Customer Reviews for

Hannibal (Hannibal Lecter Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My idea of romance

I love Thomas Harris, he is original and he comes up with the most orginal characters. I have been a fan since I watched silence of the lambs back when I was a tennager, and I have read his other books except for Black Sunday, soon though.

I am one of the people t...
I love Thomas Harris, he is original and he comes up with the most orginal characters. I have been a fan since I watched silence of the lambs back when I was a tennager, and I have read his other books except for Black Sunday, soon though.

I am one of the people that loves the book, start to finish, and I found the ending fitting for this couple. The tension that started with Silence of the Lambs, carried over perfectly. Some people think that Starling acted out of character, but if you read one book right after the other one, you can pick up the hints that Harris left regarding Starlings transformation.

The poor girl had a crappy life, her career with the FBI was destroyed the moment she found Jame Gumb, she gave her best years to the bureau and it got her nothing but the scorn of her male contemporaries and superiors. Being a girl, and an attractive one at that with a strong personality didn't help her either.

Dr Lecter took advantage of Starlings misfortunes to bring her over to the dark side, something she avidly welcomed I might add.
I wouldn't called Dr. Lecter an anti-hero, no matter how much you romanticise him, he is still a murderous cannibal. But you can't deny that his attachment to Clarice is kind of sweet.

A great book, the ending might not be for everybody, but like I say. Read Silence right before Hannibal and it makes more sense.

posted by Sadistprince-18 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What's wrong with Thomas Harris?

It seemed like it took Harris 10 years to write this follow-up to the very popular Silence of the Lambs and I think he tried too hard to repeat the success of its predecessor. The first 450 pages are just plain mediocre and have very little suspense. Clarice Starling is...
It seemed like it took Harris 10 years to write this follow-up to the very popular Silence of the Lambs and I think he tried too hard to repeat the success of its predecessor. The first 450 pages are just plain mediocre and have very little suspense. Clarice Starling is about the only character in the entire book that isn't nauseating and the ending is the worst I have ever read.

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My idea of romance

    I love Thomas Harris, he is original and he comes up with the most orginal characters. I have been a fan since I watched silence of the lambs back when I was a tennager, and I have read his other books except for Black Sunday, soon though.

    I am one of the people that loves the book, start to finish, and I found the ending fitting for this couple. The tension that started with Silence of the Lambs, carried over perfectly. Some people think that Starling acted out of character, but if you read one book right after the other one, you can pick up the hints that Harris left regarding Starlings transformation.

    The poor girl had a crappy life, her career with the FBI was destroyed the moment she found Jame Gumb, she gave her best years to the bureau and it got her nothing but the scorn of her male contemporaries and superiors. Being a girl, and an attractive one at that with a strong personality didn't help her either.

    Dr Lecter took advantage of Starlings misfortunes to bring her over to the dark side, something she avidly welcomed I might add.
    I wouldn't called Dr. Lecter an anti-hero, no matter how much you romanticise him, he is still a murderous cannibal. But you can't deny that his attachment to Clarice is kind of sweet.

    A great book, the ending might not be for everybody, but like I say. Read Silence right before Hannibal and it makes more sense.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ** spoiler alert ** When I finished The Silence of the Lambs

    ** spoiler alert **

    When I finished The Silence of the Lambs I was so hoping that Starling would be a FBI agent well on her way to the top. In a perfect world, she would have been. However, "Hannibal" gives an all-too realistic and believable explanation of why she isn't. During the course of this book, her world collapses in on her and everything she has put her faith and trust in either abandons her (through circumstance or not) or completely turns on her.

    In SotL, Clarice was a young trainee who was aware of the things she would have to over-come once she actually made it out of training. However, in this book, she has becoming jaded by the reality of how much she's resented for her success and (it is at the very least implied) the fact that she had that success while being female.

    I actually enjoy the fact that, in the end, Clarice was left open to Hannibal's corruption because the world she valued so much had turned on her and basically left her with nothing to turn back to. I'm really a sucker for twisted versions of happy endings

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    Incredible

    It was the best book of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My Favorites...

