Customer Reviews for

Hanging on to Max

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    Bap Bap!

    What a good book. We took a vacation and I read this book to pass the time. I fell in love with Max and was conflicted about the ending. It didn't seem to fit with the characters or the rest of the book. However, I still highly recommend the book. It is a quick, but deep, read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Hanging on to Max

    I loved this book. I recently just read it, I could not put it down. It was amazing, I didn't expect it to be that good. I loved the over-all story as well. It was great. Very much. But, I kept rereading the last couple of chapters, trying to figure out what I was missing, the major question was, "Why did he give up Max, the kid seems to love him so much and he loves the kid too, why would he do that after he saved him the first time, and what was I missing that got him thinking about sending Max to adoption?" Another question I had was, "After eleven months of caring for Max, almost a year, why now decide to let him go? Why isn't he capable of taking care of him?" I realized it was just another tale, probably based on some true story. But I couldn't help to wonder, so of course I kept rereading the book until I caught it. Since I sometimes skim, apparently I did there. There was a clue several times telling us that he was thinking of letting Max go up for adoption. I wish there's a sequel of some sort, it was really interesting and I want to know what ends up happening with Sam and Max, how Emily and Claire are, or how Andy or Jenny is. Or about Sam's new family, I just can't help to wonder. Is there a sequel to this story?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    As a birthmother who parented first and then placed my birthson

    As a birthmother who parented first and then placed my birthson when he was 9 months old - I can relate to the pain, decisions, and difficulty a decision like that can be. He never gave up he's still involvedI know the description uses some not ethically appropriate lingo like "gave away" but, the book: Hanging on to Max was one of the first venues I looked to for any kind of support. 




    My Issues in Contemporary Literature teacher my junior year of high school made it mandatory that we read novels on our own so I asked her if she knew of any "young adult" (my favorite genre) adoption related novels. I had just placed my birth son over the summer. She recommended me this one. 




    This book couldn't have been a better match. This book was the first thing to ever show me "you are not alone" and probably kept me from looking into other inappropriate ways of coping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    it was a good book i would recomend it.

    this was a great book! i thought it was very interesting how well sam was willing to watch over max and try and raise a baby by himself when he is still very young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    honestly had to be one of the best books ive ever read.

    honestly had to be one of the best books ive ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    I wish this book were available for Nook :(

    I wish this book were available for Nook :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    "Bap, Bap" said Max.

    Hanging on to Max is a realistic fictional book on teen pregnancy and the life of a high schooler taking care of a baby. It is about a boy named Sam who is faced with the life of an average teenager and the life as a teenage parent. Sam's girlfriend became pregnant and wanted to give her baby up for adoption after it was born. Sam didn't like the idea so decided to take in his son and be a single parent. When a teacher offers Sam the chance to take the SATs Sam doesn't quite know what to do. Taking the SATs could change his whole future.
    Sam is a wonderful person; he is responsible but strives to be a regular teenager.
    I really loved the story, the wording, and everything about this book. It was great. The best part about it was how it reflects the true life of a teenage parent.
    I disliked one thing about this book. Almost every other chapter is a flashback of Sam's "previous life" and the whole thing gets a bit confusing if you don't pay attention. Another dislike would be how the book ends. I would really love a follow-up book.
    I would really recommend this book to any junior high or high schooler, especially one who is into gooey drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Wonderful Attention Keeper!

    Hanging on to Max is a realistic fiction about a boy who has to raise his own baby boy while going to high school. It is told from the point of view of Sam, who is very stressed out and self conscious about what others think about him. Sam goes through a lot of trouble, and faces many challenges, including his own father.
    I really enjoyed reading this book, and I couldn't put it down. I actually ended up reading it all in about 1 hour. I was reading it along with another student in my class, and we both felt the same way about how the story was told. I didn't really have a specific favorite part, but I just loved how it was told and how it explains in great detail everything that Sam is feeling. The only part I actually disliked was the very ending. I wasn't happy with Sam's final decision.
    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves books that really keep your attention, and wants to know more about how hard life is raising a child while you're still considered a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    emotions i had in this book

    the book hanging on to max was a very emotional book i had read it and was almost about to cry when i read all the books telling about how Sam had to take max from his mom brittney. but it made me happy when he said he would take care of Max.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    Buy it!

