Customer Reviews for

Hanna's Daughters

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Great read for women - mothers, daughters, grandmothers!

    I thought this was a great story covering many time periods, and showed how times and issues women face have evolved yet not changed much. I normally don't like when a book flips back and forth between the past and the present, but it transitions well and is easy to follow. Also, I found interesting the fact that even though this is not an American author who writes of situations taking place in a foreign land, the experiences these women - mothers, daughters - face are similar to those experiences of women in America throughout the same time periods. How refreshing to know we, as woman, or mothers are subjected to many demanding experiences and stressful decisions. All the women in this great novel are strong and it teaches us we can also be strong and overcome the complexities of being a woman, mother, daughter and/or grandmother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Hdhdhdbdbhd

    Hdhdhhdhdh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    Maternal Love

    This is a remarkable family story of three generations of very strong, brave women who live full and rich lives. The maternal love and strength of each woman makes it a very touching book. It makes you want to pursue your own family history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Family History

    This is a remarkable story of three generations of very strong, very brave, hardworking Swedish women. There is a lot of Swedish history and also a great theme of maternal love. It was so compelling that I could hardly put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    Understanding the past

    Hanna's Daughters caught my eye because I am interested in people and in history. Marianne Fredriksson expressed so well how hard it is for Swedish women to express their emotions, how they hold back, and then sometimes bluntly say things they didn't mean. She expressed very well, the hard life it was in the last century, especially for women. It helped me understand my own Swedish grandmother, and her 10 children, 9 who lived and, my father who found it always difficult to express himself to us. The black depression that hit them at times in their lives is a hardship for the Swedes. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Hanna's Daughter's

    In life one learns from family; therefore passing on tradition from generation to generation; In ¿Hanna¿s Daughters¿ written by Marianne Fredriksson, her character Anna goes back and looks at the history of her grandmother and her mother learning what each one had been through and what they had passed down to her. Anna begins her search by looking into her grandmothers past, she finds that she was raised in the old country was raped and was pregnant when she was 12 years old, but was saved, somewhat, by a man. He married her and they had many kids and only girl was Anna¿s mother. She moves into her mother¿s life and finds the hardship of her father dying and having to move to the city, going to school growing up and eventually marring Anna¿s father, then losing children in pregnancy and raising the one daughter she had. At the end of learning about her family, she takes a different tone to life and realizes what a great life she really has and all her hardships had been similar to her families. She had been taught to live from two women whom she thought were weak but ended up being the strongest she had ever known. The author ties readers into each character, Hanna, Johanna, and Anna within the first pages of the book. Starts by explaining where Anna and her mother are in the present part of the book and then goes into Anna feelings towards her Grandmother Hanna which leads to interest into finding out about her Grandmother Hanna¿s life. After Anna learns about her grandmother, it goes into a few details of Anna¿s life and how she looked at her mother and then finally goes into Johanna¿s life. When Anna finishes all of her research of her family she realizes how similar she was to her Grandmother and Mother which leads to the telling of her life and the decsions that she has made in her life. Marianna Fredriksson used the literary element of characterizationand told each one of these women¿s lives showing them growing up, learning about life, falling in love, raising children and growing old. She made a real to life family come to alive in ¿Hanna¿s Daughters.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Insights

    This novel prompted me to look again at perceptions and sterotypes -- how I acquire them, how they influence me. What family/neighborhood stories have shaped my thinking/beliefs?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    Dude who liked the book

    This is a good book. I read it b/c my girlfriend is Swedish, she recommended it, and I thought it may help me understand her and her family better. I'm a guy that likes Arnold Schwartzenegar movies, and if this book were a movie, I probably wouldn't like it, but as a book I really enjoyed. It's a sad story because of all of the suffering each of the three women endured during their lives. But it's insightful and may spark compassion for mothers, wives and daughters in those men who are capable of compassion. Having said all that, I'm gonna stay anonymous so that none of my buddies know about this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1