Customer Reviews for

Hand of Fate (Triple Threat Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hand of Fate kept me on the edge of my seat

This who-done-it begins with the murder of a controversial talk show host in his own broadcast studio room. The author takes three friends on a roller coaster ride of suspicion, fear, secrecy, and paranoia. First there is the question of whether Jim Fate's death was an ...
This who-done-it begins with the murder of a controversial talk show host in his own broadcast studio room. The author takes three friends on a roller coaster ride of suspicion, fear, secrecy, and paranoia. First there is the question of whether Jim Fate's death was an act of terrorism or premeditated homicide. If the former, what group would commit such a horrendous act? Or is it more likely the latter, as those offended by his broadcast opinions could form a line around the city; perhaps twice over? The prosecuting attorney, the FBI agent, and the crime reporter set their course to uncover the truth. Little did they know their journey would take them on a dangerous journey of discovery beyond the act itself, revealing a motive none of the friends (nor this reader) predicted.

Wiehl's story took place in the city of Portland, Oregon; of which I'm well familiar. The places and details were spot on, increasing my enjoyment of the author's work. Although initially apprehensive about reading a crime novel, I found I could not put this down. Hand of Fate was truly spell-binding from start to finish!

posted by pfleeg on June 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

As O'reilly Would Say, Mrs. Wiehl, You Have The Last Word!!!

"We are hearing that KNWS on Salmon Street is the epicenter of the event. There are reports that some kind of gas leak or possibly a deliberate release of poisonous gas occurred there, and we have unconfirmed reports of at least one fatality" Cassidy Shaw reporting liv...
"We are hearing that KNWS on Salmon Street is the epicenter of the event. There are reports that some kind of gas leak or possibly a deliberate release of poisonous gas occurred there, and we have unconfirmed reports of at least one fatality" Cassidy Shaw reporting live from downtown Portland.

Last year, Fox News Legal correspondent and former federal prosecutor Lis Weihl teamed up with mystery writer April Henry, together they created a knockout. A powerful suspense political thriller. Face of Betrayal. The book was a great concept, something fresh and new, a well written thriller combining two different writing styles, and most of all, making a great page turner.

The second installment of The Triple Threat series " Hand of Fate" was a very promising encore. However; it did not deliver the thrill and suspense as "Face of Betrayal". Having said that and giving a positive review to the authors, Hand of Fate was a good read. The plot was very simple, a talk show host, Jim Fate gets murdered, and it is up to the triple threat to find out who killed him. From reading the inside of the dust cover, the book seems to promise a great plot, along with a great twist, specially when the words "betrayal and personal" among the triple threat are mentioned.

I read the book, but it was hard at times to follow the main plot, the story was developed in the basis of a terrorist attack, without any connection to Jim Fate. It is true, that it was used as an introduction for his murder to get more interesting, but even so, the writers carry both stories together for too long in the book. In the previous book, the authors did a great job developing the three main characters, they were all brought to life early in the book.

In the second installment, the authors do a follow up on the lives of Allison Pierce, a Federal Prosecutor, Nicole Hedges, an FBI Special Agent and Cassidy Shaw, a Crime Reporter. The triple threat. The authors took a very interesting twist on Allison and Nicole, but too few chapters were spent on developing their subplots. I find that Nicole's subplot was great, but it lacked the development, and the outcome wasn't strong enough for a few chapters. Cassidy was supposed to be the main character who would drive the story, but it fell short, early in the book. She did not add the "Personal and Betrayal factor" that would have made this book great.

Hand of Fate, would have been more thrilling if it had followed the format of the previous book. It was really hard to follow the main plot due to the fact that there were too many things going on, but they were irrelevant to the main plot. The placement of the characters and their story lines in the subplots wasn't strong enough. Their follow up stories should have been better, more well developed and placed early in the books, by the time their plots come to an end, the excitement has passed because the main plot has already been solved. And I also think that a reading group guide at the end of the book is not necessary, it feels like reading a textbook compared to a fiction thriller.

However; I must say, the triple threat series is a promising franchise and do look forward to read "Heart of Ice".

posted by BolivarJ on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Hand of Fate kept me on the edge of my seat

    This who-done-it begins with the murder of a controversial talk show host in his own broadcast studio room. The author takes three friends on a roller coaster ride of suspicion, fear, secrecy, and paranoia. First there is the question of whether Jim Fate's death was an act of terrorism or premeditated homicide. If the former, what group would commit such a horrendous act? Or is it more likely the latter, as those offended by his broadcast opinions could form a line around the city; perhaps twice over? The prosecuting attorney, the FBI agent, and the crime reporter set their course to uncover the truth. Little did they know their journey would take them on a dangerous journey of discovery beyond the act itself, revealing a motive none of the friends (nor this reader) predicted.