    I didn't this it would be good at first. It was pretty good. Definitely realistic. But yes, as someone else said, the ending did very much suck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    Hanging on to Max

    Hanging on to Max is a story of a 17 year old boy named Sam who decides to take care of his newborn son (Max) when his mother decides to give him up for adoption. Sam changes schools and is doing his best to be a good father but he hates the way people look at him in public. It doesn't help when his new girlfriend has a baby of her own as well. After a series of events Sam is trying to figure out what the best thing to do is for Max. Is Sam the best father for Max?<BR/>I loved this book because of it unique view on teenage pregnancy. I've never seen a story from the fathers prospective. I also like how the series of events happened. They way the book is written keeps you one your toes because you never know if it the past, present or even the future. I truly enjoyed reading this book and will most likely read it again and again.<BR/>What i don't like is how the ending leaves you wanting more. What happened in those eighteen years? Sam said he would never be able to get married, but he did. What changed his mind? What happend to Claire and Emily? I really want a sequel to this book so i can answer all my questions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Oustanding and very true!

    I absolutely loved reading this book! The story shows just how difficult teenage parenting really is, but how rewarding it can be to have such experience. It shows the difficult choices and consequences that are tied and packaged with sex and teen parenting. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and I encourage others to read it. I know I will definitely keep this book and read it again and again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!!

    I LOVED this book...It was an easy read which it takes me a long time to read a book...but I could not put this one down! It was so detailed...I give it 5 STARS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    a reviewer

    I have only read the first five chapters of this book and am so obsessed with it! It's hard for me to put the book down at night! If you haven't already buy this book!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    a down to earth story of teanage parenthood and relationships a bit sad but very realistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    I loved this book its great!!

    The book Hanging on to Max by Margaret Bechard is about a seventeen year old,named Sam, that is trying to figure out how he's going to take care of his baby son Max. Max was not plan in his future, but yet Sam as a single parent does the best for his son Max. Will he be able to do on his own and show everyone that he could be a good parent or is he will to give him up? You got to read the book to find out! I like this book a lot it shows a lot of about life. I recommend it to everyone it is a great book to read I'm sure you will not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    You need to read this book

    The book I read was Hanging on to Max. It was by Margaret Bechard. The numbers of pages in the book are 204 pages. The book is mostly told in 3rd person. The person telling the story is Sam. The theme of the book is growing up. The characters are Sam, Max, and Claire. The exposition is dealing with an unexpected pregnancy. The climax is getting good scores on SAT¿s. The thing I liked was the ending of the book if you read the book and find out yourself. Also, I like when they took Max to the hospital, when he cut his hand. The thing I didn¿t like were the bad words because they had too many of them in the book. I also don¿t like when they move to a different things when they are talking. I also didn¿t like some of the book because it talks about weird things they do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    nicholes review

    hanging on to max is a story of a young father named sam, he has to learn how to raise his son at the age of 17 after his girlfriend brittnay decides she doesnt want to keep max. this book shows all the struggles and responsibilities that a young parent goes through. having a child so young makes you give up all the things you used to do, like sam giving up football and hanging out with friends. i really enjoyed reading this book and i think alot of other people would to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    I loved this book!

    Hanging on to Max is the best book I have ever read. It is about teenage parenthood and all of the difficulties involving it. Sam, the father at age 17, is forced to make a challenging decision on whether or not to give up his son, Max. He holds out for as long as he can, but in theend he knows he has to make the decision. What will it be, keep his son, or give him up for adoption?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    So sad!

    I love this book because i love how sam wants to hold on to max but he knows he will never be able to handle a responsability like that. i think boys around the globe are going throught this every minute and i think that i would recomend this book to people who are looking for real life situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4