Customer Reviews for

The Hanged Man's Song (Kidd Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Awesome!!!!!!

    I have read and enjoyed all of John Sandford's books. Everytime he writes a new one, I have to have it. When I know he is about to publish another, I'm on pins and needles!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    My first Kidd read, it won't be my last!

    I have been an avid fan of Sanford's 'Prey' books but for some reason I have always been hesitant to pick up a Kidd book. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that Kidd does rival the brilliant and enigmatic Lucas Davenport, though in a less glamorous, more edgy way. The technical aspects of the storyline are intriguing to a techie-wannabe; and the on-again, off-again relationship with the daring yet vulnerable LuEllen is enough to keep a surreptitious romantic captivated and coming back for more. It's not always a bad thing to begin a series with the latest book, though there are obvious references to events from earlier works. Now that I have read the Hanged Man's Song, I can hardly wait to read the other Kidd novels as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2004

    Another Great Read

    I have read all of John Sandford's novels and have enjoyed them all. This one Kidd taking the spotlight. The Hanged Man ties in nicely with Fool's Run and The Empress File.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    An excellent read, everything I expected!

    Mr. Kidd is the main character and a member of an elite computer ring in ¿The Hanged Mans Song¿. Mr. Kidd is a man of many faces: the computer nerd, professional criminal, artist, and sometimes a tarot card reader. After getting an interesting message, he investigates it only to find his accomplice and long time friend Bobby with his skull crushed in and his computer stolen. This is no ordinary break-in. Kidd, fearing that members of his ring and their activities will be exposed, goes to search out who was behind this crime and why they committed it. On his search, he finds out that there is information on that computer that can bring down many big-time politicians. ¿The Hanged Mans Song¿ is part of a whole series featuring the character Mr. Kidd. Sanford does an excellent job on this book. Kidd¿s adventures make¿s him seem above the law. This book shows readers the power of knowledge and information. Sanford¿s writing is creative, descriptive, and unique. The words he chooses throughout the book bring depth. This book was an incredible read, and anyone with an interest in computers or crime investigation novels should take the time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    VOICE PERFORMANCE PAR EXCELLENCE

    Television actor and voice performer par excellence Richard Ferrone has recorded eleven of John Sandford's 'Prey' novels. One would be hard pressed to find a more articulate, compelling performer to bring these thrillers to life. With 'The Hanged Man's Song,' fans will welcome the return of Sandford's popular protagonist, Kidd. This man can do anything - he's an accomplished computer hacker, an artist and a Tarot card reader. Unlike Sandford's other hero, Minneapolis police detective Lucas Davenport who is found in the blockbuster 'Prey' series, Kidd isn't completely law abiding. Inside or outside the law he does whatever it takes to get the job done. And, this time out he has quite a task cut out for him. Bobby, the world's foremost computer hacker, has been brutally beaten to death and his laptop is missing. Big trouble for Kidd as there are secrets hidden there that he doesn't want revealed. Enlisting the comfort and support of his sometimes lover, LuEllen, Kidd sets out to track down the deadliest of villains - those who kill with a few taps on a keyboard. Sandford never disappoints, so brace yourselves for an action-packed listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Put Christmas Shopping on Hold

    This book, while I listened to the audio version, was an all nighter. You simply could not stop, and I tried. These are new characters for me, but I will read all of his books with them from the first book. I am that hooked on them, and on John's brilliant way of spinning a story that grabs you at the first page and will not let you go. Those authors a few and far between and it seems I have to read/listen to drivel until a new release. Ya know, I like these characters better than Davenport. More John, more. A fan and avid reader of all the mystery writers both great and small. There are gems out there just ripe for the recognition they deserve. 'Dead Guys Stuff' by Sharon Fiffer. What a wonderful author, stay with her and give her a boost. She is just as good as Evanovich, and Mott Davidson. Give her a try, you will be delighted. We expect great things from Sandford and Grisham, but they are the fat cats who know they are good and I agree, they are the best at what they do, but I'm always willing someone 'a leg up', and this lady deserves it. Thanks John, for a wonderful weekend of fun before I am crushed with anxiety; you did a magnificent job with your new book. I am singing your praises to all my friends and library. Thanks and Merry Christmas!!!! Linda

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    exciting thriller

    Anyone who knows computers knows that Bobby is the Michael Jordan of hacking. No fire wall can keep him out if he chooses to enter that site. However, someone decides to keep Bobby out by smashing in his head. His friends are horrified by the violence, but also fear what the killer will do with the information found on Bobby¿s stolen laptop. <P>Kidd understands the ramifications of the missing computer that may contain files pertaining to his own illegal activities. Besides his personal safety, Kidd also feels a need to avenge the death of his friend. Bobby¿s secrets begin to surface providing a trail that takes Kidd around the country, but ultimately to DC where the political elite is in jeopardy of exposure. <P>Though the earlier Kidd entries show the speed in which technology becomes obsolete, THE HANGED MAN¿S SONG is an exciting thriller starring an intriguing lead character whose moral code is a bit different than most people. The story line is fast-paced as Kidd accompanied by his cat burgling girlfriend follows the clues. John Sandford, better known for those delicious Prey novels has written a strong tale starring a charming offbeat individual with a quest for justice, Kidd style. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1