    Wiehl's story took place in the city of Portland, Oregon; of which I'm well familiar. The places and details were spot on, increasing my enjoyment of the author's work. Although initially apprehensive about reading a crime novel, I found I could not put this down. Hand of Fate was truly spell-binding from start to finish!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    As O'reilly Would Say, Mrs. Wiehl, You Have The Last Word!!!

    "We are hearing that KNWS on Salmon Street is the epicenter of the event. There are reports that some kind of gas leak or possibly a deliberate release of poisonous gas occurred there, and we have unconfirmed reports of at least one fatality" Cassidy Shaw reporting live from downtown Portland.

    Last year, Fox News Legal correspondent and former federal prosecutor Lis Weihl teamed up with mystery writer April Henry, together they created a knockout. A powerful suspense political thriller. Face of Betrayal. The book was a great concept, something fresh and new, a well written thriller combining two different writing styles, and most of all, making a great page turner.

    The second installment of The Triple Threat series " Hand of Fate" was a very promising encore. However; it did not deliver the thrill and suspense as "Face of Betrayal". Having said that and giving a positive review to the authors, Hand of Fate was a good read. The plot was very simple, a talk show host, Jim Fate gets murdered, and it is up to the triple threat to find out who killed him. From reading the inside of the dust cover, the book seems to promise a great plot, along with a great twist, specially when the words "betrayal and personal" among the triple threat are mentioned.

    I read the book, but it was hard at times to follow the main plot, the story was developed in the basis of a terrorist attack, without any connection to Jim Fate. It is true, that it was used as an introduction for his murder to get more interesting, but even so, the writers carry both stories together for too long in the book. In the previous book, the authors did a great job developing the three main characters, they were all brought to life early in the book.

    In the second installment, the authors do a follow up on the lives of Allison Pierce, a Federal Prosecutor, Nicole Hedges, an FBI Special Agent and Cassidy Shaw, a Crime Reporter. The triple threat. The authors took a very interesting twist on Allison and Nicole, but too few chapters were spent on developing their subplots. I find that Nicole's subplot was great, but it lacked the development, and the outcome wasn't strong enough for a few chapters. Cassidy was supposed to be the main character who would drive the story, but it fell short, early in the book. She did not add the "Personal and Betrayal factor" that would have made this book great.

    Hand of Fate, would have been more thrilling if it had followed the format of the previous book. It was really hard to follow the main plot due to the fact that there were too many things going on, but they were irrelevant to the main plot. The placement of the characters and their story lines in the subplots wasn't strong enough. Their follow up stories should have been better, more well developed and placed early in the books, by the time their plots come to an end, the excitement has passed because the main plot has already been solved. And I also think that a reading group guide at the end of the book is not necessary, it feels like reading a textbook compared to a fiction thriller.

    However; I must say, the triple threat series is a promising franchise and do look forward to read "Heart of Ice".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I enjoyed Hand of Fate

    From the very beginning this book keeps you hooked. I definitely enjoyed reading Hand of Fate especially with all its action. However, I have to admit after three fourths of the way it started to become predictable but by the end it regained strength and made for a memorable book. Even though I enjoyed it I do not plan on following up on any of the other triple threat novels. Not being a huge fan of FBI thriller novels it just seems that once I've read one I've read them all because they all seem the same.
    I was given this book to review by Thomas Nelson publishers and I was not expected to write a positive review nor was I compensated in anyway for writing one. You can find more books reviews about Hand of Fate and other novels at www.readerbetweenthecovers.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    GOOD READING

    Couldn't put it down. It's a mystery in a modern setting. Written well and easy reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Easy, Fast-Paced, Interesting Read

    Although this is the second book in the "Triple Threat Series", you definitely do not have to read the first book to understand. I have not read the first book, however after having read this book, I will definitely go back and read the first and future editions in this series.

    This is a story of a very outspoken radio personality, Jim Fate, who was killed while his show "Hand of Fate" was on air. An over-whelming panic was felt all over the city, with everyone worrying about the rumors that Mr. Fate was killed by a poisonous gas and that it could be a terrorist attack.

