BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Handbook for an Unpredictable Life: How I Survived Sister Renata and My Crazy Mother, and Still Came Out Smiling (with Great Hair)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    This memoir is captivating, gut wrenching and honest.She puts al

    This memoir is captivating, gut wrenching and honest.She puts all of her current emotions and thoughts on any particular event , subject or person on the pages of
     this book.It's also very obvious that she had under gone some type of therapy to recall her early years!
    That shows you she put time and effort into this memoir and it's something  I do respect.  Her 
    She tells her story like you're old friends and draws you completely into her world! 
    I did enjoy reading this book. Be sure to take breaks because some of instances can exhuast you
     as you try to keep up. She's: vulnerable, real, honest,shy, hot headed and funny.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    If You Don't Know Or Didn't Know Much About Rosie Perez, You Will With This Book!

    I Didn't Really Know Much About Rosie Perez Before Reading Her Book. All I Knew Was The Basics. I Knew She's An Actress And I Knew She Was The Choreogrpher On In Living Color But Other Then That, That Was It. What Made Me Decide To Get Her Book Was That I Saw Her On An Interview With Angie Martinez For Hot.97 And She Was Talking About Some Of The Subject Matter In Her Book And Some Of The Details. I Became Intrested And Thought I'd Give It A Try. I Have To Say That I Was Pleasently Surprised About How Candid She Was And How Open And Honest A Lot Of Her Stories Was! I think People Should Give Her Book A Try! Especially For All Those Latinos Out Their Who Know Who She Is. What She Goes Through And The Pain She Endures Was Crazy And Heartbreaking, But I Totally Respect Her And I Think She's A Great Role Model And Someone To Look Up To. Hey If She Made It, Anyone Can Make It!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Amazing!

    I couldn't put it down! Ive fallen in love with Rosie even more. Wow!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Let me just start by saying that I hate to read, and I was looki

    Let me just start by saying that I hate to read, and I was looking for a book that would captivate me and not put me to sleep, I saw Rosie on Wendy Williams talking about her book and I've always loved her so I decided to get her book, can I just say that I was hooked from the begining to the end. This book book took me an such an emotional rollercoaster good and sad, I'm also from Willamsburg, Brooklyn and remember very vividly alot of the things she described in her book about the neighhoods and just how things were back in the day, I laughed so much and I felt like she was describing so many things that I felt and went thru back in BK myself. As a fellow nuyorican/brooklynite, I'm so proud of her, even though I have never meet her in person as weird as it sounds I've always felt a deep connection to her and now I know way. I want to thank her for always keeping it real and representing BK to the fullest, she really is a survivor, anybody else would have given up on life and she stayed with it and became the great pride of brooklyn that she is today. Much love Roise ;-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Highly Recommended.

    I haven't finished this book, but the moment I started to read the first few pages I knew I had to purchase it, and it's because I don't feel like I'm reading it but instead I feel as if she's reading it to me. I can't believe that in a catholic home the nuns are so mean? Really it breaks my heart to know that at such a young age she had to go thru all this. I admire you so much Rosie Perez and I'm so proud of how far you have come. I can't wait to get to the part where you start living your dreams babygirl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Good book, good reading

    I enjoyed reading about Rosie's life. She came from nothing & worked all of her life to get to where she is today ... she deserves more than 5 stars......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Excellent Read!!!! I love Rosie Perez. This book was raw and unc

    Excellent Read!!!! I love Rosie Perez. This book was raw and uncut! Being a fellow "Boricua" I could relate to alot of things in this book. She didnt hold back on any details and kept it all the way real. I was inspired by her perserverance and strength. The only downside to the book is she didnt go into much detail about her first marriage. Other than that I would definitely reccomend this book. Such a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Amazing Book

    i couldnt put it down!!! Its beyond an amazing book, had tears in my eyes. She is an amazing person with an even more amazing outcome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Love

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Great Book!

    I loved it! I didn't really know who Rosie Perez was until I saw her on the Wendy Show, and then decided to get the book because I liked her personality. I was captivated from beginning to end!! It takes a lot to draw me into a book, but this one definitely did it, with her writing style, the stories, and ultimately her journey. I felt connections to the characters she wrote about, and didn't want the book to end. Definitely a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    Amazing book, detailed, honest, funny and powerful. I highly re

    Amazing book, detailed, honest, funny and powerful. I highly recommend this for all young girls to read. Rosie you are wonderful and so talented, keep up the great work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    What an amazing story.  I love a story I cannot put down, but I

    What an amazing story.  I love a story I cannot put down, but I do have to admit that you will be putting this 
    book down due to intense emotional moments.  You will laugh, cry, get mad, but most of all fall in love with
    a little girl who turned into an amazing woman.  I am so Rosie has chosen to share her story with the world
    and I hope she writes another book.  Keep up the great, Rosie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Great read!

    Wow, I had no idea about her personal life. She was able to rise from the ashes into stardom. The title of the book says it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    I read this book in only two days.  Perez a great way of incorpo

    I read this book in only two days.  Perez a great way of incorporating her beautiful personality, humor and wit into a heartbreaking story of growing up as a ward of the state.  I am a foster care social worker, and reading this book gave me new insight into the adversity facing children in protective custody and the resiliency and strength it takes to move past it all.  Thank you Ms. Perez for sharing your stoy. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Amazed

    She has lived quiet the life. I admire her strength and courage for coming out with this story. We all have one and it's up to us to figure out what to make of it.
    I think she's done an excellent job of keeping her s**t together. ;) very inspiring. Great read. It was hard to put down. I also enjoyed reading this and looking up some of the things she's done. Her soul train bits on YouTube are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING. I CRIED, LAUGHED AND I WAS SAD WHEN IT END

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING. I CRIED, LAUGHED AND I WAS SAD WHEN IT ENDED! ROSIE PEREZ IS SO REAL AND HONEST , I LOVE HER !!!! READ THE BOOK !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I have always loved Rosie Perez ever since her debut in Do the R

    I have always loved Rosie Perez ever since her debut in Do the Right Thing. She is a great talent and this book proves she is not just a pretty face to look at, but a strong woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2