Customer Reviews for

Hannah's List (Blossom Street Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Debbie Macomber is the best!

I just finished reading the ARC this morning of Debbie Macombers' "Hannah's List" and enjoyed every moment reading this book. Most of this book is written in the first person of Dr. Michael Everett. I found reading a man's point of view throughout the story very refres...
I just finished reading the ARC this morning of Debbie Macombers' "Hannah's List" and enjoyed every moment reading this book. Most of this book is written in the first person of Dr. Michael Everett. I found reading a man's point of view throughout the story very refreshing. His late wife Hannah leaves him a "list" of 3 women she wants him to meet, one is Winter Adams ( a character from one of the Blossom Street books), the second is Leanne Lancaster (who was Hannah's oncology nurse), and the third woman is Macy Roth, a gal he never met, but only saw at a distance at his wife's funeral.
I absolutely love Debbie Macombers' books. She is such a talented writer, and I wish her books in the Blossom Street series came out more than once a year!
Thank you Debbie Macomber for this wonderful book, I could not put it down!

posted by Jan123hello on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

HANNAH'S LIST

Dr. Michael Everett's wife Hannah died after a very short battle with ovarian cancer. She was stage 4 when she was diagnosed. Her husband has carried an enormous burden of guilt thinking that he was a doctor, he should have known sooner.

On the anniversary of her d...
Dr. Michael Everett's wife Hannah died after a very short battle with ovarian cancer. She was stage 4 when she was diagnosed. Her husband has carried an enormous burden of guilt thinking that he was a doctor, he should have known sooner.

On the anniversary of her death, her brother, Michael's best friend, gives him a letter Hannah wrote to him shortly before she died. It was a heartbreaking letter that reminded him of her love and the wonderful years they had together, but it also had one final request. She wanted him to marry again and not spend his years grieving her. She even included a list of three names of women she thought he should consider.
Her cousin, Winter Adams, who is a chef and owns a cafe on Blossom Street.
Leanne Lancaster, who was Hannah's oncology nurse.
And Macy Roth, an artist Hannah had met.

Over the next few month's he spends time with each of them, learning about them, but also learning quite a bit about himself.



This is a true love story although the list idea is not entirely new. I remember an old episode of Everyone Loves Raymond where this idea was dealt with using a great deal of humor. Debbie's version really tugs at the heart strings. The good thing is that you know that when your are reading a Debbie Macomber book you are almost assured of a happy ending. While this book does take place around Blossom Street and a few of the characters from that series make an appearance, this is definitely a stand alone book. Although I do hope Dr. Michael Everett shows up in some way in the Blossom Street series, so we can see how things continue in his future. He is truly an endearing character. This was a truly enjoyable read for an early Spring day.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free.. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."


****************************************************************************

Ovarian cancer is often called a silent killer, Debbie included this website in her introduction, which explains how to identify the symptoms www.mayoclinic.com .

Also be sure to check out Debbie's website at www.DebbieMacomber.com.

posted by Dollycas on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 414 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    Debbie Macomber is the best!

    I just finished reading the ARC this morning of Debbie Macombers' "Hannah's List" and enjoyed every moment reading this book. Most of this book is written in the first person of Dr. Michael Everett. I found reading a man's point of view throughout the story very refreshing. His late wife Hannah leaves him a "list" of 3 women she wants him to meet, one is Winter Adams ( a character from one of the Blossom Street books), the second is Leanne Lancaster (who was Hannah's oncology nurse), and the third woman is Macy Roth, a gal he never met, but only saw at a distance at his wife's funeral.
    I absolutely love Debbie Macombers' books. She is such a talented writer, and I wish her books in the Blossom Street series came out more than once a year!
    Thank you Debbie Macomber for this wonderful book, I could not put it down!

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hannah's List

    My Synopsis:

    Hannah's List by Debbie Macomber

    It has been one year since Dr. Michael Everett's wife Hannah, died from cancer. He is still mourning her death when he is given a letter that Hannah left for him to be delivered a year after her death. The letter speaks of her love for her husband and that hope that he can move on with his life and find love again. Not only does Hannah want him to move on, but she has left a list of three women that she believes would make him happy and complete his life. Knowing that Michael would have trouble moving on, Hannah believed this letter would spur him on and let him know that she wanted him to have a wife and a family.

