×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Handel's Messiah: A Soulful Celebration
     

Handel's Messiah: A Soulful Celebration

5.0 8
 
Contemporary soul-pop artists, including Patti Austin, Tevin Campbell, Stevie Wonder, Quincy Jone, Take 6, Howard Hewett, and Dianne Reeves, take a pop-song approach to Handel's classic

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Handel's Messiah: A Soulful Celebration 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a child, we knew the popular parts of the Messiah inside-out from church groups and school groups and youth choirs, etc. Now the original scoring with vibrant dynamics brings Handel's music totally alive -- it is an amazing experience for anyone who already knows the classic versions. Utterly enjoyable, thrilling to realize the music is the same and you can sing along on the choruses. ''For Unto Us a Child is Born'' is my favorite: jungle rhythms and swing harmonics -- what a blast!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The whole family enjoys this one, We can listen for hours again and again,..The funny things is I never enjoyed the Handels Messiah as much before listening to this version. I am now hooked. Everytime I hear it seems to get better and you hear something different everytime, almost as if the songs were alive!!! A must have, especially for Christmas
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a fan of The Handel's Messiah: A Soulful Celebration. Being brought up in church, I was used to the original piece of The Handel's Messiah and when I heard this piece, I lost my mind. It was different and I could relate to it without feeling lost. It made a change in my life for the better and every christmas I love forward to hearing it. I had a cassette but now I want the CD for my car and home. It deserve more then a five star but a ten star.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My husband and I are lovers of many different kinds of music (nearer to classical though). Soulful Celebration caused us to get up and move! What a joy! The many different styles represented by this album are so very well done. I have recommended this album to many friends (mostly those who are soloists and have done "The Messiah") and they too have rave reviews. You will not be disappointed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For Messiah fans with flair, this is a wonderful piece that includes a facinating look at the rich history of Black Music. A couple of the tracks are a somewhat predictable, but overall, if you collect Messiahs, as I do, this is a must have!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best CD I've purchased! Something for every age group. The best. Period.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have loved Handel's Messiah since childhood. I own several versions, including a three-record set of the complete work. But when I heard this version years ago, I was blown way. The creative gospel/soul/r & b renditions of these "classical classics" is fantastic! A Soulful Celebration is for Messiah lovers as well as for those who are not. I particularly love For He Shall Purify and the Hallelujah Chorus is fabulous, too. I lost the cassette I had years back, and have searched music stores in vain. I'm ecstatic to find it on Barnes & Noble.com. Thanks so much!
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a musician who has played "The Messiah" numerous times, I have to say that I was amazed at what I heard. I have never witnessed a compilation of artists create such an original sound out of music that has been performed so often. It is a purchase you will cherish.