Customer Reviews for

Hannibal Rising (Hannibal Lecter Series #4)

Average Rating 3.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A revelation.

For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning....
For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning.

posted by 10090273 on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Facts missing

Did anyone notice Thomas Harris did not mention Hannibal's six-fingered hand in Hannibal Rising? I would think growing up with such a weird disfigurement would have been mentioned?

posted by Anonymous on March 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Facts missing

    Did anyone notice Thomas Harris did not mention Hannibal's six-fingered hand in Hannibal Rising? I would think growing up with such a weird disfigurement would have been mentioned?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2015

    Desperate story

    I bought this book thinking it was the first one in the series, and well no... as you all might know and what I learned is that this is the last one. Is has some pretty good naration parts but the story seemed too forced. I barely started enjoying it after chapter forty two (it has sixty chapters).
    I look foward in checking out Red Dragon, Silence of the Lambs and Hannibal, because I'm almost sure there better than this one. It honestly felt quite desperate, but the ending part was a relief in compare with the rest of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I consider myself a big Hannibal fan. Read all the books, seen all the movies. Although I found how Hannibal came to be quite interesting, this book disappointed me. After reading the first 3 books, this one just couldnt hold up. Its OK at best. It just made me ask, what happened when TH wrote this one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Answers a lot of questions

    I was interested in Hannibals' young life. What happened to his family answered a lot of questions for me as to Hannibals' mental makeup. I thought the book lost some credibility as Mr. Harris got lost in a wild goose chase of Hannibal looking for his families murderers. I found the scenario quite unrealistic. I think that Hannibal should have been apprehended by the Inspector, instead of the (all understanding) Inspector leaving Hannibal free to murder at will. The Inspector has a crush on Lady Murasaki and some sick identification with Hannibal. I give the book passing grades only because Mr. Harris answered my questions in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    let dr lechter enjoy his retirement

    I greatly enjoyed both Silence and Red Dragon. Hannibal I enjoyed except for the ending. Rising has some good stuff in it, but not enough. There is probably enough of the good doctors life left for one or two more novels, but leave him to his retirement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    NOT HIS BEST!

    This was definitly not Thomas Harris best work. Some parts keep you reading, other parts seem to drag on forever. I really enjoyed Red Dragon, Silence Of The Lambs, and Hannibal, but this just didn't take you anywhere. I was really dissapointed in this book. I't an okay read, but don't expect to much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Hannibal Falling Flat in First Part but Rises in Second

    I have read all of this series. Definitely different than the others by lacking the suspense which made the others so far more interesting. This book was hard to get through at the beginning. The flow of the dialogue was a bit forced, and was not considered easy to read, however the book definitely picked up in the second half. After finishing the book I was glad that the second part offset the first. Although Hannibal Lecter is a monsterous villian, you could not help but feel slightly sorry him. He did not choose his path completely on his own, he certainly was helped by men as evil as himself. The best part to me was to realize Hannibal Lecter actual did love someone at one point. Do not buy this book thinking Silence of the Lambs or Red Dragon, but rather a synopsis of Hannibal Lecter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to his usual high standards

    His father was Count Lecter and with his wife and their children lived in the family castle in Lithuania their idyllic life ended when Hitler¿s troops swept through the land. Hannibal¿s family moved into their hunting lodge while Quislings served the Nazis who took over the castle and the estate while looting the treasures. For five years the Lector family barely survived on whatever they could hunt, fish, or scrounge. In 1945, Hannibal watched his parents die in a bombing raid.------------- Hannibal and his beloved sister Mischa, who adored her older brother, camped at the lodge. When she is also killed in a horrific way, he blocked it from his mind and became mute. He eventually returned to his family castle which had become a state run orphanage until his uncle takes him to France. There Hannibal and his uncle¿s wife Lady Muraski connect on a primal level. When a Vichy shopkeeper insults his ¿aunt¿, Hannibal kills him as he begins to remember what happened to Mischa and how he will avenge her death.----------------- Hannibal¿s brilliance is demonstrated at an early age and it is that coupled with the personal horrors of war that torment him and turn him into the FBI number one most wanted. While hating the man he becomes, readers will as always be fascinated in a macabre way with him as he deals with one constant trauma after another. However, in spite of the allure that Lecter possesses in this prequel, HANNIBAL RISING is not quite at the level of excellence Thomas Harris has achieved with this character¿s books mainly because the support cast, key in the other tales, seem one dimensional mostly evil with none behaving remotely heroic. Still fans of RED DRAGON and THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS will enjoy learning how mankind created the monster.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    Interesting for a lay person, maybe not for a devotee

    If new to the series, the novel is engaging enough. Indeed, I found myself reading it in one sitting. That I suppose, is an indication of my level of interest in the series more than its gripping nature. The plot, however, is fairly opaque, needing only a few pages to lead the reader to guess where it is headed. One of the most irksome qualities is it's fragmentary prose that takes a bit of getting use to. Maybe not one of Harris' best efforts, but still for some fans it is quite easy to root for the hero in the book and watch his birth, if not evolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    A reviewer

    An interesting enough diversion for a rainy afternoon. Fluffy. Just what I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Missing excitement

    I Loved all of the Hannibal books and went out and bought this book the day it came out. I thought it as an okay read that filled in details about Hannibals's becoming, but that was about it. There really was no suspense to this book at all. If you haven't read any of the other Hannibal books, I suggest you don't read this one first. A lot of this book will not make any sense to a new Hannibal Reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    HANNIBAL DESERVES TO DIE

    Ever notice how many 'Son Of.....' or 'Return Of.....' titles don't have the depth, the surprise, the impact of the original? In this case, for this listener, Hannibal Rising also lacks the shock value. Don't misunderstand, I well realize my comments are limited to the audio edition, and the author does an admirable job of narrating. He reads with understanding and appropriate emphasis, of course. Yet his voice is missing the sinister quality that Anthony Hopkins so easily assumed. Nonetheless, it would take more than an Oscar winning performer to turn Hannibal Rising into as compelling a tale as Silence of the Lambs. However, Lecter fans will enjoy learning of Hannibal's boyhood and what psychological aberrations drove him to commit the unspeakable. Those who have followed him through Red Dragon, Silence of the Lambs and Hannibal will no doubt continue to be intrigued by one of the most heinous villains in literature. Thomas Harris is a terrific writer, painting word pictures as few others do. To wit, this description of the boy Hannibal reacting after seeing his mother and others gunned down: 'Darkness, and snow again. Hannibal among the corpses, how much later he did not know, snow drifting down to dust his mother's eyelashes and her hair. She was the only corpse not blackened and crisped. Hannibal tugged at her, but her body was frozen to the ground. He pressed his face against her. Her bosom was frozen hard, her heart silent.' Following this tragedy young Hannibal is relegated to a Soviet orphanage where he is later found by his uncle who takes him to France. His aunt, Lady Murasaki, is a nurturer and with her help Hannibal enters medical school. What might have been a brilliant future is compromised by the carnage he has experienced. He is unable to escape a past that haunts him, torments him, and renders him demonic. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    NEED MORE!!!!

    This book would have been a good part one for a much bigger book that Mr. Harris should have written. We are left contemplating how much more could have been added at the end of the book, where Hannibal did not even reach America. There is about a 25-30 year gap between the end of this book and Red Dragon, and we need that gap filled!! Hannibal's origin, upbringing and revenge are all fine and entertaining, but only a small piece of what should have been. Hopefully, there is another book to tell us more and to get us to the Hannibal we know and love. Harris is too good an author to leave it at this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2