    I read "Hannibal" over Christmas Vacation in two days, and I immediately proclaimed it as one of my favorites--and although I read (too) much, I have very few favorite books. I stayed up until 5AM the night between those two days reading it by the glow of Christmas lights. It drew me in and I simply could not put it down.<BR/>It is much better than the movie (which is still enjoyable in its own right), especially the ending. But if you want to know what that means, you'll have to read the book to find out.<BR/>Yes, it's a little gory, but nothing offensive. Another excellent thriller, "Battle Royale," was bloodier, if you want a comparison. At any rate, I figured that Krendler fellow had what was coming to him. (Read the book to find out what I mean by that.)<BR/>There's sort of a subliminal romantic twist to it too; not in the in-your-face/mushy/obnoxious style of the 90s version of the movie "Titanic" or those "Twilight" books, though. It was subtle and made the story more appealing.<BR/>I really don't want to give anything away, so I'll end my little review here. I do suggest you read it. You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    surely this is a joke.

    If, like me you,ve read and enjoyed Harris' two previous novels, don't rush out to get this one. All of the aspects that that made SOL and Reg Dragon grippping reads are missing here. What's wrong? Well, slooow plot, poorly defined characters (Starling starts well, but by the end of the book has become a totally vague personality), weak plot, improbable plot events ( eg man eating pigs - terrifying huh?) and a general lack of tension. The book also contains long passages of descriptive prose of Florence with historical and cultural musings at length. Also changes from third person narrator to first person and first person plural, all seemingly at random. If this isn't enought to bore you, then the last 50 pages or so where the plot goes into cuckoo land will finish you off. Imagine Dr Lecter as a caring benevolent gourmand?? You get the picture. The 'horror' in this book is simply not there, because the author has let the tension go and the reader is left feeling slightly sickened by the gruesome descrptive prose, but not scared because the situations are so obviuosly contrived. Why has Harris written such a bad book? Why did for example Stephen King give it such a rave review? Who knows. Actually who cares. I got my copy of this book for free and still feel I was ripped off. Don't go out there and pay for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    What happened to the ending?

    This book kept me interested until the end...are we really supposed to believe this? At least in a book I can put it down and think of something else, as a movie you see the people and what happens happens. I think the movie will be terrible if they don't change the ending and personally I will not be paying to see it and find out! HORRIBLE ENDING...DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    What's wrong with Thomas Harris?

    It seemed like it took Harris 10 years to write this follow-up to the very popular Silence of the Lambs and I think he tried too hard to repeat the success of its predecessor. The first 450 pages are just plain mediocre and have very little suspense. Clarice Starling is about the only character in the entire book that isn't nauseating and the ending is the worst I have ever read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    A Major Let-Down; Don't Bother!

    I was looking forward to reading Hannibal. I really enjoyed Red Dragon and Silence of the Lambs as both were exciting, well-paced, and terrifying. But then I bought this book, expecting the same quality. I was so wrong. Most of this was tedious and slow. Setting descriptions which could have been interesting were so overdone that they became unbearable, like walking through quicksand. Harris went back-and-forth between tenses with little regard to the readability. But the worst element of this novel was the incredible, unbelievable departure from character at the end. What was Harris thinking, or not thinking, when he 'penned' the last chapters? As someone who had invested some time into the main characters, I could *not* believe the story could take such a bizarre turn. Don't bother with Hannibal.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    Tuesdays With Morrie is a real inspiration!

    This is definitely one of the greatest, most moving books I have ever read. It applies to every person on earth. Once you read this book, you'll have learned life's lessons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    I thought this was the best book of the series----it is romance

    I thought this was the best book of the series----it is romance between two people I always thought that Yul Brynner would make a great Lector the best way to read this right after you read Silence of the lambs---it makes sense and shows that love can exist no matter what---- a person can love and be loved in return

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Having not read the previous 2 books (Red Dragon and the Silence

    Having not read the previous 2 books (Red Dragon and the Silence of the Lambs) I cannot compare the writings of the books, having said that watching the movie Silence of the Lambs gives me an idea of what happened in the previous book. 
    Well written but unfortunately predictable I won’t give away the plot as there are some people out there that may have not read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Great Book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Creepy

    Creepy, interesting and macabre. Great if you're intetested in a dark book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was absolutely incredible! It is every you would expec

    This book was absolutely incredible! It is every you would expect in a novel, especially thriller/horror. It is exceptionally well written, suspenseful, has characters you care about, thrills, chills, and just so much more. It continues right off from The Silence Of The Lambs (only seven years later, but it doesn't feel like it besides Clarice's gain in maturity) so you can follow on with what the characters are doing.

