Customer Reviews for

Hannah's List (Blossom Street Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Debbie Macomber is the best!

I just finished reading the ARC this morning of Debbie Macombers' "Hannah's List" and enjoyed every moment reading this book. Most of this book is written in the first person of Dr. Michael Everett. I found reading a man's point of view throughout the story very refres...
I just finished reading the ARC this morning of Debbie Macombers' "Hannah's List" and enjoyed every moment reading this book. Most of this book is written in the first person of Dr. Michael Everett. I found reading a man's point of view throughout the story very refreshing. His late wife Hannah leaves him a "list" of 3 women she wants him to meet, one is Winter Adams ( a character from one of the Blossom Street books), the second is Leanne Lancaster (who was Hannah's oncology nurse), and the third woman is Macy Roth, a gal he never met, but only saw at a distance at his wife's funeral.
I absolutely love Debbie Macombers' books. She is such a talented writer, and I wish her books in the Blossom Street series came out more than once a year!
Thank you Debbie Macomber for this wonderful book, I could not put it down!

posted by Jan123hello on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

HANNAH'S LIST

Dr. Michael Everett's wife Hannah died after a very short battle with ovarian cancer. She was stage 4 when she was diagnosed. Her husband has carried an enormous burden of guilt thinking that he was a doctor, he should have known sooner.

On the anniversary of her d...
Dr. Michael Everett's wife Hannah died after a very short battle with ovarian cancer. She was stage 4 when she was diagnosed. Her husband has carried an enormous burden of guilt thinking that he was a doctor, he should have known sooner.

On the anniversary of her death, her brother, Michael's best friend, gives him a letter Hannah wrote to him shortly before she died. It was a heartbreaking letter that reminded him of her love and the wonderful years they had together, but it also had one final request. She wanted him to marry again and not spend his years grieving her. She even included a list of three names of women she thought he should consider.
Her cousin, Winter Adams, who is a chef and owns a cafe on Blossom Street.
Leanne Lancaster, who was Hannah's oncology nurse.
And Macy Roth, an artist Hannah had met.

Over the next few month's he spends time with each of them, learning about them, but also learning quite a bit about himself.



This is a true love story although the list idea is not entirely new. I remember an old episode of Everyone Loves Raymond where this idea was dealt with using a great deal of humor. Debbie's version really tugs at the heart strings. The good thing is that you know that when your are reading a Debbie Macomber book you are almost assured of a happy ending. While this book does take place around Blossom Street and a few of the characters from that series make an appearance, this is definitely a stand alone book. Although I do hope Dr. Michael Everett shows up in some way in the Blossom Street series, so we can see how things continue in his future. He is truly an endearing character. This was a truly enjoyable read for an early Spring day.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free.. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."


****************************************************************************

Ovarian cancer is often called a silent killer, Debbie included this website in her introduction, which explains how to identify the symptoms www.mayoclinic.com .

Also be sure to check out Debbie's website at www.DebbieMacomber.com.

posted by Dollycas on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hannah's List

    My Synopsis:

    Hannah's List by Debbie Macomber

    It has been one year since Dr. Michael Everett's wife Hannah, died from cancer. He is still mourning her death when he is given a letter that Hannah left for him to be delivered a year after her death. The letter speaks of her love for her husband and that hope that he can move on with his life and find love again. Not only does Hannah want him to move on, but she has left a list of three women that she believes would make him happy and complete his life. Knowing that Michael would have trouble moving on, Hannah believed this letter would spur him on and let him know that she wanted him to have a wife and a family.

    Michael is stunned that Hannah could have loved him so much that she left this list before she died. But, can he move on? Is he ready to leave his love for Hannah behind? Which one of these women can help him find love again? A cousin of his wife's, a nurse who helped her through her last days or the whimsical and beautiful model?

    My Thoughts:

    Debbie Macomber is one of my favorite authors for a lot of reasons. One of those reasons is because her contemporary romances are rooted in events that are happening to real people in our day and time. Though I love historical romance, sometimes it's nice to read a book about characters that we can identify with and situations that could actually happen in our own lives.

    Very few people in this day and age have not been touched by cancer in some way. This novel is more about the struggle for those left behind, to go on with their lives and how difficult that can be sometimes. Michael's character is very poignant and touching. His love for Hannah was real and deep and him moving on seems almost like a sacrilege. But, he begins to realize that he still has a lot of love in his heart to give.

