Customer Reviews for

Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, and Adoption Loss

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Helped by Hannah's Hope

    I was given this book just weeks after losing a second long awaited baby that had been conceived after over 3 years of infertility when we were reaching the end of the line with our treatment options. Though everyone around us wanted to help and be encouraging, next to no one could. They simply couldn't begin to understand how much everything hurt and their comments would tax me because they couldn't know what would cause pain. Then came Jenni's book. I literally couldn't stop reading it until I reached the end (at 3:30am). It was like a balm to my spirit to read my own thoughts and words coming from someone else. Her journey has been even longer and harder than mine, and she was able to provide genuine empathy and sound Biblical counsel. I've since bought 10 more copies to give to relatives and churches and have passed it on to other women in our shoes. This is a must read for ANYONE who's going through infertility/child loss or anyone who wants to know how to love them better. A must for pastors as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    Excellent Book

    This book was the best book that I read that helped me deal with the issues of infertility. Ms. Saake did a wonderful job at answering all of my questions that I had during the most difficult time of my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    I loved this book.!!!

    This book is great for anyone or if you know anyone struggling with Infertility, loss, or adoption loss. It feels like you are Jennifer's best friend and she right with you holding your hand letting you cry and just loving you through a hard time in your life. Infertility is such a little exposed issue and if you have not lived it you really don't understand. Jennifer has lived it and she knows your pain. It is a great great book, highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    A must read for anyone whose life has been touched by infertility...

    Hannah's Hope truly does offer HOPE for those struggling with infertility -- Jenni Saake offers empathy, wisdom, and sound Biblical advice for how to cope with what truly might be one of the most difficult of crises a couple has had to face in their marriage -- infertility. Jenni Saake writes with an understanding that only someone who has 'been there' would have. Especially useful was a list of questions to ask yourself as a couple to help determine what treatment path, if any, is right for you and your family. I recommend this book to anyone struggling with infertility, as well as to family and friends and pastors of those struggling to build their families. A terrific resource.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    'Hannah's Hope' a message of hope to infertile women

    I strongly recommend this book to anyone suffering with infertility or the loss of a child due to miscarriage/stillbirth/infant loss. Not just those suffering directly but also to those looking to support others in need. It gives a biblical perspective and a message of hope in a subject that feels so out of contrrol. It validates the loss of precious children as specific individuals or the more general loss of children felt in infertility.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    BEAUTIFUL

    Jennifer Saake's true and gentle spirit seems to radiate from this book. While reading it, you will feel like you are sharing a story and journey with your newest best friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, and Adoption Loss

    This is one of the best resources for couples facing infertility, that I have ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    An honset look at infertility...

    Jennifer Saake's book is full of honest and real insight into the world of infertility. She holds nothing back and allows the reader to easily relate to her heartache and her passion for Christ. I very much appreciated her honest take on bitterness and the struggle to overcome it. This book has spoke volumes to my heart regarding my own feelings and struggles with loss and unfilled dreams of children. It is a must read for anyone attempting to draw closer to God while battling all that the bumpy road through infertility brings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    AWESOME!

    Awesome book! really hit home!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    'Hannah's Hope' truly offers hope!

    This is a must read for anyone dealing with infertility or loss or anyone who loves them. As an infertile adoptive mom myself, I found Mrs. Saake¿s words to be a healing balm on some deep emotional and spiritual scars. It is perfect for those of us at any stage in the journey through fertility challenges and those parenting after fertility challenges. ¿Hannah¿s Hope¿ deals thoroughly yet compassionately with even the most difficult ¿whys¿ without ever being preachy. It is equally appropriate for those who have never opened a Bible and for those who have walked in the faith for years. Reading Mrs. Saake¿s words felt like someone putting my own heart onto paper. I felt as if I were sitting across my kitchen table sharing the journey with a dear friend who knows what it¿s like. I¿ve already loaned my copy to a friend and plan to purchase another one for my pastor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, and Adoption Loss

    Jenni's book answers a lot of whys, and looks into the heart of anyone who has ever experienced infertility, or miscarriage. Never preachy, very helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Hannah's Hope provides hope and comfort

    I have not finished reading this book but the first 30ish pages have helped support so many feelings and questions I have had about the struggle of infertility and the loss of my child. The journey through Hannah's life is very helpful so far. If you are a believer in Christ or think you could believe in Christ this book is helpful to begin understanding one of the big questions when dealing with infertility - why! I can't wait to finish the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hannah's Hope

    Hannah's Hope by Jennifer Saake is an inspirational book empowering those facing extremely difficult times in life. Specifically written for those facing life challanges and trials in the midst of miscarriage, infertility and failed adoption, this book is appropriate for anyone finding themselves facing life's difficulties. For those readers facing any type of loss, death, teminal illness or depression in general, this book helpful.

    This concept of this book is based on the historical biblical heroine, Hannah, of the old testament. Hannah faced the shame of infetitlity in a culture where a woman's self worth and security was based on having children. The author, Jennifer Saake uses Hannah's life and faith as an analogy and role model of how we should face similar challanges should one find herself in the same situation. Furthermore, Saake pulls relevant biblical verses and uses them as a guide- to inspire the reader to place her faith on God inorder to draw upon God's strength in the most difficult of trials that might be faced in life. There are times in life that prove to be so difficult that nothing short of God's comfort can help. Using real life anecdotes from her own life and the torments and hardships of others, Jennifer Saake clearly has lived through some difficult times and has used them for the greater good with help from God. Overall this book provides hope and inspiration for thos who might otherwise have no hope. As a blogger for Navpress, I recieved a copy of this book for the purpose of writing this review. The opinions expressed ar my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Very Moving, Very True

    I recently read Hannah's Hope: Seeking God's Heart in the Midst of Infertility, Miscarriage, and Adoption Loss by Jennifer Saake, and found the book to be profoundly moving.

    The title of the book is based on Biblical Hannah and her own fertility struggles. The author uses a fictionalized scene from Hannah's life to initiate each chapter, then relate her own story, scripture, and reassurances to women facing fertility issues.

    Though the author currently has two living children, it is clear she still understands the heartbreak that many women face. Each chapter ends with a message to others (with phrases, while perhaps well-intended, that only deepen the pain for women dealing with infertility or loss). I found so many of these to be true.

    This book is very moving, and likely to stir emotions that you've never actually been able to put into words. I highly recommend this book to any couple that is experiencing infertility, miscarriage, or adoption loss.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2