Customer Reviews for

Hands of My Father: A Hearing Boy, His Deaf Parents, and the Language of Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Book Review ¿Hands of My Father¿ by Myron Uhlberg is an excel

    Book Review

    “Hands of My Father” by Myron Uhlberg is an excellent book. Most of the parts of this book show the life of a deaf person. Deaf people difficulties and their interesting part of life. This book can easily change people’s thinking about deaf people. When I read this book most of the time I was reminded of my parents, brothers and childhood memories. Most emotional sense of the book for me was in chapter 17. When author’s friend Barry was affected by polio and he will never ride bicycle. Few days before affected by polio Barry could ride bicycle but disease took his ability to ride. Bicycle was in front of his house but missing only the person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I loved this book - warm and heartfelt. Uhlberg is a master story teller. He makes you laugh and cry and in the end feel great about being alive. A brilliant book that everyone would benefit from reading.

    Uhlberg is a master story teller. His book is a warm tribute to a loving family. The book makes you long for the good - old days back in New York. The Jackie Robinson episode is very touching. When the young Uhlberg was signing the Schmelling-Joe Louis fight - it had me laughing out loud.

    Overall this is an excellent book - warm, funny and informative of those who are asked to deal with the deaf. It is also an excellent period piece of Brooklyn in the 40's and 50's.

    I loved the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    HANDS OF MY FATHER REVIEW Before of read the ¿Hands of my Fathe

    HANDS OF MY FATHER REVIEW

    Before of read the “Hands of my Father” book my concept about deaf people was poor, because I didn’t take the time to imaging how a deaf world is. Nowadays my opinion about deaf people is different because in this book the author Myron Ulberg describes how in difficult moments during the great depression when he born and grew up in Brooklyn. And how since he was a baby started to create a connection with his two deaf parents, and at the same time he became the bridge of communication between the deaf world of his father Loui and the hearing world. The obsession of his father Loui to know what is the sound, and his love for Myron created the connection of love between Myron and his father. At the other hand the discrimination that Louis suffered due to his deaf condition along the story make me fell the frustration that he felt. Because is not easy when a person want to express and can’t make it because a lack of voice.
    In other words this book is a reflection to the people who has voice and never take time to think how bless they are to have a voice. And is a lesson of love for the people that never have time to share with family members no matter what physical conditions or differences or responsibilities. In other words this book is a lesson of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Hands of My Father¿ the book which has changed my thoughts about

    Hands of My Father” the book which has changed my thoughts about deaf people’s world. It has left a significant impression on me while reading the book I was feeling like it is reflecting my life even it could be reflection of anyone’s life. A book which reminds us our childhood. The moments of our childhood when we were sometimes responsible for others in our family, when we were leaving our nest, and every moments we had with our beloved family members. This book is about the love, feelings and responsibility of a hearing boy whose parents were deaf. This book thought me to be patient and take the responsibility of parents no matter how are they. This book thought me how to be confident in life as like as Myron’s father was in spite of having his deafness. This book reminds me the philosophy of life that no one belongs to anyone as Myron was leaving his parents when he grew older and everyone has to lonely no matter how many beloved persons you have they may not be with you while you are leaving this world. I think this book has touched me emotionally, it made me laugh, made me think and made me cry. I would like to recommend other people to read this book because it’s a book about our life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Boy, am I glad that I happened upon this book one winter day in

    Boy, am I glad that I happened upon this book one winter day in a secondhand bookstore, casually browsing the shelves. The moment I read the back cover of this book, I was already moved. I decided to use this book as teaching material in my college-level ESL class. Not only is it an incredibly moving story of childhood, family, and human struggle, it is an introduction into a world to which most hearing people are not privy. It was a learning experience to read this book, and it was also an interesting way for my non-native English speaking students to relate to characters who struggle with language and communication.

    As I read this book for the first time, I almost found myself wanting to throw the book across the room because of how infuriatingly perfect and comprehensive each chapter was on its own.

    I have to say that I would recommend this book to most anyone, except the ignorant who will find themselves unable to identify with a fellow human-being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Love it.

    Being a hearing child of deaf parents there was so much I could relate to. This is no doubt the true story of his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1