    He feels that he has a duty to Hannah to at least talk to the three women on the list but, as he begins to find out more about them he is confused as to why she chose each one. The women in the story have struggles of their own. In the end Michael finds the woman who he believes that ultimately he should spend the rest of his life with and he knows that Hannah would approve. This is a story that may sound a little sad, but it's not. It's about moving on and learning to love again after tragedy. I liked it a lot and I know you will too.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Fallon

    xD Sure.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    A sweet story which captured my interest

    This is a simple, but sweet love story. I enjoyed the contrast between the women and I especially liked that the writer left things to the imagination. I now feel that I want to read other books by Macomber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    I enjoy reading Debbie Macomber's books and this was no exception. This is a good beach read as it will keep your attention but not be so heavy as to disturb your thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    good book

    I enjoyed this book. I like all of the Debbie Macomber books though. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Would read again

    Makes you stop and think about people, places and things that you think
    are important to you. Are the?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    h

    Good book. Good summer read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Sweet

    Sweet pick me up about moving forward after loss

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the story of a woman that dies leaving a list of three w

    This is the story of a woman that dies leaving a list of three women she thinks would be a good match for her husband. That may sound a bit creepy, but the way it is presented, doesn't make it weird at all.
    Hannah's List was a selection for my book club, this was also my first time reading a book by Debbie Macomber. This book wasn't really 'meaty' enough for a book club discussion, we ended up talking about a lot of other things. Actually, that happens every month, regardless of the book, but it happened much sooner with this book. So, I wouldn't really recommend it for your book club. But, if you're looking for an cute, enjoyable story that will draw you in from the start, consider this book. I'd say this would be a perfect vacation book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Linda B

    GREAT book.She did it again! A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Two thumbs up

    I started the blossom street series a few years back and fell in love with them. And this book is just as great! A turn in the road is another great read. I was disappointed to find out there wont be one this year but I totally understand. Looking forward to the new book coming out in August . Rhonda

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet romance guaranteed to produce a few tears.

    Review by Jen: If you've read any of my old reviews, you know that I'm a big Debbie Macomber fan. She knows how to weave a good story and tug at the heartstrings. So, when I was approached by Big Honcho Media to help with their media blitz to promote Debbie's newest release, I jumped at the chance. Today, you're getting a review of Hannah's List. And tomorrow, we're starting a contest that will give away 3 copies of the book as well as an extra special prize.

    But today is about the review...

    Occasionally, we get an opportunity to change our lives-whether it's another chance at love, changing the path we've chosen or going back and making amends for the past. Hannah's List is the story of a widower who is given an unexpected letter from his wife on the first anniversary of her death. In a remarkable act of love, Hannah includes a list of three women for him to consider marrying. With a unique twist and intriguing element, readers will be in for a wonderful story of a love that transcends time, hope that is exceptionally unselfish, and the possibility of a future otherwise unfathomable. An unexpected letter. An impossible request. The gift of a second chance.

    Debbie Macomber has written another tear jerker. From page one, as Michael is reflecting on the loss of his wife and how hard the year has been without her, I was drawn into the story. And I didn't want to put the book down as Michael struggles to follow through with Hannah's last wish to fall in love again.

    Now the book could've expanded a little more on Hannah's battle with breast cancer. And Michael probably gave in to Hannah's list a little too easily and quickly. But overall, I really enjoyed the story and the quirky characters Ms. Macomber sprinkled throughout the novel. I recommend Hannah's List for those looking for a sweet romance that is guaranteed to produce a few tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could I do that?

    This was a cute story. A year after her death, Hannah has left her widowed husband a letter asking him to consider three woman to be his next wife. Of course Michael, the husband struggles with her request. While the story cruises along at a steady but safe pace, Michael does meet all three women and it is obvious which one he will end up with. What I wasn't expecting was for Macomber to wrap everyone's story up in a neat little package. I like her style though. Her characters are memorable and flawed but still pretty likable. This is a quick read. It is fun and it is worth a discussion. Not necessarily what happens in the book but whether or not you could do what Hnnah did if you knew you were gonna die. Could you be Michael and take your dead wife's advice. I don't read her books often(although I love her Christmas stories) but when I pick one up, it always leaves me fgeeling hopeful and happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Simple, uncomplicated, and lovely

    Debbie Macomber is one of those authors I can rely on when I'm craving a nice story with a happy ending. I love her Blossom Street and Cedar Cover series, as well as her stand-alone books. In fact, I've never read a Debbie Macomber book that I didn't enjoy!

