Customer Reviews for

Happens Every Day: An All-Too-True Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sad and touching but rewarding to read

You feel like an intruder to one of the most intimate parts of a person's life: their divorce. Its touching in the way that the author can admit that she had a part in the dissolving of her marriage. She doesn't demonize the man who left her and their sons. She just tel...
You feel like an intruder to one of the most intimate parts of a person's life: their divorce. Its touching in the way that the author can admit that she had a part in the dissolving of her marriage. She doesn't demonize the man who left her and their sons. She just tells it like she experienced it. Honest and beautiful.

posted by geekymcbooklover on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gut Wrenching Depiction of the Demise of a Marriage

Isabel Gillies chronicles in absorbing detail the unraveling of her "perfect" marriage and life. As she struggles to reconcile the idea of her perfect life to the reality of it, she endures many soul crushing moments but soldiers on at times bravely and at other times w...
Isabel Gillies chronicles in absorbing detail the unraveling of her "perfect" marriage and life. As she struggles to reconcile the idea of her perfect life to the reality of it, she endures many soul crushing moments but soldiers on at times bravely and at other times with a blind eye to the reality of her situation. The title of the book says it all. Infidelity and divorce happen everyday but when it happens to you, it is a lonely, desperate, isolating experience. Isabel nails the experience dead on.

posted by Karen-LeBlanc on May 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gut Wrenching Depiction of the Demise of a Marriage

    Isabel Gillies chronicles in absorbing detail the unraveling of her "perfect" marriage and life. As she struggles to reconcile the idea of her perfect life to the reality of it, she endures many soul crushing moments but soldiers on at times bravely and at other times with a blind eye to the reality of her situation. The title of the book says it all. Infidelity and divorce happen everyday but when it happens to you, it is a lonely, desperate, isolating experience. Isabel nails the experience dead on.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Okay I didn't like "Sylvia"..then.....

    at the end I discovered you actually are friends now. What a bust I read this whole book where I too started to dislike the women who doesn't know how to respect another women's family...then after reading without putting down, only to find at the end you and "Sylvia" are best buddies felt like somewhat had just SLAPPED me...I am tearing that page out before I lend it to my friends....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    Easy Read but somewhat disturbing to me personally

    I bought the book on a whim when I read what it was about and it was based in Ohio (near where I live). I have been through the first bad marriage with indiscretions..and happily into my 2nd and final marriage. For some reason while it was an easy read, it actually disturbed me in the way she comes across as knowing what is up and not dealing with it. While I believe the husband is at fault not the woman (Sylvia) I think I would have had to say something sooner and while I wouldn't waste my time being angry and getting revenge (publishing a book took care of that) I also wouldn't waste my time being "friends", necessary acquaintances is necessary because of the kids, but the term friend wouldn't cross my lips.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Response to SophiaGirl/Thoughts about the book

    SophiaGirl, I don't necessarily disagree with your overall impression of the book, but I do disagree with the following: When she meet her husband he was married, so why would any of this be a shock to her...You'd think women would read her story and learn something, the "warning signs", like he left his first wife for you!" You have your facts wrong. "Josiah" (apparently not his real name) did leave his first wife for another woman, but it was not Isabel. He was already divorced when he and Isabel reconnected. I believe, but am not certain, that he was not still seeing this other woman by then, although Isabel does state that the woman persisted in intruding into their lives well into their own marriage and that "Josiah" did not understand why this made her uncomfortable. (Hello? That might also have been one of those warning signs you mentioned.)

    I found this book slow and repetitive, and by the end, I was impatient for it to be over. I was surprised and disappointed to discover that the entire book but for the last few pages/minutes (I am listening to the audio version) is about every little detail leading up to the divorce and almost nothing on how she moved on from there. I would have found it more interesting and inspiring had she spent more time on the aftermath and what helped get her through the worst of it. I also agree with another poster that I suspect that there may have been issues she is either unwilling to put into print (and/or perhaps still has not admitted to herself), either about her marriage or about "Josiah" and his treatment of her. That being said, I admire her decision not to be bitter and angry at a man who blindsided her and left her for another woman, all the while refusing to admit his reasons to her or make an honest effort to resolve their issues. I could not have been so forgiving in her place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    It Does Happen Everyday

    The title says it all. Relationships end every day for a number of reasons. Some as simple as "I'm not in love with you anymore. This book helped me to see a marriage dissolving from both the husband and the wifes side due to her very detailed writing on her thoughts. Honestly she drove me nuts with her wanting to have what looked like the perfect family to everyone. I felt somewhat sorry for her spouse.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1