BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hannibal Rising (Hannibal Lecter Series #4)

Average Rating 3.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A revelation.

For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning....
For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning.

posted by 10090273 on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Facts missing

Did anyone notice Thomas Harris did not mention Hannibal's six-fingered hand in Hannibal Rising? I would think growing up with such a weird disfigurement would have been mentioned?

posted by Anonymous on March 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    A revelation.

    For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Facts missing

    Did anyone notice Thomas Harris did not mention Hannibal's six-fingered hand in Hannibal Rising? I would think growing up with such a weird disfigurement would have been mentioned?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Aboslutly MUST READ AGAIN!!

    Hannibal Lecter is my favorite killer of all time...From watching the movie, to reading the book, just makes me love him that much more! To me Hannibal is just this character that moves me. His sophistication and high education, yet the way he looks into your soul, make you think..Whats going on in his head? This book explains that very question...Hannibal Lecter is my personal hero! MUST READ. THEN MUST READ AGAIN!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Great read

    Tied up the loose ends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    Stupid

    This book was a waste of time. I really want my money back. The author needs to hang it up. I will never read another of his books. What a ripoff!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hannibal Drowning

    Reading this book made me feel like this book didn't want to be written. It didn't have the same feel as Red Dragon, and especially Silence of the Lambs. It actually felt like a made up story. You know sometimes when reading a good book, you forget it's a story, you care about what happens? Not so with this book. It felt like the author didn't care what happened, like he was making it up as he went along. I only read it to complete the "series". I just started reading Hannibal, and it's like it was written by someone else entirely. So anyways, read it if you want, but it's really not very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not his best

    This was not Harris's best work, he should have quit while he was ahead with "Hannibal". I did want to see what happened to Dr. Lecter but not what his child hood was like! The director should not have forced Harris to write another book. Instead of raking in the cash and redefining the Hannibal series he basically insured new people that Harris could not write a decent book. Harris should have just let this director to land flat on his face with a terrible movie. But the director just had to drag Harris down into the muck with him. This book should never have been made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Hannibal the Unforgivably Dull Cannibal

    This fourth entry into the 'Hannibal Lecter' series (even though he is just a supporting character in the first two entries, 'Red Dragon' and 'The Silence of the Lambs') tells the story of Lecter's childhood and the events that transpired to turn him into a notorious serial killer. Good idea, bad execution. The biggest problem is the boring story, which takes far too long to get started and never really pays off. Hannibal as a young man is subjected to various atrocities during the WWII Nazi occupation of his home country of Lithuania, and he spends the rest of the story exacting his revenge. At the end, we still aren't sure why Hannibal will eventually become a violent, dangerous serial killer, although we do feel sorry for him. Pity, unfortunately, is a far cry from terror, which is what we really want. Hannibal is the villian we love to fear, and the last two books have too much defanged the 'Hannibal the Cannibal' mythos that served the series so well. Author Thomas Harris seems bored with the characters and the story -- it is said that Harris was forced to write this book (and the screenplay for the movie) at the demands of producer Dino De Laurentis, who owns the movie rights to Hannibal Lector and claims that he would have made a movie about Lector's origin with or without Harris' help. the world of Hannibal is losing its luster -- it might be time for Harris to move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    Best Hannibal Book

    I loved this book and I think he should write one more about the younger Hannibal. I'd like to know the other things he did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I consider myself a big Hannibal fan. Read all the books, seen all the movies. Although I found how Hannibal came to be quite interesting, this book disappointed me. After reading the first 3 books, this one just couldnt hold up. Its OK at best. It just made me ask, what happened when TH wrote this one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book...

