. I can't wait to experience more from Tina.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    Sexy, Inspiring, Unforgettable!!!

    Tina, girl, you blew the cover off this book! It was absolutely mind-shatteringly delicious. A matchless Epicurean delight. The Hand I Fan With is for those who love a book with many layers. It touches your senses, all of them. You can almost smell the scented candles. Smell those greens cooking. Feel Herman's touch. The best book I've read in a long time and I read an average of ten books a month!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Loved this book!

    One of the most interesting and exciting books I have read in a long time! Filled with mystery, a love story for the ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    THE BOOK!!!

    I didnt get to read it but from the reivews its sounds great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Interesting.

    Interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I love Ms Ansas bopks

    I am a white Southerner and I adore Ms Ansa's books.. i was born in a small Georgia town much like MULBERRY.not long after The Hand I fan with came out my husband and I read it and we immediately became fans. My husband died three years ago and i only wish he could come into my life the way Herman did. This is a lovely romance story, it is facepaced with good characterazions, a good plot and Herman. What more do you need?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Baby of the family

    This is my favorite book i love the seris ,baby of the family was a great start and this was a perfect ending. Wish you would write more of these books i have read them all. You are one of my favorite authors .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    A friendly reader

    I love this dook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    I recommend it totally! This is an excellent read!

    THIS BOOK IS FANTASTIC! I read it first about 10 years ago and bought it on cassette. I read it when it originally came out. It really help to make up my mind that the south was where I needed to be and I am originally from Florida I am now preparing to returned. But I digress "I really really enjoyed this book". I have read all of Tina's book and am waiting and hoping for her next one. Is their another one in the works? This book is for the reader who is highly imaginative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HER MAN (Herman)

    I really enjoyed this book I had friend to tell me she did not particulary care for this book. So I am glad I read it for my-self. It took me a little over three weeks to finish this book, if I did not to work, I know I would have finish it much sooner. I love her loving relation-ship with HERMAN, it would be so nice to have a man to cheerish you the way that Herman did. It also, gave you in-sight to call on your ancestors for help. This book needs to be a movie and also a sequel. I did not cry but, I felf Lena's pain. READ FOR YOUR-SELF

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Black Hollywood this is your next movie!

    I loved this book! I want to see this book on the silver screen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    Loved The Book

    Herman brought love and fun to Lena, she let the town run her life. Yes I cried when Herman left, but their love brought new life. Lena now would still have a part of them there with her, not just a memory. I also couldn't put book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    Memorable,very Romantic,Phenomenal

    Hermon was truly a one of a kind man,in sprite and in the flesh. His support,teachings,understanding of Lena was encouraging. But the ending left me with a series in mind to finish their story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    love this book

    i loved this book iam an avid reader i could not put the book down i cried when herman had to leave. i let a friend read it and she was crying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Could Not Put It Down

    I don't know what woman would not love this book! It was absolutely great. I passed this book to so many people and all loved it. Tina is a very talented writer with a great imagination. I could truly relate to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Too bad I couldn't give this book less than 1 star . . .

    I would like to meet Ansa. I would like to know how old she is and what her life experiences have been. I would also like to know who her intended audience was for this book. It would probably appeal to anyone who likes melodrama and dreams of finding his/her 'man.' 'The Hand I Fan With' is boring. Ansa is redundant in her descriptions. Ansa is also shallow and silly. When she describes the heartbroken pain of her protagonist, she doesn't just say that she slumped to the floor. Oh no, the heroine collapses onto the 'Mexican tiles.' The message that she gives readers is that no woman can be fulfilled until she has gotten pregnant and delivered a baby.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    The Worst Book I Ever Read And I Didn't Finish The Novel

    The first time heard about this book was while watching a tv talk show. I bought the book and was greatly disappointed. I think the author went overboard with describing the town. There was not enough focus one the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    Great read : Enjoyable

    I really like this book . I couldn't put it down until I finished it. Congrats on a job well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    HOT HOT HOT!

    This book was recommended to me by a friend, what she didn't tell me is that I would need a cigarette and a cold shower after each chapter!!! This book is outstanding! A beautiful love story, a story about personal sacrifice (something us women are famous for) and about individual growth! I saw so many parts of myself throughout this book. I felt all of her loneliness and happiness, sadness and achievment. I would LOVE to see this in a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2