Customer Reviews for

Hannibal Rising (Hannibal Lecter Series #4)

Average Rating 3.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A revelation.

For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning....
For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning.

posted by 10090273 on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Facts missing

Did anyone notice Thomas Harris did not mention Hannibal's six-fingered hand in Hannibal Rising? I would think growing up with such a weird disfigurement would have been mentioned?

posted by Anonymous on March 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    A revelation.

    For quite some time, i have been incredibly fascinated with the character Hannibal Lecter. This sacred literature has proven to be a chilling revelation to his past and i enjoyed every sentence. i recommend it for anyone who enjoys the mystery of a murderer's reasoning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Aboslutly MUST READ AGAIN!!

    Hannibal Lecter is my favorite killer of all time...From watching the movie, to reading the book, just makes me love him that much more! To me Hannibal is just this character that moves me. His sophistication and high education, yet the way he looks into your soul, make you think..Whats going on in his head? This book explains that very question...Hannibal Lecter is my personal hero! MUST READ. THEN MUST READ AGAIN!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Great read

    Tied up the loose ends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    Best Hannibal Book

    I loved this book and I think he should write one more about the younger Hannibal. I'd like to know the other things he did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book...

    This book was excellent. I don't understand why people are rating it so low. The book answers questions as to why Hannibal is the way he is. The interesting part about this book is that Hannibal plays the role of the hero, avenging the death of his sister. Read this book...it is worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    awesome!

    i think its awesome! it shows saddness, grossness,happiness,and anger or revenge. it makes you think whats going to happen next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Bon app├ętit

    I consider HANNIBAL RISING to be an exquisite piece of literature, perfect for those who search passionately for the ever illusive answer to the riddle that plagues us about the actions of our fellow man: why? This novel tells the story of Hannibal Lecter¿s early existence and attempts to explain the creation of the man behind the cannibal. It provides a glimpse into the mind of a genius and delves deep into the soul of a monster not born but fashioned by the evils that surround him in his early life and engulf him in his later years. Though no amount of writing could truly quench the thirst for knowledge concerning the enigma of one tormented mind¿s actions, I feel HANNIBAL RISING does well by providing the reader passage through the intricacies of a heart plagued by demons. I highly recommend this intriguing novel and hope it will satisfy your taste for elegance and excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    one of the best books iv read in such a long time this book reads like true crime

    i read this book is a mer 2 days very good read i saw the movie first before i read the book the movie did justice to the book i say the actor they choose to play hannibal lecter this time was following actor anthony hopkins thats what makes this book/movie sooo good and soo a very good book to read plus if you are just getting into the hannibal lecter series i suggest you get into these 3 books hannibal,silence of the lambs, or red dragon all by thomas harris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    I love Hannibal Lecter even more.

    Hannibal Lecter has always interested me in many different ways. This book has captured my interest in him more. I don't know why people think Red Dragon is better it doesn't talk about Hannibal that much. Hannibal Rising had exactly what I expected. I disagree with the person who said it was too detailed, because in a prequel it's supposed to explain the cause of why something happened. I have a feeling Thomas Harris may come out with another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    This is a great book, I too can't wait for the next. I think I had this entire book read in about 1 day. My only problem with it was that it ended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    TAKE TIME TO UNDERSTAND!

    I would have to agree with the another reviewer Mike. This is a book that is worth taking your time on. Read it slowly and you will find it wonderful and intriguing. Harris did much research to bring this book to life. I have read all four in the series and this book really pulls it all thogether.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    I'm in Heaven! Or is it Lithuania?

    No, it's not precisely like the 3 Lecter predecessors ... it stands quite well on its own. This book brought back the visceral thrill that stayed with me for days after reading HANNIBAL. Harris knows this character and makes an excellent 3rd-party introduction. I have a feeling there may be a followup, and can't wait (though I'll obviously have to, since Harris isn't known to crank 'em out like some other authors). When a book can move me after decades of heavy reading, the author has done his job. I'm encouraged that Harris was involved in the screenplay for the upcoming film, so hopefully, I'll also have the one-two punch of anticipation again, a la HANNIBAL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Great Book-Even better movie

    I really can't understand all the negative reviews this book has received on this website. I felt the book was extremely poinant in terms of how Hannible lost his family, especially his beloved sister, Misha. The movie is excellant! A real hotty plays Hannibal as a young man, and does a superb job at it as well. Anthony Hopkins is truly a hard act to follow, but this actor does a remamarkable, believable job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    What a great read!

    I personally could not put this book down. I watched silence of the lambs which made me interested in this book. I really enjoyed it and plan to read the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    A great book

    it took me 3 days to finish this book and was well worth it. This book lacks some suspense that harris's other books offered. all in all it was an excellent book that i will recomend to all my friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Could not put the book down until I was finished

    I have loved every book Thomas Harris has written. This one was certainly no disappointment. I was rooting for Hannibal the whole way through the book. It will make a great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3