Customer Reviews for

Hands of My Father: A Hearing Boy, His Deaf Parents, and the Language of Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    The Touch of Hands

    I've been fascinated with hands my whole life, in stories, in my relationships, in my own use of them to quilt, to write, to create art, to garden. So, this book caught my eye from the title alone, and I wasn't disappointed in the least to read about the hands of Myron Uhlberg's father. Here is a touching story about a son who has, through his hands, become the voice of a man who can't speak or hear and who, through his own hands, communicates trust, love, encouragement, pride, and responsibility to his son. But this is a story about so much more; it's a recollection of learning to overcome prejudice, of learning to cope with one's own sense of loss (Myron's childhood is never like those of his neighborhood peers, in that he really doesn't have much of one), of learning to be a parent to a younger brother who is challenged with his own health issues, of learning to be a voice for the deaf community and a conduit between the hearing world and the world of his parents, of learning to monitor one's words, of learning to express hope, of learning to tell a story and create language where there is none. The writing may be a bit uneven at times, but the small vignettes are wonderful and engaging, especially in "the fight of the century" where Myron must translate, with only the most basic sign knowledge, the radio commentary for the boxing championship between Joe Louis and Max Schmeling. But equally as beautifully told are the experiences of shopping for a suit at Bloomingdale's and relating the sound of color--exquisite understanding a the world on deeper levels than many of us will ever think about. This is a must read and would be a delightful gift for any father.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Book Review ¿Hands of My Father¿ by Myron Uhlberg is an excel

    Book Review

    “Hands of My Father” by Myron Uhlberg is an excellent book. Most of the parts of this book show the life of a deaf person. Deaf people difficulties and their interesting part of life. This book can easily change people’s thinking about deaf people. When I read this book most of the time I was reminded of my parents, brothers and childhood memories. Most emotional sense of the book for me was in chapter 17. When author’s friend Barry was affected by polio and he will never ride bicycle. Few days before affected by polio Barry could ride bicycle but disease took his ability to ride. Bicycle was in front of his house but missing only the person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I loved this book - warm and heartfelt. Uhlberg is a master story teller. He makes you laugh and cry and in the end feel great about being alive. A brilliant book that everyone would benefit from reading.

    Uhlberg is a master story teller. His book is a warm tribute to a loving family. The book makes you long for the good - old days back in New York. The Jackie Robinson episode is very touching. When the young Uhlberg was signing the Schmelling-Joe Louis fight - it had me laughing out loud.

    Overall this is an excellent book - warm, funny and informative of those who are asked to deal with the deaf. It is also an excellent period piece of Brooklyn in the 40's and 50's.

    I loved the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    HANDS OF MY FATHER REVIEW Before of read the ¿Hands of my Fathe

    HANDS OF MY FATHER REVIEW

    Before of read the “Hands of my Father” book my concept about deaf people was poor, because I didn’t take the time to imaging how a deaf world is. Nowadays my opinion about deaf people is different because in this book the author Myron Ulberg describes how in difficult moments during the great depression when he born and grew up in Brooklyn. And how since he was a baby started to create a connection with his two deaf parents, and at the same time he became the bridge of communication between the deaf world of his father Loui and the hearing world. The obsession of his father Loui to know what is the sound, and his love for Myron created the connection of love between Myron and his father. At the other hand the discrimination that Louis suffered due to his deaf condition along the story make me fell the frustration that he felt. Because is not easy when a person want to express and can’t make it because a lack of voice.
    In other words this book is a reflection to the people who has voice and never take time to think how bless they are to have a voice. And is a lesson of love for the people that never have time to share with family members no matter what physical conditions or differences or responsibilities. In other words this book is a lesson of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Nadia Rahman April 29, 2013 ¿Hands of my Father¿ The review and

    Nadia Rahman
    April 29, 2013
    “Hands of my Father”
    The review and reflection:
    The book, “Hands of my Father” is talking about deaf people and the author was Myron who was deaf parents. In this book, Myron talks a lot about his deaf parents. He talks about his real personal life that gives us some true experiences. Myron loved his father so much and his mother too. He always was together with his father and he helped his father always. In this point, I like this book because Myron shows so much so much responsibility to his parents and his little brother. He named himself “a brother’s keeper” because he took care his brother too. I think, this book motivated me one way and that is responsibility for parents even they are deaf or hearing people. Consequently, Myron parents got so much from Myron and in this situation. I think, it is really difficult to deal and his parents were dependent on him. On the other hand, I don’t really like this book because the author only talks about deaf life and connection. Now days, people are very smart and they don’t want to go down and whatever they are now, they want to learn more critical things. So, as a hearing person, I think, it is not really important for me to learn about deaf people life. In addition, I don’t like to recommend this book to other people because it is only life story about deaf people. And it is one kind of boring. I think, people are human being and sign language is little difficult for hearing people. There are few deaf people around the world. And sing language cannot help us at all and it is not useful in our society because sign language is different than other countries sign language. In a relationship, a deaf person between a hearing people has so much difference to communicate each other and it is hard to deal. So, I would like to give these book 2 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Hands Of My Father, we have read this book and we have never ima

    Hands Of My Father, we have read this book and we have never imagine in our life about deaf people. When I read this book I felt emotional
    when Myron has to explain everything to his parents. His parents were dependent on him. Myron had a big responsibility in his life. From our
    childhood we grow up as a hearing person and living with our parents(hearing) but Myron as a hearing child grow up with deaf parents.People
    can learn a lot of lesson from this, because it represents a perfect example for all the people. In my life I've read so many books but not about
    deaf people . My overall reaction was very deep with that book that I realized deaf people are more smarter than hearing people. I would
    recommend to those people who read books a lot. Specially, to those who have feelings for people .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    I already read ¿Hands of my Father¿ and I can say that this book

