Customer Reviews for

Hannibal Rising (Hannibal Lecter Series #4)

Average Rating 3.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A revelation.

For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning....
For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning.

posted by 10090273 on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Facts missing

Did anyone notice Thomas Harris did not mention Hannibal's six-fingered hand in Hannibal Rising? I would think growing up with such a weird disfigurement would have been mentioned?

posted by Anonymous on March 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    Stupid

    This book was a waste of time. I really want my money back. The author needs to hang it up. I will never read another of his books. What a ripoff!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not his best

    This was not Harris's best work, he should have quit while he was ahead with "Hannibal". I did want to see what happened to Dr. Lecter but not what his child hood was like! The director should not have forced Harris to write another book. Instead of raking in the cash and redefining the Hannibal series he basically insured new people that Harris could not write a decent book. Harris should have just let this director to land flat on his face with a terrible movie. But the director just had to drag Harris down into the muck with him. This book should never have been made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    The only thing worse than meeting Hannibal Lecter in a dark alley is the mind numbing torture of reading this edition of the Thomas Harris series. Lacking the gritty suspense of the precursors, Hannibal is at best meandering and pointless, and at worst, horridly dull. Hannibal is evidence of what happens when a writer gets an advance that serves as his only inspiration. Not even qualified for a good summer pool read, the only accomplishment of Hannibal is that fans of Thomas Harris and his evil anti-hero will cry 'no more!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    The worst book I have ever read....

    Don't buy the book, just borrow it from the library. It was too detailed when it did not need to be and incredibly boring. What a shame. I thought this would have been the best of all of them...wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Lacks even a hint of the Psychological Insight that made three of the other four books so enthralling. I feel cheated. I only read it to the end because 'Hanibal' came through in the last few chapters, upgrading it from Mediocre to exceptional. I get the impression Thomas isn¿t even trying any more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    What A Waste of Ink!

    This was a very quick read as the story lacked any real depth--particularly when compared to the stories about the adult Hannibal. I found it immensely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    harris the horrible

    this book was so insanely disappointing. i had a really hard time finishing it. i don't even know what the hell he was trying to do with this book, it seems like he has all these subplots going on, its just very hard to follow and boring. as much as i don't usually look forward to movies that are made from books because the books are generally better, the movie couldn't possible suck this bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Who wrote this???

    Almost unreadable. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    Hannibal Rising

    A poor attempt, at best. Very strange.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2006

    Hannibal FALLING

    Nothing compares to Red Dragon and Silence of the Lambs. And that includes sequels by Harris himself. 'Hannibal' was absolute trash and 'Hannibal Rising' is more of the same, if not worse. I think Harris is interested in MONEY rather than a great book. Fortunately, I grabbed both books from the library and must confess I put both of them down well before finishing. Both books are not worthy of your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    truly disappointing

    I was anxious to purchase & read this book. What a waste of money! This book was boring! Silence of the lambs it is not. If you MUST read this book, go the the library & save yourself some money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    A HUGE Disappointment

    This is what is known as a contactual obligation product. It is time for Mr. Harris to leave Hannibal Lector behind. Completely radioed in, it's almost like he poured his earlier novels in a plot generator and this is what came out. I promise you that by 50 pages into this mess, you'll suspect that you've been had. By 100 pages, you'll want your money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1