Customer Reviews for

Hannibal (Hannibal Lecter Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My idea of romance

I love Thomas Harris, he is original and he comes up with the most orginal characters. I have been a fan since I watched silence of the lambs back when I was a tennager, and I have read his other books except for Black Sunday, soon though.

I am one of the people t...
I love Thomas Harris, he is original and he comes up with the most orginal characters. I have been a fan since I watched silence of the lambs back when I was a tennager, and I have read his other books except for Black Sunday, soon though.

I am one of the people that loves the book, start to finish, and I found the ending fitting for this couple. The tension that started with Silence of the Lambs, carried over perfectly. Some people think that Starling acted out of character, but if you read one book right after the other one, you can pick up the hints that Harris left regarding Starlings transformation.

The poor girl had a crappy life, her career with the FBI was destroyed the moment she found Jame Gumb, she gave her best years to the bureau and it got her nothing but the scorn of her male contemporaries and superiors. Being a girl, and an attractive one at that with a strong personality didn't help her either.

Dr Lecter took advantage of Starlings misfortunes to bring her over to the dark side, something she avidly welcomed I might add.
I wouldn't called Dr. Lecter an anti-hero, no matter how much you romanticise him, he is still a murderous cannibal. But you can't deny that his attachment to Clarice is kind of sweet.

A great book, the ending might not be for everybody, but like I say. Read Silence right before Hannibal and it makes more sense.

posted by Sadistprince-18 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What happened to the ending?

This book kept me interested until the end...are we really supposed to believe this? At least in a book I can put it down and think of something else, as a movie you see the people and what happens happens. I think the movie will be terrible if they don't change the e...
This book kept me interested until the end...are we really supposed to believe this? At least in a book I can put it down and think of something else, as a movie you see the people and what happens happens. I think the movie will be terrible if they don't change the ending and personally I will not be paying to see it and find out! HORRIBLE ENDING...DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    surely this is a joke.

    If, like me you,ve read and enjoyed Harris' two previous novels, don't rush out to get this one. All of the aspects that that made SOL and Reg Dragon grippping reads are missing here. What's wrong? Well, slooow plot, poorly defined characters (Starling starts well, but by the end of the book has become a totally vague personality), weak plot, improbable plot events ( eg man eating pigs - terrifying huh?) and a general lack of tension. The book also contains long passages of descriptive prose of Florence with historical and cultural musings at length. Also changes from third person narrator to first person and first person plural, all seemingly at random. If this isn't enought to bore you, then the last 50 pages or so where the plot goes into cuckoo land will finish you off. Imagine Dr Lecter as a caring benevolent gourmand?? You get the picture. The 'horror' in this book is simply not there, because the author has let the tension go and the reader is left feeling slightly sickened by the gruesome descrptive prose, but not scared because the situations are so obviuosly contrived. Why has Harris written such a bad book? Why did for example Stephen King give it such a rave review? Who knows. Actually who cares. I got my copy of this book for free and still feel I was ripped off. Don't go out there and pay for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    What's wrong with Thomas Harris?

    It seemed like it took Harris 10 years to write this follow-up to the very popular Silence of the Lambs and I think he tried too hard to repeat the success of its predecessor. The first 450 pages are just plain mediocre and have very little suspense. Clarice Starling is about the only character in the entire book that isn't nauseating and the ending is the worst I have ever read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    A Major Let-Down; Don't Bother!

    I was looking forward to reading Hannibal. I really enjoyed Red Dragon and Silence of the Lambs as both were exciting, well-paced, and terrifying. But then I bought this book, expecting the same quality. I was so wrong. Most of this was tedious and slow. Setting descriptions which could have been interesting were so overdone that they became unbearable, like walking through quicksand. Harris went back-and-forth between tenses with little regard to the readability. But the worst element of this novel was the incredible, unbelievable departure from character at the end. What was Harris thinking, or not thinking, when he 'penned' the last chapters? As someone who had invested some time into the main characters, I could *not* believe the story could take such a bizarre turn. Don't bother with Hannibal.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2003

    Not worth it

    The books red dragon and silence of the lambs are great but hannibal was a flop. Its long drawnout boring and rather stetchy. I'd just watch the movie, which isn't that great either but not as bad, if you want to finish the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT

    I can't believe that we waited this long for THIS to be the sequel to Red Dragon and Silence of the Lambs. Now I see why Jody Foster wanted nothing to do with this in movie form. Harris' characters were not only unlikable, but also unbelievable (including Clarice and Hannibal). Don't even get me started on the GARBAGE THAT HARRIS CALLED AN ENDING! I keep reading on these posts 'don't buy this book, borrow it from a friend.' I'll go one farther...DON'T EVEN BOTHER TO BORROW IT FROM A FRIEND!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    very disappointed

    I was very disappointed with Hannibal, I could not wait for it to come out but it started out slow and kept getting slower. I didnt like the way it kept on jumping from place to place and confusing you.you didnt know where it was or who was who.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2001

    Hannibal is garbage.

