Customer Reviews for

Hannibal (Hannibal Lecter Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 293 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My idea of romance

I love Thomas Harris, he is original and he comes up with the most orginal characters. I have been a fan since I watched silence of the lambs back when I was a tennager, and I have read his other books except for Black Sunday, soon though.

I am one of the people t...
I love Thomas Harris, he is original and he comes up with the most orginal characters. I have been a fan since I watched silence of the lambs back when I was a tennager, and I have read his other books except for Black Sunday, soon though.

I am one of the people that loves the book, start to finish, and I found the ending fitting for this couple. The tension that started with Silence of the Lambs, carried over perfectly. Some people think that Starling acted out of character, but if you read one book right after the other one, you can pick up the hints that Harris left regarding Starlings transformation.

The poor girl had a crappy life, her career with the FBI was destroyed the moment she found Jame Gumb, she gave her best years to the bureau and it got her nothing but the scorn of her male contemporaries and superiors. Being a girl, and an attractive one at that with a strong personality didn't help her either.

Dr Lecter took advantage of Starlings misfortunes to bring her over to the dark side, something she avidly welcomed I might add.
I wouldn't called Dr. Lecter an anti-hero, no matter how much you romanticise him, he is still a murderous cannibal. But you can't deny that his attachment to Clarice is kind of sweet.

A great book, the ending might not be for everybody, but like I say. Read Silence right before Hannibal and it makes more sense.

posted by Sadistprince-18 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What's wrong with Thomas Harris?

It seemed like it took Harris 10 years to write this follow-up to the very popular Silence of the Lambs and I think he tried too hard to repeat the success of its predecessor. The first 450 pages are just plain mediocre and have very little suspense. Clarice Starling is...
It seemed like it took Harris 10 years to write this follow-up to the very popular Silence of the Lambs and I think he tried too hard to repeat the success of its predecessor. The first 450 pages are just plain mediocre and have very little suspense. Clarice Starling is about the only character in the entire book that isn't nauseating and the ending is the worst I have ever read.

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    A Mind-Numbing Knockout!

    Hannibal Lecter is still out there, sending letters to his number-one favorite obsession, Clarice Starling. His hideout is overseas, where he's lying low, not drawing attention to himself, only killing when he feels it is necessary...that is, until a disgraced policeman recognizes him and spies a chance to redeem himself. Surreal, gruesome, and disturbing, Thomas Harris breaks all the rules with this shocking climax to the Hannibal series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2003

    OMG

    Harris does it again! The previous books had already scared me enough, and once again I had trouble getting to bed! To bad they ruined the ending in the movie... the ending is absolutely amazing. It's gut wrenching and a major thriller. The ending is not completely expected, but definitely not what we expected to happen either! My father (who dislikes reading) bought this book and read it twice... He probably would have read it again had I not taken it off his shelf! If you don't read this book, you're missing out on a whole lot, it's just as good as his previous books! Rock my socks Harris!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    OUT FREAKING STANDING

    THE BOOK WAS GREAT AND THE MOVIE WAS OUTSTANDING TOO! HARRIS IS ONE OF THE GREATEST HORROR WRITTERS EVER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    WOW

    This book was slammed by critics. I know why. They hate what Harris has done to Starling. I thought it was a very human ending. I enjoyed every bit of this novel. If it doesn't grab you from the beginning, then you'll disappoint yourself with the ending. If your a fan of the macabre, then this book comes highly recommended. I've read this book twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    The film would have been great if only it bore any relvance to the book

    2 be honest this is the only book of the thriology i have read, but if it is anything to go by the rest will be great. This book is a must read if only 2 debate its controversial ending whether u lik the conclution or not (i do). A must buy which i have found myself going back 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    A Masterpiece

    Author Thomas Harris has done it again.Hannible is an excellant book with the best characters ever made. This book is genious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    It's absolutley ingenius

    I read this book in three days and i absolutly fell in love with this spellbounding novel. I'm only 13 and i have requisted it to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Could NOT put it down!!

    I loved Silence of the Lambs (both the film and the movie) and Hannibal was just as wonderful! I picked it up on Saturday afternoon, and finished it Monday morning! Absolutely amazing details and twists. BUT definitely read this trilogy in order or you won't understand what's happening as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2002

    A brilliant book

    I loved Hannibal by Thomas Harris. It was by far one of the best books I've read. I can't believe the ending, although Harris is one of the best authors out there. I couldn't put it down and Thomas Harris puts so much education and references in his superb books. I can't tell you how great this book was. I recommend it to anyone who loves great writers and in depth character description. The Memory Palace deeply touched me and I find Thomas Harris out does himself each and every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2002

    Best of them All

    The final chilling chapter of the series is the best. Mr. Harris has made the long wait worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    Best Book Ever!!

    'Hannibal' was the book of my dreams! It was just as good, even better, than 'silence of the lambs' and the ending is the ending i have wanted to see since i first saw and read silence of the lambs. i was so stunned by the ending that all i could do was stare at the closed book in front of me! They definitely should NOT have changed it in the movie! I would highly, highly, HIGHLY reccomend this book. There isn't a dull moment, and it's just totally hypnotizing, you won't be able to put it down! It is easily my favorite book, and I can't wait for another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2002

    Brilliant is only the beginning

    Unbelievable. I saw Silence of the Lambs, then decided to read the book and its sequel. Silence was good, but Hannibal may possibly be the best book I've ever read, and I read a lot. I don't usually review anything, but I couldn't resist. This is not to be missed. Especially if you like twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    Delicious!

    If you have read The Silence of the Lambs, definatly do not miss Hannibal! This novel boasts myriads of twists and turns, touching and errie encounters with past friends and foes,and terrifying climaxes. And with its stunning knack for making your skin crawl, you cannot, must not miss Hannibal! The final chapter is the most shocking in all the history of literature! So buy it, go home, lock the doors, get a snack, and 'invite Hannibal Lecter into your mind...'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Wish to give it more.

    This book was one of the greatest i have ever read.It was sick and cool. Now I want to see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    this is a great book to read

    This book is really good because I think there is a lot of suspense in this book. You keep wondering whats going to happen until you finally get to the end. Another thing I like about this book is that it has a completely different ending than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2001

    A Satisfied LecterFan

    I was scared to read the novel or watch the movie because of 2 reasons. 1) I would be disappointed and lose my admiration for Dr. Lecter...2) I would get more deeply involve and love him so much more. So after months I bought the DVD...to be honest I liked it but hated the last 5 minutes of it, so a friend of mine told me the novel had a different ending so I read the novel and loved it, I would definitely wait another ten years for a novel like this one. Now I collect the different editions including translations. Thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2001

    My new favorite novel ever!!!

    This is easily my favorite book, passing others that until now I had held sacred. Thomas Harris may be the best writer of thrillers of our time. Despite what many others may say, I believe the ending was simply phenominal. Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    WOW

    This was one of the best novels I have ever read. I recommend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    Pick Up a Copy Now!!

    Oh my God!! This is Thomas Harris at his best. Hannibal goes deep into the mind of the infamous doctor, exploiting both his scarier side and a more gentle personality reserved especially for Clarice. Excellant writing, very descriptive, and I actually felt like I was watching this unfold with my very eyes. The last 100 pages kept me anticipating what would happen next (let's just say I read this book in about 4 hours!!). Never have I held my breath for so long! And the ending...well, I won't spoil anything, but it's what I expected would happen all along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2001

    It was really good!!!

    It was really really good!!! I liked it a lot because it was really good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7