    This book was excellent. I don't understand why people are rating it so low. The book answers questions as to why Hannibal is the way he is. The interesting part about this book is that Hannibal plays the role of the hero, avenging the death of his sister. Read this book...it is worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    The only thing worse than meeting Hannibal Lecter in a dark alley is the mind numbing torture of reading this edition of the Thomas Harris series. Lacking the gritty suspense of the precursors, Hannibal is at best meandering and pointless, and at worst, horridly dull. Hannibal is evidence of what happens when a writer gets an advance that serves as his only inspiration. Not even qualified for a good summer pool read, the only accomplishment of Hannibal is that fans of Thomas Harris and his evil anti-hero will cry 'no more!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    awesome!

    i think its awesome! it shows saddness, grossness,happiness,and anger or revenge. it makes you think whats going to happen next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    Recommended Junk Food Reading

    Fun, fast read. Enjoy, don't worry so much about the others and comparisons. This is a fun book period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Bon app├ętit

    I consider HANNIBAL RISING to be an exquisite piece of literature, perfect for those who search passionately for the ever illusive answer to the riddle that plagues us about the actions of our fellow man: why? This novel tells the story of Hannibal Lecter¿s early existence and attempts to explain the creation of the man behind the cannibal. It provides a glimpse into the mind of a genius and delves deep into the soul of a monster not born but fashioned by the evils that surround him in his early life and engulf him in his later years. Though no amount of writing could truly quench the thirst for knowledge concerning the enigma of one tormented mind¿s actions, I feel HANNIBAL RISING does well by providing the reader passage through the intricacies of a heart plagued by demons. I highly recommend this intriguing novel and hope it will satisfy your taste for elegance and excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Answers a lot of questions

    I was interested in Hannibals' young life. What happened to his family answered a lot of questions for me as to Hannibals' mental makeup. I thought the book lost some credibility as Mr. Harris got lost in a wild goose chase of Hannibal looking for his families murderers. I found the scenario quite unrealistic. I think that Hannibal should have been apprehended by the Inspector, instead of the (all understanding) Inspector leaving Hannibal free to murder at will. The Inspector has a crush on Lady Murasaki and some sick identification with Hannibal. I give the book passing grades only because Mr. Harris answered my questions in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    one of the best books iv read in such a long time this book reads like true crime

    i read this book is a mer 2 days very good read i saw the movie first before i read the book the movie did justice to the book i say the actor they choose to play hannibal lecter this time was following actor anthony hopkins thats what makes this book/movie sooo good and soo a very good book to read plus if you are just getting into the hannibal lecter series i suggest you get into these 3 books hannibal,silence of the lambs, or red dragon all by thomas harris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    I love Hannibal Lecter even more.

    Hannibal Lecter has always interested me in many different ways. This book has captured my interest in him more. I don't know why people think Red Dragon is better it doesn't talk about Hannibal that much. Hannibal Rising had exactly what I expected. I disagree with the person who said it was too detailed, because in a prequel it's supposed to explain the cause of why something happened. I have a feeling Thomas Harris may come out with another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    This is a great book, I too can't wait for the next. I think I had this entire book read in about 1 day. My only problem with it was that it ended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    An Appropriate Prequel

    I've heard a lot of people complain that this book reduces Dr. Lecter to nothing more than a psychological case. What they don't understand is that the events in the book do not shape him into his madness, as he is truly born with hereditary sociopathic tendencies ('Our family, we are somewhat unusual people' Dr. Lecter's uncle tells him). What this tragic childhood does instead is provide him with the perspective to mold his superego in the way he pleases, which offers an exercise in his brilliance, establishing his modus operandi of preying on the rude. The book explains quite a bit about Hannibal's personality and peculiarities: His genius, the construction and refinement of his memory palace, aristocratic tastes, possibly his tolerance to sodium pentothal (mentioned in Red Dragon), knowledge of human anatomy, artistic talent, symbolic practice in cannibalism, attraction to assertive, intelligent women (A la Clarice). It also diagnoses him as a true sociopath, but seperates him from a reckless antisocial personality because of his immense self-control: lawless, impulsive, aggressive, lacking remorse, deceitful, with rabid temper- But never unstable. The book has a profound historical framing and mostly nostalgic, sensory shaping of Hannibal's character, so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who has just seen the movies. If you're a Hannibal fan and enjoy the books as I do, then you'll find this a quick and haunting read. If you haven't read the other books, try them before you pick this one up. The extra context will make it more enjoyable. Harris does take a different approach to this title, and at times (but not too often) it reads like a history textbook, but anybody interested in Dr. Lecter's background and development will most likely be satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8