    This book was terrible. To Thomas Harris: if this is the best that you could come up with as a sequal to 'Red Dragon' and 'Silence of the Lambs', you really need to think about getting into another line of work. The first hunderd pages to the book were OK, but then it started to go downhill. FAST. You very successfully simplified Dr. Lector. You betrayed Clarice Starling. You could have done so much with the story of the pursuit of Dr. Lector, and you failed. The Florence story had potential, but then you quit writing, and just seemed to go after the gross-out. Next time you decide to put pen to paper, don't sacrifice the story to make the movie easier to write. ZERO stars for this travesty. NONE. NADDA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    The advantage of lowered expectations

    I wish I had known at the outset that this book is not up to Red Dragon and Silence of the Lambs standards; I might have enjoyed my reading experience more. As I settled into it, I gradually lowered my expectations of being caught up in the author's talent and craft (evidenced in earlier works) and became interested in only how the story line would resolve. Sentence fragmentation and the puzzling overuse of present tense was jarring and hamfisted. The ending - well, Harris missed by a mile (or a Roman nose:) ); it was flatly unconvincing, albeit shocking; on a purely personal sour note, it was disappointing. There were some powerful passages, and the story was interesting enough for my curiosity to drive me through to the end. One scene which I found surprisingly chilling was the description of the museum torture-items show, with the good doctor uninterested in the exhibits themselves but riveted on the crowd and its variety of visceral responses. In that passage, I imagined (felt?) the author's indictment of us readers of his books and viewers of the films. Which is probably fair. Evil tapped is evil unleashed, I think. In a word: monstrous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    I wish I could have my weekend back.......

    I just spent an entire weekend reading Hannibal and an empty feeling will remain with me unless the movie turns out better. Usually I don't argue with an author and his novel but Mr. Harris lost it at the end. Character betrayal is an understatement. I look forward to the movie, only out of optimism that the ending will be much different. Don't buy this book. Read someone else's copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Not good eating or reading

    This novel falls short of his previous works. Please, what kind of ending was this? This book is shallow and betrays the characters of Hannibal and Clarice. This is pure drivel. Don't buy it. Borrow it from a friend. It's not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    Sooooooo disappointed

    'Red Dragon' & 'Silence of the Lambs' were rivoting. 'Hanibal' was gorey for the sake of gore. Terrible ending. Jody Foster turned this one down for all of the right reasons...the Clarice of 'Silence' is not the same person in 'Hanibal'. Total character betrayal. See what you get when time and money, rather than passion and depth are the influences...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    Alone on the ledge

    I'm affraid that I found 'Hannibal' was a major dissapointment. The storyline, while at times intriguing, was not in keeping with the spirit of the original. The ending was, to put it simply, terrible. Should the story continue, I will have no interest in the outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2000

    waste of time

    The headline says it all. His first two books were awesome. He should have stopped while he was ahead. This book is definitely not a 'keeper' and/or one to recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2000

    Should have quit!

    Harris should have quit after the Red Dragon. I couldn't wait for Silence of the Lambs and was greatly dissapointed. Hannibal was a chore to get through. I'll read the Red Dragon again if I want a thrill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2000

    Not Good

    I was extremely disappointed in this book. It was very hard to read the pages that took place in Italy, with all the Pazzi of the Pazzi junk. I found myself skipping pages when the policeman's ancestry was discussed. Why was this included at all? I also hated the ending. I know sequels are hard to do because most readers have their own ideas of where the story should go, as with all of Larry McMurtry's other 'Lonesome Dove' novels. But this was an outright shame. I usually hate it when a movie doesn't follow the novel closely, but in this case, I sure hope the movie is nothing like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2000

    Hannibal a true dissapointment

    Hannibal, Thomas Harris' latest installment on the life of Hannibal Lecter, is first and foremost a dissapointment. I waited for months for my aunt to finish the book before I read it, and it was NOT worth the wait. The book is entirely too long, and parts of the plot (especially the parts that take place in Italy) drag on and on. Hoping for redemption at the end, I truged through the book. All was for not... the end of the book was dissapointing and enitrely unbelievable. I finished this book shaking my head and was severly dissapointed. It's such a shame, after reading 'Silence' and not being able to put it down, that I put 'Hannibal' down with such disdain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Burn baby burn...

    I have read this book in its entirety hoping that the good doctor, in the end, would be jailed as all psychotic killer that eat people should be. I purchase this book thinking it would be a good psychological thriller. I must say that it is, without a doubt, the most ignominious piece of garbage I have ever come across. It is a total insult to the poor tree that gave its life so that such vile .... could see life. How can anybody justify, in times when people shoot each other on freeways, making a hero of such a horrible character. I don¿t know if the author¿s goal was to disgust, but upon finishing the ¿book¿, I promptly proceeded to rip it to shreds, then burn it. I have always believed that burning a book was sacrilege, but in this case it is justified. Do not buy this book, it is long winded, self serving, and promotes the solving of violence through violence, very graphic violence. I know my review will be pulled quickly because it recommends the non-purchase as a way to protest, so please, if you read this, pass it along to your friends. Thank you¿

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    Don't bother.

    If you are a true fan of Hannibal Lecther, honor the character and leave this book alone. Pretend it was never written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    Cannibalize Hannibal

    What a disappointment. After waiting many years for this sequel, I found myself eagerly anticipating the end of the book, so I could move on to a better book. While I enjoy twists and turns, the turns Clarice Starling takes in this novel seem unrealistic based on her character, frankly, I would recommend moving to a new shelf.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2