Customer Reviews for

Hannah (Daughters of the Sea Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Catch of the Day

I just read this book a month ago and im already wanting to read it again! the book it excellent and it has many catchs : fantasy, suspence, easy to read, some what historical (it takes place in late 1800s boston and maine). This book is a must read summer book. The sto...
I just read this book a month ago and im already wanting to read it again! the book it excellent and it has many catchs : fantasy, suspence, easy to read, some what historical (it takes place in late 1800s boston and maine). This book is a must read summer book. The story is of mainly 15 year old hannah finding out about herself in a imortant upperclass family. from the orphan train to a lower servent dodging the family's oldest daughter and befriending the youngest sister. The only bad thing about the book is it ended to fast and the second bokk hasnt come out yet!
*****5 Stars!!!!!!!!

posted by HearaMarie on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book was alright. It was written very well and was a page t

This book was alright. It was written very well and was a page turner. However not one of my favorites. I do want to read the rest of the series though.

posted by Merfairy613 on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Catch of the Day

    I just read this book a month ago and im already wanting to read it again! the book it excellent and it has many catchs : fantasy, suspence, easy to read, some what historical (it takes place in late 1800s boston and maine). This book is a must read summer book. The story is of mainly 15 year old hannah finding out about herself in a imortant upperclass family. from the orphan train to a lower servent dodging the family's oldest daughter and befriending the youngest sister. The only bad thing about the book is it ended to fast and the second bokk hasnt come out yet!
    *****5 Stars!!!!!!!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Loved It <3

    I saw this book in Barnes and Noble and decided to buy it. I read it in 2 days. I loved it, it was so good (:

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Best fairyish tail ever

    I have never read a better fairyish tail ever i cant wait for book 2 and 3

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Awesome book

    This book is awesome. All girls should read this series.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    Hannah is different from the other orphans. She feels an inexplicable pull towards the sea. She can't explain it and discusses it with no one.

    Because Hannah is deemed unfit for service, she is turned out of the Boston Home for Little Wanderers. She is sent west on the orphan train. Hannah becomes deathly ill the further away she gets from the ocean. Thankfully, Hannah is sent back to Boston, and finds placement with a prominent family.

    The Hawleys are extremely wealthy and live in a grand house. Hannah works tirelessly as the Hawleys scullery maid. She feels more alive living this close to the ocean, but does not understand the fascination she has with it.

    Hannah begins to notice fish scales on her feet and legs, and she leaves a ring of salt behind every time she bathes. A mysterious painter seems to know her secret, but Hannah is still in the dark. Will she discover the truth, and if she does, will it be too late?

    HANNAH is the first novel in the DAUGHTERS OF THE SEA trilogy. The novels follow the lives of three sisters who are separated at birth. Their identities are shrouded in mystery, and they all must struggle to unearth their true parentage.

    This novel, like all of Lasky's, is very easy to read. The story moves quickly, and the characters are colorful and diverse. Hopefully, Lasky will not make us wait too long to discover what happens to Hannah and her sisters!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Really great read!

    If you like books about mystery amd mermaids, this book is for you! It starts and ends nicely, and flows smoothly.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    awsome!!!!

    I love this book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Name

    I havent read the book yet but from all of the reviews i can people people have liked it a lot

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Great Story!!!

    Hannah by Kathryn Lasky is an excellent book.I really liked it a lot because the story was very suspenseful and the charachters were good!Even though the story went off track at some places and some parts were a bit irrevelant and not important to the book,it was still really amazing and i would recommnend this book to a friend!I read it in a day.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    WOW

    I checked out this book from my school library i love PERCY JACKSON and it is Better than that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!! AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    This book was alright. It was written very well and was a page t

    This book was alright. It was written very well and was a page turner.
    However not one of my favorites. I do want to read the rest of the
    series though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    I love owls!!!!!

    BEST BOOK EVER i have read it 1000 times!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    amazing

    this is the best book ever buy it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Kk

    [][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][]
    ()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()()
    {}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}{}

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Mer

    I think it's really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    To ali

    How about 2 res down?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Calum ( i horny )

    I need sex plz

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Ali to calum

    R u a boy or girl

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Tori

    Walks in do u do lez s3x too?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    My favorite book ever!!!! Hannah Ainsworth

    I first read this book when i was 10, but it has stuck to me through 6th, 7th, and 8th grade. I will be going to high school this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5