    The "Triple Threat Club", which consist of three female friends - a Journalist, a Federal Prosecutor and a FBI Agent all must work together to try their best to shorten the lengthy list of suspects to determine who the real killer is. While working on that, they each have their own issues and secrets to overcome as well.

    This was a very easy read and I was surprised at every turn. I would recommend this book to any crime drame lover!

    (I was provided an advance copy of this book by Thomas Nelson to read and provide an honest review of this book. I was not compensated for my review or required to give a "positive" review.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Somewhat disappointed

    I really enjoy suspense and I was hoping this would fit the bill. It's ok, not sure if I will buy again from this author. Her first book was incredible. This one not so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Hand kf Fate

    This book like the prevouis is also excellent. Good story line. No gaps and lots of twists that you dont expect. The characterss come to life while youre reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Very good book!

    I have enjoyed reading all of Lis Wiehl's books and am anxiously awaiting a new one! Each one is better than the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    very intense and excellent mystery

    Lis Weil is an excellent mystery writer. Good to the very last word!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Kind of dry moving...painstaking tedious investigation novel

    Now you know how many police investigations go...reminded of of the Sandra Levi case when that politian from California threw off investigators looking for her killer looked like he was responsibile only to find out later he was a married guy just having an affair with a younger gal. Ohe well...those things happen...way too often. Nope Gary wasn't responsibile for her death...it was the guy in prison down the street from the Levi home that was. Not all investigations go with Hollywood movie drama potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Book was good, Nook was not!

    I had all sorts of problems with this book reading it on the Nook. It would get hung up on a page and repeat the page multiple times, then, if you selected a later page and got there, it sometimes would page forward for 1-3 pages then go BACK to the place where it hung up and repeat the page multiple times.

    This book was good reading. I don't know if the experience is the electronic version or the reading device. Not impressed either way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    This is a book you want to keep on reading. It was hard to put it down to get some sleep. . As he is about to go on air, Controversial Radio talk show host Jim Fates life is cut short when he receives a padded envelope which contains poisonous gas. Was Jim Fate's death an act of terrorism or premeditated homicide? The Triple Threat Club friends, News journalist Cassidy, F.B.I. agent Nicole, and federal attorney Allison work together to get to the bottom of the crime. The author grabbed my attention immediately with this novel. Hand of Fate is a great, fast-paced crime drama. It had me hooked from start to finish. A lot of action with lots of twists and turns and you can't figure out who done it until the very end. I was very surprised by the killers identity and motive. It is the perfect rainy day or beach read and I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good crime drama or thriller. This book is the second one in this series but I did not read the first book in this series and it was easy for me to catch on. The author did a wonderful job with this novel and I am looking forward to read some more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Suspense

    Outspoken radio talk show host Jim Fate dies tragically while on the air. Police evacuate downtown Portland, and the triple threat team begin piecing together what just happened. This is a book you want to keep on reading. It was hard to put it down to get some sleep. . This suspense can happen in real life and was interesting and easy to read. A real page turner with many twist and turns and it was hard to figure out the ending. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to read a good suspense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous thriller!

    Lis Wiehl & April Henry have done it again! "Hand of Fate" is a fast-paced murder mystery that will grab you from the beginning and hold you right up to the end. We find Cassidy, Nicole, and Allison (the Triple Threat Club) once again working together to solve a case. Jim Fate is a radio talk show host who does his best to stir up controversial conversations, thereby boosting his popularity and show ratings. He is murdered in a possible Sarin gas attack. There are many suspects but only one real killer. The three women work together to bring that killer to justice. Along the way, they deal with panic in the city, a lost child, politics in the workplace, and abusive relationships. Who and what killed Jim Fate? Will you solve the murder before the book's end?

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were familiar to me from "Face of Betrayal," and the authors let me get to know more about them. The storyline is very realistic, and the reactions of the characters are as well. It is the second "Triple Threat" novel, and I look forward to more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    Hand of Fate

    When controversial talk radio host Jim Fate is murdered, the first instict in Portland is panic over the possibility that it is related to recent sarin gas attacks. But before his death, Fate had reached out to Federal prosector Allison Pierce and FBI agent Nicole Hedges about threats he'd received. Determined to find his killer, Allison, Nicole, and their friend, crime reporter Cassidy Shaw, dive into the investivation and find a lengthy list of people who wanted him dead. Can they find the killer before he or she strikes even closer to home?