    The book has five parts; four in America, and one in Florence. In my opinion I felt the Florence part (Part II) was 6/5 stars. It isn't that it is better written, it is just that it had some sort of suspense or chase or action within every word. I read that whole part in three hours because I couldn't put it down.

    The ending was sort of surprise, but that's what made it that much better. I won't spoil it for those of you who haven't read the book yet but this book is a great read and I would recommend reading it. At first I was a little apprehensive due to many of the one, two, and three star reviews below me and everywhere on line, but in the end I discarded the comments and decided to try the novel for myself. I am glad I did! I definitely recommend this to anyone who read and like Red Dragon and The Silence Of The Lambs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    A must read!!!!

    One of my favorite books ever. The whole series is amazing!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thomas Harris, Hannibal

    Seven years have passed since Dr. Hannibal Lecter escaped from his prison for the criminally insane, the site of his conversations with FBI Agent Clarice Starling. He has never forgotten her. Nor has Mason Verger forgotten Hannibal Lecter. How could he, left utterly crippled, terribly disfigured from his much earlier confrontation with the doctor. Now Verger sees an opportunity to get to Lecter through Starling. If she can find him. Or if he can find her.

    Thomas Harris's Hannibal was a fantastic read. As the title suggests, this really isn't a story about Agent Starling, but about Lecter himself - his life, his early years, his incredible talents, and his enduring obsessions. The story is very engaging, in quite the same way that Red Dragon was - as a brilliant insight into a criminal mind. Yet even better written than Red Dragon with a literary style that does not inhibit the tension rising in the story, leading to the final great confrontation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    If you loved the movies or the first books this is a book for you!

    I watched the movie before buying the book and I must say they are to me very different from each other, but not in the bad way!
    ((Warning possible spoilers!))
    This book was thrilling and kept me on the edge of my seat. I loved watching Hannibal's love for Starling grow in such a twisted way and kinda wished there had been a family addition in the ending but this is a personal minor complaint on my part.
    overall I loved the book and it has made a happy addition to my small Hannibal collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite books of all time.

    I am a ten-minutes-here-or-there reader; this is the only book I have ever picked up and stayed awake all night long to read. I loved it. The ending will knock you out of your chair--and coincidentally, is nothing like the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not quite as good as Silence of the Lambs

    I first read Hannibal when it was initailly published and was not that impressed. I recently read it again and my opinion has changed quite a bit. It is fascinating to see into Dr. Lecter's psyche and begin to understand the origins of his psychosis. I won't spoil the ending if you haven't read it yet, but be prepared for a shocking twist. The most impressive thing about Hannibal is that it flipped my typical allegiance, and put the "evil" character in the position of the hero. I think that Harris should have stopped the Hannibal Lecter series with this book, as the followup, Hannibal Rising, was pretty weak. But, I think that he has an undeveloped storyline with Ardelia Mapp. I would love to read her story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hannibal

    Seven years have passed since Dr. Hannibal Lecter escaped from his prison for the criminally insane, the site of his conversations with FBI Agent Clarice Starling. He has never forgotten her. Nor has Mason Verger forgotten Hannibal Lecter. How could he, left utterly crippled, terribly disfigured from his much earlier confrontation with the doctor. Now Verger sees an opportunity to get to Lecter through Starling. If she can find him. Or if he can find her.
    Thomas Harris's Hannibal was a fantastic read. As the title suggests, this really isn't a story about Agent Starling, but about Lecter himself - his life, his early years, his incredible talents, and his enduring obsessions. The story is very engaging, in quite the same way that Red Dragon was - as a brilliant insight into a criminal mind. Yet even better written than Red Dragon with a literary style that does not inhibit the tension rising in the story, leading to the final great confrontation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15