    This story reminded me a little of P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern, in that a dying spouse wrote letters to be delivered after their death. While Ahern's hero wrote monthly letters to his wife and Hannah only wrote one, they both wanted their beloved spouse to get on with their lives and find happiness and love again. That's incredibly loving and unselfish, and both stories brought tears to my eyes.

    Hannah's letter urges her husband to find love again, and marry & start the family they always dreamed of. Hannah goes so far as to suggest three possible matches for her husband, which he finds a little overwhelming. But he does meet the three women in order to fulfill Hannah's last request.

    I liked all three women, and while I was a little surprised at the ending, it did make sense. I gave this book a 4/5 rating as I really enjoyed it! Debbie is very talented, and I love her stories! Some of the characters from her Blossom Street series make cameos, and it's nice to get brief glimpses of other characters we've come to know and love.

    If you enjoy simple, uncomplicated, light romances, then this book is for you! While it is sad in parts, it's joyful as well. These characters seem like real people and their life isn't always smooth, but they persevere. It's a fast, enjoyable read with a lovely ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Great Book

    Easy Read and very touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Hannah's List

    I admit to be addicted to Debbie Macomber's books. I look forward to every new novel, and even some of her former re-releases that I missed prior to discovering her. This one does not disappoint!
    I have already shared it with several friends and everyone agrees that it is another tender, lovely story by a wonderful author who understands the human experience very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Nice, Fast Read

    This was a typical Macomber book. If you like her other books, you'll definitely like this one! I enjoyed the inclusion of some of the characters from Blossom Street throughout the story. This book lends itself to being the perfect summer read. So, find a beach, grab the umbrella, sunscreen, and iced tea and enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Finding love again...

    It's been one year since Hannah's death. Hannah was just 36 years old when she passed away from ovarian cancer. Her husband, Michael, was at her bedside when she passed. Hannah and Michael had been trying to start a family when she was diagnosed. After 18 months of trying unsuccessfully they saw a fertility specialist only to find out that Hannah had stage-four ovarian cancer. The cancer was terminal and taking over very quickly.

    During the year following Hannah's death, Michael has been living his life filled with sorrow and grief, just going through the motions of day-to-day tasks. He goes to the gym in the mornings with Ritchie, Hannah's brother and Michael's best friend. After which he goes to work as a pediatrician.

    On the one-year anniversary of Hannah's death, Ritchie hands Michael a letter; a letter from Hannah.

    <i>My darling Michael,

    I know this letter will come as a shock to you and I apologize for that. It's been a year now and I imagine it's been a difficult one for you, as well as our parents and Ritchie. I would've given anything to have spared you this grief.</i>

    In the letter, Hannah's urges Michael to marry again and have children and be the father he is destined to be. She goes on to list three women that would make a good wife and companion, each with her own unique qualities and attributes.

    The first woman on the list is Winter Adams, Hannah's cousin who owns a french cafe. Winter has a big heart and loves children. She also cooks incredible meals.

    Second, there's Leanne Lancaster, Hannah's oncology nurse, who is divorced and going through a rough time of her own. Hannah had admired her emotional strength. Leanne is kind and caring.

    And lastly, there's Macy Roth, whom Hannah describes as "funny and clever and multi-talented". Hannah believes that Macy will make him smile and bring balance to his life.

    Hannah's List is told from first POV (Michael) and 3rd POV narrative (everyone else). I didn't realize this until about 4-5 chapters in but it helped me experience Michael's emotions first hand. I have to admit, I was emotionally spent after reading the first couple of chapters. My chest ached from my uncontrollable sobbing. Have the tissues ready! But Hannah's List was definitely worth all the tears I shed.

    At just a bit over 400 pages, Hannah's List appears to be long but I was so wrapped up in the story that it went by pretty smooth and fast. Macomber's writing got me emotionally involved and attached to the characters. And I'm pleased to say that I'm happy with Michael's final decision. The only thing I found missing was sizzle; there is no seduction or love scenes in Hannah's List, which I was okay with. After all, the focus of this book is more about emotions and relationships.

    Until now, I hadn't heard of Debbie Macomber. I am glad that I was given the opportunity to read Hannah's List. The premise grabbed me and Macomber had me from the very first couple of pages. I will certainly be checking out her other novels. Nicholas Sparks fans will surely enjoy Hannah's List.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6