Customer Reviews for

Hannah's List (Blossom Street Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Debbie Macomber is the best!

I just finished reading the ARC this morning of Debbie Macombers' "Hannah's List" and enjoyed every moment reading this book. Most of this book is written in the first person of Dr. Michael Everett. I found reading a man's point of view throughout the story very refres...
I just finished reading the ARC this morning of Debbie Macombers' "Hannah's List" and enjoyed every moment reading this book. Most of this book is written in the first person of Dr. Michael Everett. I found reading a man's point of view throughout the story very refreshing. His late wife Hannah leaves him a "list" of 3 women she wants him to meet, one is Winter Adams ( a character from one of the Blossom Street books), the second is Leanne Lancaster (who was Hannah's oncology nurse), and the third woman is Macy Roth, a gal he never met, but only saw at a distance at his wife's funeral.
I absolutely love Debbie Macombers' books. She is such a talented writer, and I wish her books in the Blossom Street series came out more than once a year!
Thank you Debbie Macomber for this wonderful book, I could not put it down!

posted by Jan123hello on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

HANNAH'S LIST

Dr. Michael Everett's wife Hannah died after a very short battle with ovarian cancer. She was stage 4 when she was diagnosed. Her husband has carried an enormous burden of guilt thinking that he was a doctor, he should have known sooner.

On the anniversary of her d...
Dr. Michael Everett's wife Hannah died after a very short battle with ovarian cancer. She was stage 4 when she was diagnosed. Her husband has carried an enormous burden of guilt thinking that he was a doctor, he should have known sooner.

On the anniversary of her death, her brother, Michael's best friend, gives him a letter Hannah wrote to him shortly before she died. It was a heartbreaking letter that reminded him of her love and the wonderful years they had together, but it also had one final request. She wanted him to marry again and not spend his years grieving her. She even included a list of three names of women she thought he should consider.
Her cousin, Winter Adams, who is a chef and owns a cafe on Blossom Street.
Leanne Lancaster, who was Hannah's oncology nurse.
And Macy Roth, an artist Hannah had met.

Over the next few month's he spends time with each of them, learning about them, but also learning quite a bit about himself.



This is a true love story although the list idea is not entirely new. I remember an old episode of Everyone Loves Raymond where this idea was dealt with using a great deal of humor. Debbie's version really tugs at the heart strings. The good thing is that you know that when your are reading a Debbie Macomber book you are almost assured of a happy ending. While this book does take place around Blossom Street and a few of the characters from that series make an appearance, this is definitely a stand alone book. Although I do hope Dr. Michael Everett shows up in some way in the Blossom Street series, so we can see how things continue in his future. He is truly an endearing character. This was a truly enjoyable read for an early Spring day.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free.. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."


****************************************************************************

Ovarian cancer is often called a silent killer, Debbie included this website in her introduction, which explains how to identify the symptoms www.mayoclinic.com .

Also be sure to check out Debbie's website at www.DebbieMacomber.com.

posted by Dollycas on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Breezeclaw

    Okay bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Very endearing story. A Good Read

    I always enjoy Debbie Macomber. She is easy to read and always blends two or three stories together. This one shows how love reached back from death to push someone into moving back to life after grief. Although everything works out, it shows how people need to look at themselves in order to make a relationship work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great

    I LOVED this book, the entire series has been grest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Hannah's List

    This is truly an awesome book! It touched on all my emotions...It's a great book on grieving....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Awsome

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    great read

    I have enjoyed every book to date..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I started reading the Blossom Street Series because of a recommendation from a friend and have not been disappointed at all. Hannah's list was no exception! Debbie Macomber is a wonderful writer, who has a way of making you feel like you know the people in the story. Reading it I found myself hating to have to put it down. This is a great read and I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Recommend

    Another great Debbie Macomber book! A little bit predictible but still enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Helllo

    Goodbye

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    One year after his wife dies of cancer, Dr. Michael Everett is handed a letter that his wife, Hannah, wrote to him before she died. In it, she encourages him to remarry, and names three women that she would like him to meet and date.
    First on the list is her cousin, Winter, who runs a restaurant. Winter is in love with Pierre, but the relationship is stormy, with several break ups. Next, she names Leanne, her oncology nurse. Leanne is recently divorced from Mark, who embezzled funds from a charity and spent a year in jail. Last, she names Macy, an artist and actress that will make him laugh again.
    This is a very enjoyable book that fully develops the characters, taking the reader into their lives and struggles. It deals with serious topics of loss and damaged relationships. The answers it provides are not always the easy ones. It shows that true love is a matter of give and take, accepting people for what they are. It shows that love offers grace, forgiveness and understanding.
    Hannah's List is enjoyable, well written, compelling and intelligent. It will please the reader, and soften the heart. It will make you want to love again, no matter how deeply you have been hurt or how unfair life has been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Amazing story

    About healing and loving again. Beautiful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Surprise, surprise, surprise!

    I so loved this story! It had all the wonderful elements of Debbie Macomber! Love you books! If you have read Blossom Street stories you will definitely enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    Great Book - A MUST Read

    Debbie Macomber has written a wonderful romance story. The characters seemed very real and I got caught up in each one's personal journey throughout the pages of the book. I did not want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Inspiring!

    This sweet tale of love lost and found made me smile! The characters were easy to connect with and I found myself cheering them on in their search for true love! I am inspired by the experience of forgiveness and restoration, and especially delighted with the reminder that love isn't love until we give it away!! Well written, easily read, completely enjoyed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Hannahs List

    Really liked the book. It held my interest throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Highly recommended - entertaining storyline and endearing characters

    I am a huge Debbie Macomber fan, and this book did not disappoint me. I found the main storyline to be entertaining, and the side stories to be a bonus. This is a story about sorrow, survival, and finally learning to live again. I would wish that I could be as wise and unselfish as Hannah, in leaving such a letter for my husband were anything to happen to me. I loved hearing about some of our old favorites from Blossom Street, including the birth of ALix and Jordan's first child. Thankfully I started it on a snow day, because I couldn't put it down. Maybe its for the more mature reader - someone who has felt loss, and is looking for real people in real situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    loved it!!

    I got this book when it first came out. I thought Debbie done a great job. I have passed this book down to my co workers all of them have come back and told how much they enjoyed the book also. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Very sweet book with charming characters

    I have read several of Debbie Macomber's books, and this was an especially enjoyable one. I enjoyed the characters and the lightheartedness of the storylines. Although some of the situations seem pretty hard to believe, that's the kind of book I just sometimes need to escape into. I was a little confused by the purpose really of the first 2 names on Hannah's list as their relationships seemed not really necessary in the plot...think that Ms. Macomber could have made them both less troubled. Would like to see a sequel to this to follow the marriage relationship of the 2 main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    One of Debbie's Best!

    I loved this story. If you haven't read any of Debbie's book. This is a MUST have. Love reading every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9