    Fox News fans will recognize Lis Wiehl as a legal analyist for the station. I read and reviewed her first novel in the Triple Threat Series, Face of Betrayal. I liked her first book - I liked Hand of Fate even more. As you get to know the characters in the series more, you find yourself drawn more and more into their lives. I feel like Lis Wiehl really took her writing skills up a notch with this book. The story really reached out and grabbed me. Her books are a great read that have a Women's Murder Club kind of feel to them. Don't expect an overtly Christian theme to her books, though - she weaves ideas throughout the story to make you think, but they don't have an "in your face" approach to Christianity, making a great way to introduce non-Christian readers to the world of Christian fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Page Turning Thriller

    In Hand of Fate, the host of the radio talk show, The Hand of Fate, is murdered with poisonous gas while opening a package on the air. It seems Jim Fate likes to speak his mind, and someone decided to make sure he's quieted.

    ...can you just imagine if you were listening to the radio and this was happening? You'd probably wonder if it was a joke at first, and then start to freak out, wondering if it was happening anywhere else. Where would the next target be? People would panic! In the book, the panic starts too, and downtown Portland is evacuated just in case. In comes FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedges, crime reporter Cassidy Shaw, and Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce, who all are in charge of figuring out what happened. Oh, and just to make this story even more interesting, it turns out that one of the three women was actually dating Jim and keeping it a secret. (You'll have to read the book to find out which one!)

    If you like suspenseful mystery and thriller fiction books, Hand of Fate is one of those page turning books you'll stay up extra late because you just can't put it down! It's not packed with tons of information about the characters and crime scene, so it's not overwhelming if you don't normally read "whodunit" style of books. And even though it's book two of a series, you can jump right in without missing too much. It's good book to pack away to read by the pool or on vacation.

    I received a copy of this book to write a review thanks to BookSneeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Hand of Fate

    Hand of Fate is the second installment in the Triple Threat series. It was easy to follow the three friends and colleagues as they worked to solve the murder of an out spoken radio talk show host. I didn't feel like I was missing out having not read the first book in the series. While the plot was good I feel that the story moved too slow. I would recommend this book but beware the beginning is slow.



    I am a Thomas Nelson Book Sneeze Blogger and this book was provided to me at no charge for a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Thriller

    Hand of Fate is a murder mystery that revolves around the death of Jim Fate, an outspoken radio host with a mouth that drips poison and annoys and infuriates lots of people every single day of his life. Nicole, Allison and Cassidy search for justice in a world where words are sharpened by hidden agendas and thrown like weapons. Intentions are weaved into a tapestry of truths and lies that cover the identity of the killer. Will they manage to find out who the killer is, when the line of suspects seems never-ending?

    Being a girl who loved watching CSI and Bones, I found this extremely interesting. It had me flipping the pages madly.

    Jim Fate had grown to have lots of enemies in the past years. I've learned to hate him for his harsh words. But at the same time, I pitied him for his death. No one deserved to die just because of something spoken in the air, something done to earn a living.

    The women of the Triple Threat Club were all well developed. They weren't just people who solved the crime. I loved that the readers got see into their lives and discover what's going on in a deeper level.

    I found the faith in God really inspiring. This wasn't the kind of novel that pushed readers to believe. There was scepticism within the lines. In the end, it proved to be a great source of hope and strength.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Not something I'd enjoy reading again.

    Let me start by saying that this isn't the genre I usually pick up. I've never read many mystery/suspense novels, and I doubt after this one I'll become an avid reader of them.
    I haven't read any of the authors other books, and this book has gotten glowing reviews from other people, I guess it just wasn't really for me.

    Of course, that isn't to say the book was truly bad, it wasn't horribly written and it was somewhat engaging.
    the characters weren't very deep in my opinion and were somewhat hard to feel for, or be very interested in.

    I was pleased with the plot, it's more interesting because, like other people have said, it could really happen.
    that being said, I'm not completely sold on it.

    All in all I'd have to say that this book would be something fun to take with you perhaps on a long car ride, or other trip (train, plane, bus) but isn't something I would go out with the intent to buy or be excited about.
    it's something to throw yourself into when you have nothing better to do and want a quick escape, though, it's not really much of an escape since it's a mystery/suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    f.bi. legal thriller

    fasinating talk show host is murdered by mysterious circurstanious and a top nutch famale agent is broght in to to discover to the truth she has been secretly dating the talk show host and has been able to access his home and certain intresting evidence that could have a dramatic impact on the case. the arthur is a former federal presecuter sometimes her novels have similarities to real crime cases which makes them real fasinating to me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4