    Michael is stunned that Hannah could have loved him so much that she left this list before she died. But, can he move on? Is he ready to leave his love for Hannah behind? Which one of these women can help him find love again? A cousin of his wife's, a nurse who helped her through her last days or the whimsical and beautiful model?

    My Thoughts:

    Debbie Macomber is one of my favorite authors for a lot of reasons. One of those reasons is because her contemporary romances are rooted in events that are happening to real people in our day and time. Though I love historical romance, sometimes it's nice to read a book about characters that we can identify with and situations that could actually happen in our own lives.

    Very few people in this day and age have not been touched by cancer in some way. This novel is more about the struggle for those left behind, to go on with their lives and how difficult that can be sometimes. Michael's character is very poignant and touching. His love for Hannah was real and deep and him moving on seems almost like a sacrilege. But, he begins to realize that he still has a lot of love in his heart to give.

    He feels that he has a duty to Hannah to at least talk to the three women on the list but, as he begins to find out more about them he is confused as to why she chose each one. The women in the story have struggles of their own. In the end Michael finds the woman who he believes that ultimately he should spend the rest of his life with and he knows that Hannah would approve. This is a story that may sound a little sad, but it's not. It's about moving on and learning to love again after tragedy. I liked it a lot and I know you will too.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Another wonderful Debbie Macomber book!

    Hannah's List ranks up there with the best of the best by Debbie Macomber. I really enjoyed reading this book!

    It was such a unique love story ~ the plot was intriguing and held me captive till the end.

    In true Debbie Macomber fashion, her characters were very realistic and I cried and laughed with each of them throughout the whole story.

    All I can say is....

    Read this book ~ you will really, really enjoy it!

    Many thanks to Kim M. from Nancy Berland Public Relations, Inc for allowing me the wonderful opportunity of review this book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Reminds me of P.S. I LOVE YOU. I LOVE IT!!

    Thirty-six year old Hannah Everett dies from ovarian cancer after a long, painful battle. She leaves behind a letter to her beloved pediatrician husband, Michael, that he is to open one year after her death. (P.S. I LOVE YOU)
    Thus begins his struggle, on the road to realize that life needs to go on after loss and that you can find happiness again. A lovely heartwarming story! I loved it...(and P.S. I LOVE YOU TOO!!)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy Read

    This book will pull at your heart strings the moment you read the first page. It's refreshing to read a love story through the eyes of a loving, devoted husband. You will instantly fall in love with Dr. Michael Everett and will be cheering him on and shedding a few tears during his road to recovery. You will surely not want to put this book down!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Sam

    Wake up!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    charming

    Hannah died last year, but she left her husband a letter to be opened on the anniversary of her death. He opens it to find an expression of love and something he never thought he'd find - a list of three women Hannah wants him to date. She wants him to move on and knows that this past year, he's been going through the motions, but not really living.

    She knows him well. He's extremely reluctant to follow her advice. The first woman on the list is her cousin who owns a cafe on Blossom Street. He wanders into the cafe on morning for coffee. She isn't there, but he leaves a message at the counter.

    The next woman is a nurse who made Hannah's last days comfortable. Michael speaks with her at a hospital children's picnic. She's recently divorced herself and understand what he's going through. They agree to dinner later in the week.

    The third woman he calls cold, asking her to come into to paint a mural on the wall at his office. When she arrives late, he remembers her from the funeral. Everything about this woman annoys him and he can't understand how she made Hannah's List. He hires her and now must deal with seeing her in his office until she completes her project.

    Will one of these women help him come out of his shell and bring him back to life?

    I adore the Blossom Street series. They're adorable and heartwarming. I can't decide which one I like best. This one was amazing as well. I was a little shocked to see this book written in majority from a male perspective, but it works.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A poignant tale

    In Seattle thirty-six year old Hannah Everett dies from ovarian cancer after a long battle. She leaves behind a letter to her beloved pediatrician husband, Michael that he is to open one year after her death.

    On the first anniversary of Hannah's death, Michael reads her note to him. She pleads with him to get on with his life as he has grieved long enough. She wants him to actively seek a new wife. Hannah suggests he consider three candidates for his second spouse: her cousin Chef Winter Adams; her oncologist nurse Leanne Lancaster or eccentric artist Macy Roth. Michael goes out with each of the women but each quickly recognizes that his heart is buried with his late spouse.