    I already read “Hands of my Father” and I can say that this book is amazing. You can find a lot of emotions while you are reading; this book would make you laugh, be furious or cry. Hands of my Father help me to change my views and to see how society acts when they see a person with any disability. Now, I say that I can understand a little bit how deaf people or with other disabled people are. I can say that these people are completely normal and also I think these people could life more happy than another one who don’t have any disability.
    Hands of my father make me realize how sometimes I act with strangers without notice it, that’s why I feel emotionally affected because sometimes when I saw people like Louis, I dint pay attention to them or the only think I thought was poor guy or girl. Now, I realize that this people are not poor because they are completely normal and so much smarter than others. This story motivated me in the way that I appreciate more life and that any problem I could have never is going to be worse than the others problems people. 
    Finally I completely recommend anyone to read this book. This story is really good, interesting and for people who like to read true stories, I would be perfect. 
    I would give five stars to this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Hands of My Father I would say this book is an awesome book and

    Hands of My Father

    I would say this book is an awesome book and touching book. That was very new for me to learn about deaf world and to know that those people are the same as hearing people, and they are not disabled. That was wonderful to know about deaf people through this book.”Hands of my Father” taught me that to go in a normal conversation with deaf people, and it is also not hard to have contact with them. Also,I have learned that i have to be patient to communicate with deaf people. This book could be emotional book because most of the book talk about how the relation with the son and his parents goes.Therefore, it was very hard to take care of his parents. I like this book because the story compelling me to keep going reading this book and to know what is going next. This book was very interesting for me. I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Hands of My Father Book Review This book is about Deaf parents a

    Hands of My Father Book Review
    This book is about Deaf parents and hearing child. While we are living it’s rarely to see deaf people and even we don’t care about deaf people.
    I think you may feel boring and you don’t want to read this book because it is about a deaf people story, but definitely this book is worth to read. This book tell us two different world that deaf world and hearing world. The story of deaf people and world is new to me and it was really interesting. It is exciting to know you never have been experienced. So, I really recommend this book if you want to have freshness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    I would use ¿loving¿ to describe this book, ¿Hands of M

    I would use “loving” to describe this book, “Hands of My Father” even though it is full of the discrimination of the hearing world toward deaf world. However, it is just because of the discrimination to make their love either strong or weak, which is between their family members. Different love or relationship between Myron and author’s father, Louis, Louis and his father, Louis and his wife, the first love of Myron’s mother’s, Louis and his family, Myron’s mother and her family. It is all through the struggling from hearing world to deaf world.

    To be candid, while reading this book, I found out that was not what I expected to read at beginning.
    That’s the world which I never conceive of. However, the feeling of love in a family connected to anyone. We all have the experiences which someone looked down us in our life. Whereas, I also learned that deaf people have their own culture, such Sign Language. They are a person living in deaf world, not a deaf person living in hearing world. It is like a different community in our society. They do not think that being deaf is an infirmity which people might prevent them from equal treatment. As the end of book pointed out that if we need to comprehend ourselves, we should interact with others. As a result, I recommend this book to people who want to see other’s different world and to understand more about society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    The Book ¿Hands of My Father¿ affected the way I see society and

    The Book “Hands of My Father” affected the way I see society and the world. I had no idea about deaf life before I read the book. I knowledge that deaf people just like our hearing people. They have their mentalities, and they have their attachments, their love and their abomination. I think that from reading this book people can learn some lessons. For example, you can treat deaf people naturally in the future. Compared to other books I’ve read, this book describes things in more complicated way. Yet that is not bad for English learning. From my perspective its vocabulary is high level for me, so I can’t perfectly understand some sentences in short times. If someone is learning English at high level, or he or she wants to know more about deaf people I would like to recommend this book to them. The interpreter of sign language definitely will enjoy reading it. If let me rate this book out of 5, I will give it 3.5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Hands of My Father¿ the book which has changed my thoughts about

    Hands of My Father” the book which has changed my thoughts about deaf people’s world. It has left a significant impression on me while reading the book I was feeling like it is reflecting my life even it could be reflection of anyone’s life. A book which reminds us our childhood. The moments of our childhood when we were sometimes responsible for others in our family, when we were leaving our nest, and every moments we had with our beloved family members. This book is about the love, feelings and responsibility of a hearing boy whose parents were deaf. This book thought me to be patient and take the responsibility of parents no matter how are they. This book thought me how to be confident in life as like as Myron’s father was in spite of having his deafness. This book reminds me the philosophy of life that no one belongs to anyone as Myron was leaving his parents when he grew older and everyone has to lonely no matter how many beloved persons you have they may not be with you while you are leaving this world. I think this book has touched me emotionally, it made me laugh, made me think and made me cry. I would like to recommend other people to read this book because it’s a book about our life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Boy, am I glad that I happened upon this book one winter day in

    Boy, am I glad that I happened upon this book one winter day in a secondhand bookstore, casually browsing the shelves. The moment I read the back cover of this book, I was already moved. I decided to use this book as teaching material in my college-level ESL class. Not only is it an incredibly moving story of childhood, family, and human struggle, it is an introduction into a world to which most hearing people are not privy. It was a learning experience to read this book, and it was also an interesting way for my non-native English speaking students to relate to characters who struggle with language and communication.

    As I read this book for the first time, I almost found myself wanting to throw the book across the room because of how infuriatingly perfect and comprehensive each chapter was on its own.

    I have to say that I would recommend this book to most anyone, except the ignorant who will find themselves unable to identify with a fellow human-being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Love it.

    Being a hearing child of deaf parents there was so much I could relate to. This is no doubt the true story of his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    very interesting story - not well written

    would have been better to concentrate on his father's life, rather than his own

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Enlightening.

    Very enjoyable reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2