Customer Reviews for

Handmaid and the Carpenter

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must Read

This was the first book I ready by Elizabeth Bert and I really enjoyed it. You can see and feel the characters. Will there be a sequel to this book?

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It would seem many folks need...

...to get a rational grasp on the true story of Mary and Joseph and the birth of Jesus, and yet those who actually need the more 'truthful' story that is told here will call it 'sacrilege.' It's very unfortunate a book like this will be lost on the deaf ears of those wh...
...to get a rational grasp on the true story of Mary and Joseph and the birth of Jesus, and yet those who actually need the more 'truthful' story that is told here will call it 'sacrilege.' It's very unfortunate a book like this will be lost on the deaf ears of those who refuse to believe Jesus had siblings, or that Mary and Joseph were anything but perfect. Though these people will proclaim themselves the most pious, they obviously have a very faint knowledge of biblical history or the context of the time in which Jesus was born.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Christmas Book

    Good change of pace for a book group looking for something to read in
    December.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    A welcome perspective

    I am a Berg fan as well. I had not realized she wrote this book until I was looking up a book of similar content. I really liked how she handled the story of Mary and Joseph and their love for each other. It was quite beautiful. I was determined to read it at first because of poor reviews I read about it. In my opinion, not so, it was excellent. I loved it, and it will stay with me for some time. Thank you Ms. Berg

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    Odd choice for Berg

    This is the first book of Elizabeth Berg's that has felt lifeless to me. As I read it, I couldn't get away from the fact that it seemed to be a comfortable exercise for her, but was unnecessary to share in book form. Everything about Berg's writing has led me to believe that she is a woman of sound judgement. Wonder what happened here?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Handmaid and the Carpenter

    This book was boring and I couldn't finish it. I am an Elizabeth Berg fan and was really disappointed. I hope her next book is more like her previous writings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Handmaid and the Carpenter

    I have enjoyed all of Ms. Berg's previous novels. I have given them as gifts and, as a bookseller, have recommended them. However, this latest endeavor is a failure. It did not hold my interest and no matter what your religious beliefs are, none of the characters are believable or relateable. I couldn't sustain enough interest to read past the first 50 pages. A huge disappointment from a talented writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Must Read

    This was the first book I ready by Elizabeth Bert and I really enjoyed it. You can see and feel the characters. Will there be a sequel to this book?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    It would seem many folks need...

    ...to get a rational grasp on the true story of Mary and Joseph and the birth of Jesus, and yet those who actually need the more 'truthful' story that is told here will call it 'sacrilege.' It's very unfortunate a book like this will be lost on the deaf ears of those who refuse to believe Jesus had siblings, or that Mary and Joseph were anything but perfect. Though these people will proclaim themselves the most pious, they obviously have a very faint knowledge of biblical history or the context of the time in which Jesus was born.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    Sacrilegious

    I have always enjoyed Elizabeth Berg's books but was very disappointed with this one. If you are going to write a story about the Holy Family get your facts straight. Our Holy Mother,Mary, was conceived without sin and died without sin.Would God have entrusted His Son to a woman who was not pure in all ways? She could have never behaved the way this character is portrayed. To think of Mary keeping a truth from Joseph is unbelievable. Joseph would never have behaved the way this character did also. For God to have chosen him as the father of Jesus, Joseph was a man of great faith. He would have never had a doubt of how Jesus was conceived. Another sore point of the story is Mary and Joseph having other children. Jesus is Mary's only son as she is the ever-virgin. This story could have been so beautiful if it was written with the truth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    I am obsessed with Elizabeth Berg

    I have read 6 of her books, so far. The Handmaid and the Carpenter was such a lovely book, with the ability to take you back into history. I purchased this one as a gift, which is the third Berg book I have given. Thank you, Elizabeth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    What a disappointment!

    Not even close to E. Berg's previous work. I could not even finish it. Save your time and money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    chill

    i liked this story but dont read this if you are crazy literal about you bible stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Disappointing

    In her effort to humanize Mary and Joseph, Berg created simplistic characters and strayed from the chronology that is generally recognized by Biblical scholars. Furthermore, this novelette reads like an outline or a proposal, not a fully developed narrative. It's hard to believe that this was written by the same Elizabeth Berg, some of whose other works I've enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Wondering about the Parents of Jesus? Here is their story...

    Elizabeth Berg makes it very clear that The Handmaid and the Carpenter is a fictionalized interpretation of what the lives of Mary and Joseph may have been like in bibical times.

    The story begins with the main characters as children and develops into a teenage romance full of innocence. There is the obvious turn of events when Mary is spoken to by an angel who tells her that she will conceive the Christ-child.

    Given the awesome responsibility that Mary and Joseph were presented with and the difficulties they must have encountered with non-believers, I had expected this book to address the social implications since that can only be speculated. While Ms. Berg never claimed to take that direction, the direction that she took was simply to tell their story and offer bits of interesting details on that time period.

    I read this along with my book club and our consensus was that this very short book was simply a retelling of a bible story with some lovely wording, but no depth. A look into the social aspect might have been compelling for discussion, but this was not what Ms. Berg chose to do. Some of us even speculated if this had been intended to be a children's or young adult's story because of its simplicity.

    For that sort of reading, I would recommend it, but for those expecting a new perspective on Mary & Joseph, you would be sadly disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Not Elizabeth Berg's best work

    I have read several of Elizabeth Berg's novels and was prepared to enjoy myself. What a disappointment! Half way through this unimaginative book, I stopped to re-read the back cover, wondering if it was meant as a children's book. It was chosen by our book club based on Berg's reputation and we were all similarly disappointed. So much could have been done with this plot. Instead, it is historically inaccurate, simplistic in plot and the characters were terribly undeveloped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Enlightening

    This is the age old story of Mary and Joseph but from their point of view. Finally, you are able to picture the entire story as if it were happening to you or one of your friends. Although it may not be scripturally based, the story is definitely entertaining and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Insipid Handling of Jesus Story

    I have enjoyed previous books by this author and was hoping that, in 'The Handmaid and the Carpenter,' Berg would confront the ridiculous fairy-tale story of Jesus' conception and other so-called miracles that fly in the face of reason. Instead, this book upholds the notion of a supernatural being, angels, and virgin birth. It seems a shame to encourage religious irrationality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2