    Although some readers will question how fast Michael acts on his beloved deceased wife's final request, fans will enjoy this strong look at grieving as the lead protagonist tries to move on as his spouse requested with the three women she suggested. Michael is fully developed so that the audience understands his concerns and fears while Hannah is only seen through his eyes and the letter. The tree candidates are developed to different degrees, which makes it easy to know the ending relatively early on. Michael hooks the readers throughout as he struggles with choosing from Hannah's List because he is unsure if he can.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Highly Recommeded

    Currently still reading but loving every page

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Hannah

    "Deevs?"

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Skykit

    Sorry but you guys ignored me for to long...goes to lighten

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Banal, trite, a waste of time

    Why a zipped-up, widower doctor would fall in love with a loony, flaky artist is both unlikely and not believable. This book is just silly. Need I say more?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Darkeh

    I'm loving it so far :) keep goin'... *gentle shove*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    All About Me Part Three

    -he did something horrible to my ribs. I can't lay on my stomach now, because my ribs start to lightly touch my lungs (not enough to cause internal bleeding, of course.) It hurts, and I can't breathe after a certain period of time. It's horrible. But I recall some good memories. Like our neighbours Matt and Shawn McGuire. (Is that how you spell it?) They were half-white, half-mexican. Matt was really short, with black hair. Shawn was a little taller, with more lighter skin than a mexican, and dark brown hair with random parts of his hair dirty blonde. Shawn reminds me or Darryl off of The Walking Dead (which by the way, for any Walking Dead fans, DARRYL IS SO HOT!) They had little siblings. Dakota. Caylee. And Hunter. Dakota always had a crush on me. But he was two years younger. He asked me out once, but I told him no. Matt d Shawn had really inappropriate minds. If anyone RPes with me, you now know where I got my mind-set from. I never knew what se<_>x, rape, or anything was until I hung out with them. There was this huge styrofoam block out in their back yard. They named 'her' Shirley, and my brother Joseph (Joe) and Matt+Shawn would sit on top of it, and hu<_>mp it, yelling things about Shirley. Pretty perverted, right? Yeah... Matt loved Basketball and Football. I did too. But my brothers didn't always wanna hang out. So me, Matt, and Shawn would hang out alone. Matt and I always played Basketball alot. I would beat him, and he'd get so pissed. Shawn would laugh at him and tell him that he just got beat by a girl. Matt had anger issues, so when his brother said something teasing, Matt took it to heart and would punch him or something. Not enough to hurt his own brother, but enough to get him to shut up. And Football was fun too. The street was a backroad, so hardly yone drove on it. He'd be like "go long!" I couldn't ever 'go long.' I'd go to back-up, and I couldn't ever be fast enough to get the ball. So he beat me at Football pretty well. Sometimes, we'd just sit and talk about life. Shawn didn't really talk much though, unless he was mad. So he'd listen to me and Matt talk. We were in the same grade. The bus would come to pick us up and drop us off too. Bus 4. Our bus driver's name was Peggy. She was such a bi<_>tch. She was old and cranky. Like, in her 50's. Ugh. The people on our bus were so profane and igrnorant. Peggy would start screaming at them at times. It was pretty funny....I got from moving all the way from moving, to here? Wow. lol. Well, I moved in sixth grade. To a new town, away from my grandparents. Fredericktown, Missouri. My sister Jaimee and her boyfriend then, Dustin, were going to move in with us. They ended up fighting and didn't move in with us. We stayed there two years. Over those two years, I was horribly bullied. Horribly. My mom and dad decided I needed to be taken out of school. So, I got taken out of school at the end of sixth grade. I went back next year in seventh grade. I was doing great in school, though behind a tad in math. Gah...My brother talked my mom into being taken out of school, and I didn't want to be alone. So I begged her to take me out of school as well, stupidly. She took us out of school, and I missed eighth grade school year as well, still homeschooled. I'm going into ninth grade this year...but due to my mom's mistakes, I might not be able to go back to school. And if I do go back, there's a big chance I'll be held back, so I'll be in eigth grade... <p> more at next res...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    This book was a complete letdown.  The story was not believable

    This book was a complete letdown.  The story was not believable by any stretch of the imagination.  Too bad it's part of the Blossom Street series.  It could stand alone.  If a fan of the series chose to skip this one, I don't believe you would miss anything.  I wish I had skipped it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Meh

    Merh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Jason

    Gtg bbt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Sunlightclaw

    I can work here part time and supply milk.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Misty

    Me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 414 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21