BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hangman's Daughter (Hangman's Daughter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Amazingly well written!

This book is so good. Even though it deals with a somewhat dark subject, a hangman, it isn't overly gruesome. A great mystery that you won't be able to put down. You get swept up in the era and with the characters. It was really well written and researched. It is also r...
This book is so good. Even though it deals with a somewhat dark subject, a hangman, it isn't overly gruesome. A great mystery that you won't be able to put down. You get swept up in the era and with the characters. It was really well written and researched. It is also really cool that the author has a personal connection to the actual people the story is based on. I highly recommend this book! Es ist sehr gut!

posted by TheFourthMusketeer on February 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Here's why there's no Nook version

I actually remember reading a short item about this controversy in Time or Newsweek or some other magazine recently. Amazon bought exclusive ebook rights to this novel, meaning B&N and other businesses can't sell ebook versions for this thing. They're shut out. The stor...
I actually remember reading a short item about this controversy in Time or Newsweek or some other magazine recently. Amazon bought exclusive ebook rights to this novel, meaning B&N and other businesses can't sell ebook versions for this thing. They're shut out. The story went on to say that in part because of this book, B&N is warning publishers that they're not going to prominently display books at the fronts of their stores if the ebook rights have been sold exclusively to other businesses.

posted by browser on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    I would Recommend - Good read

    This book is not available for the Nook, but I did not mind purchasing it. The title caught my attention. I glanced through the pages and liked what I read so I decided to purchase the book. The book kept me intrigued and interested with the characters and what was really going on. The character's you can completely come to like and automatically want to know more about. However, towards the end, starting with page 300 I thought the author dragged out the ending, like trying to fill in space with "just words" . It is a wonderful book to read and he really did not need to drag the ending out.well, more like the tunnel scene. Additionally, the title I'm still left with to guess why the author entitled the book "The Hangman's Daughter". I think it should have been more appropriately titled "The Hangman's Tale". The title was misleading. I was always left thinking, what about the Hangman's Daughter? Other then that it was a good book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    At first I was reluctant to read this mainly based off the fact

    At first I was reluctant to read this mainly based off the fact the cover didn't grab my attention right away and neither did the description, but my mom suggested it after she read it. She couldn't put the book down!

    When I started reading it, I thought "what did i get myself into?". This is not my normal book I usually pick up and read, and so I, in a way, was waiting for the book to be dry or just not entertaining enough, but wow! did i judge this book wrong! The more you read through the book it has a very additive quality where you just want to keep reading until the next chapter.

    The half way point of the this book is really what sold me. There are some big events (of course) and the story is set up real nice. Plus to make the story even better there's a side love story <3 SOLD! :]

    I would say there are 3 main characters, each which are very interesting people that you really start to love. My particular favorite, of course, is Magdalena because she is the rebellious, strong female type and considering this story is set in the 1600's I really enjoyed her character.

    The last few chapters for the book, the plot really gets to the point where you just need to KNOW what happens, i could not put the book down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    I read Hangman's Daughter earlier this year, and ff you are a fa

    I read Hangman's Daughter earlier this year, and ff you are a fan of Umberto Eco's NAME OF THE ROSE or Josephine Tey's DAUGHTER OF TIME, then this book is right up your alley. The aspect of the author writing about a true historical figure that was also an ancestor was really interesting to me, and he did a great job bringing these characters to life. Am I really interested in the goings of of 17th century Bavaria? Not really, but I did enjoy the visit the author took me on. Some parts were kind on lengthy and perhaps superfluous, but that could just be my own American tastes--the book is translated (very well) from German. A nice read that kept me guessing to the end. The sequel had an interesting plot, but it was very reminiscent of Dan Brown--a group of Monks were after the Ultimate Templar treasure, a treasure that, once found, will change the course of the world. It takes place a few months after HD, in the winter, and the setting is finely integrated with the plot. The characters have changed, however. Simon isn't nearly as much of a dandy as he was in the first book, and I kind of missed that. The Hangman still knows everything, but he doesn't have that mysterious air he did previously. The novel was more thoroughly cleansed of inconsistencies, for which I am grateful for, but I missed all the same (it's like playing Where's Waldo with literature. Were bales of hay available before 1800? Nope, there were only haystacks...yet they are in the novel...). Still, it is an entertaining series that gets your brain moving, your blood pumping, and the villains are sadistically villainous. I will read on with this series because I know I'll be getting my money's worth of entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    awesome story

    I found this book to be quite enjoyable and couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I love this series. This book is not my favorite of the series however it is very good. I enjoy reading about life in the 17th century in a different country. These books have opened my eyes to life as a hangman or for that matter as a person living in a different culture. The story lines are always very suspenseful and the characters colorful. If you enjoy historical fiction with a who done it twist. You will enjoy this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    great read! i couldn't put the book down.it ends up being a murd

    great read! i couldn't put the book down.it ends up being a murder mystery set in the olden days that turns into a witch hunt cuz people didn't have the scientific/technological tools to prove otherwise and every scare turns into a curse or a superstition. and to solve this u wud need people who are willing to believe otherwise and who wud depend on logic, keen observation and great amount of knowledge to save an innocent person from punishment. wud recommend this book to friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1