Customer Reviews for

Happens Every Day: An All-Too-True Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sad and touching but rewarding to read

You feel like an intruder to one of the most intimate parts of a person's life: their divorce. Its touching in the way that the author can admit that she had a part in the dissolving of her marriage. She doesn't demonize the man who left her and their sons. She just tel...
You feel like an intruder to one of the most intimate parts of a person's life: their divorce. Its touching in the way that the author can admit that she had a part in the dissolving of her marriage. She doesn't demonize the man who left her and their sons. She just tells it like she experienced it. Honest and beautiful.

posted by geekymcbooklover on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gut Wrenching Depiction of the Demise of a Marriage

Isabel Gillies chronicles in absorbing detail the unraveling of her "perfect" marriage and life. As she struggles to reconcile the idea of her perfect life to the reality of it, she endures many soul crushing moments but soldiers on at times bravely and at other times w...
Isabel Gillies chronicles in absorbing detail the unraveling of her "perfect" marriage and life. As she struggles to reconcile the idea of her perfect life to the reality of it, she endures many soul crushing moments but soldiers on at times bravely and at other times with a blind eye to the reality of her situation. The title of the book says it all. Infidelity and divorce happen everyday but when it happens to you, it is a lonely, desperate, isolating experience. Isabel nails the experience dead on.

posted by Karen-LeBlanc on May 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    A compelling one night read.

    This book was hard to put down. Some of the novice writer elements were mildly annoying, but overall, the conversational tone and pace were excellent and absorbing. I just could not stop reading it. Ms. Gillies has a good eye for her own foibles, life's meaningful small details and her marriage's minor pre-breakup strains, and she affectingly describes her humbling efforts to keep it all together. While I could not shake my own feeling of being pissed off at her pathetic 'friend' and her uncommunicative husband, and my worry that she lowered herself to bear the brunt of the whole thing, I am glad for her that she feels at peace with their complicated relationship today. She is a better person than I fear I'd be.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    My reaction... Insightful, well-written, but still a very easy r

    My reaction... Insightful, well-written, but still a very easy read. A lot of honesty - the kind that comes with personal growth. Read it. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Great book!

    I just bought this without really looking, so I didn't realize it was a memoir until a couple pages in. While some say her writing style is disjointed, I loved it because she writes how I think. So it made me feel like I was just talking to a friend and hearing about her situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Happens Every Day by Isabel Gillies - Review

    Isabel Gillies offers an inspirational and moving account of what happened to her when her life fell apart. As a reader you find your heart going out to her and her sons and you can only wonder how she survived the heartache. In the end you will find yourself inspired by her resiliency and in awe of her lack of self pity. The sad reality Isabel highlights is that heartache happens every day, relationships fall apart every day but it is not every day that you find a woman surviving the way she did with her spirit and bravery - and that is the beauty of this book. If you are looking for strength and a testimony of someone surviving heartache look no farther than this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Like a Chat with a Friend

    I first saw "Happens Every Day: An All-Too-True Story" by Isabel Gillies at Starbucks and considering the fact that I've loved every "Starbucks book" I ever picked up, this one went on my to-read list as well.

    For the fans of Law & Order: SVU - Isabel Gillies had a recurring role on the show playing Kathy Stabler. While at a wedding, Gillies reconnects with her childhood friend Josiah (I believe that's a pseudonym), and the two initiate a relationship and eventually get married. Moving around to accommodate Josiah's job as a college professor, the couple eventually winds up in Oberlin, Ohio with their two young boys. Worlds away from the hustle and bustle of New York City, Gillies nevertheless builds a life for herself and her family in the quiet town. They buy and renovate a house, make friends, and Gillies even begins teaching acting at the college. All of a sudden, Josiah announces that he's leaving Isabel and their two sons, and that he just "can't do it" anymore.

    Gillies is desperate to save her marriage, but Josiah has checked out with no desire to work on their relationship. No amount of tears, pleading, and inquiries from friends and family can change his mind. Gillies suspects that Josiah is involved with his colleague Sylvia, but often ignores her intuition when both Josiah and Sylvia insist that they are just friends. In perhaps the most heart-wrenching bit of the story, Josiah makes Gillies apologize to the other woman for insinuating that they are having an affair. What a way to displace his own guilt!

    Reading "Happens Every Day" was like sneaking a peak at someone's diary; Gillies left out nothing in describing the nitty gritty details of her marriage and subsequent divorce. The result is a heart-wrenching story that made me want to reach out and tell Gillies, "Oh no! Don't do that!", only to realize that I'd probably do the same thing given the situation. In the end though, Gillies' story is one of survival, hope, and happy endings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1