Customer Reviews for

Happiness Sold Separately

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

People Watching in Silicon Valley

This book was, very much like her first one 'Good Grief,' a page turner. I can go on and on about how Ms Winston works life's most intimate details into her charaters and fleshes them out till you actually believe these charaters are absolutely living and breating, but...
This book was, very much like her first one 'Good Grief,' a page turner. I can go on and on about how Ms Winston works life's most intimate details into her charaters and fleshes them out till you actually believe these charaters are absolutely living and breating, but I will not waste your time with that. Instead, I will simply say that 'Happiness Sold Separately' is one of the best character studies that i have read in some time. This was a very good and interesting book, if you have some time on your hands then curl up and read away. You will not be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on September 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

still unsure, but i couldnt stop reading....

This book wasnt my favorite book in the world but for some reason I couldnt put it down, I just wanted to find out what happened. There was always something interesting going on to grab my attention and if your going through a crap marraige or your husband cheated on yo...
This book wasnt my favorite book in the world but for some reason I couldnt put it down, I just wanted to find out what happened. There was always something interesting going on to grab my attention and if your going through a crap marraige or your husband cheated on you then this is a good book to read!

posted by H_Batista on September 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    still unsure, but i couldnt stop reading....

    This book wasnt my favorite book in the world but for some reason I couldnt put it down, I just wanted to find out what happened. There was always something interesting going on to grab my attention and if your going through a crap marraige or your husband cheated on you then this is a good book to read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Not great

    I loved the beginning. I found the main character very witty. The depictions of pain were so vivid. But then I was disappointed. Yes, I wanted to know what was going to happen but it was so sad throughout and there were actions that left me wondering if adults would really take.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    Good book

    First time choosing book by Lolly Winston. Was a nice audio book to listen to-not one of my favorites though

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Could Have Picked a Better Book.

    I love Lolly Winston's writing style, but I found this book useless banter back and forth between descisions. I thought this was a really sad book, and I believe it could lead people in a direction that they do not want to take with their life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    People Watching in Silicon Valley

    This book was, very much like her first one 'Good Grief,' a page turner. I can go on and on about how Ms Winston works life's most intimate details into her charaters and fleshes them out till you actually believe these charaters are absolutely living and breating, but I will not waste your time with that. Instead, I will simply say that 'Happiness Sold Separately' is one of the best character studies that i have read in some time. This was a very good and interesting book, if you have some time on your hands then curl up and read away. You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    So depressing!

    *****SPOILERS*****SPOILERS*****SPOILERS*****SPOILERS*****SPOILERS*****

    I don't even know where to start with this book. The entire things is depressing, and what's worse, it ends in the most peculiar way. The main characters, Gina, Ted, and Elinor are in a love triangle. Ted and Elinor have been married for years and have been trying to have children for years without success. Ted has an affair with Gina, his nutritionist at the gym, which leads to something more than just the usual fling. He ends up falling in love with Gina and her ten-years-old son, who is fatherless. Ted still loves Elinor and Gina. In the end, nothing was resolved with either of these characters. The book takes you through a whirlwind of emotions, especially with Elinor and her infertility treatments, and all the while I'm reading hoping for some good to come out from all this, at least a small one, and at the very end, the author decided to leave everything unresolved and leaving me clueless as the why I read this book in the first place. It took me a while to finish mainly because it was so depressing. Not even a hint of humor. At one point I thought the couple would just end up going their separate ways and call it quits to find their own happy endings. I was wrong. This is my first book by this author and sadly my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Okay book. Not my favorite.

    The author does a great job of making you feel the main charcter's trials and tribultions. The storyline felt a little drawn out. Great example of how some things happen for a reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Would unabridged audio book have been better?

    I think not. Ms. Winston's style had such promise. Both of the central female characters were good people - unusual. This was too much of a go-right-to-TV-screenplay formula to hold my interest. The reason that I finished listening tho the audio book was because I was on a long trip and had no radio signal, nor other audio book available. I'll be looking for it on Lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My first book by Lolly Winston.

    I like this book except for a few things.First of all,if you know the person who you are training and a client is married.Why would you want to involve yourself.Why bother?You shouldn't be dating your client.Just stick with being his trainer.Not at ALL!PERIOD!Conflict of interest.I'm glad that Ted's wife found out about his affair.She had every right what she did.She invited the mistress over and pretending to be a potential future client.Gina the mistress had no idea that it was Ted's wife.The look on Ted's face and Gina's face when he went to answer the door.He shouldn't have been cheating on his wife.Gina should have stopped seeing Ted.But she continued to flirt with Ted at the gym by putting his finger in her mouth and sucking on it.Plust wearing these skimpy outfits and grinding on Ted's groin.He enjoyed it and he felt himself get harder and harder.No matter what,he and his wife should have been able to work things out.He and Gina cont. to see each other.He finds out she has a son.Her son Toby likes Ted.Toby wants Ted to marry Gina.He bought Toby a matchbox car and a videogame.She says she enjoys having sex with him but she doesn't want her son to get hurt by Ted.Why is he buying his mistress's son gifts,when he's trying to reconcile his wife?What's wrong with Ted?Elinor had every right to get mad at Ted b/c Toby called the house.Ted moved out.He still saw Gina and her son Toby.He should have been honest with his wife from the beginning.Before things got out of hand and the he had this affair.This mistress of his can't seem to get enought of the Married man.Ted seems that he can't get enough of his Mistress Gina.He wants them both.They go to marriage counsceling.When you take your Vows,you should respect them.They are sacred and you said them in the eyes of the Lord.He hangs with Gina and Toby.When Toby is asleep,the two has sex and Ted leaves before Toby awakens.Gina dates other men but all she thinks of is Ted.A miracle happened,Elinor got pregnant.Ted moves back in and he's a different person.He tells Toby to stop calling b/c his wife isn't feeling well and he doesn't want to stress his wife.Elinor miscarried-again.Gina wants to find a male figure for her son to look up to.She picked Ted.She's in search of a Tutor since Ted left to go back to his wife.He stopped being Toby's tutor.She's meeting Elinor's cleaning guy,Roger as a Tutor.Her son is very smart.He thinks that all the guys she brings home are boyfriends.The men in Gina's life hasn't been the best.Barry the concert promoter,buys her expensive gifts.Shane who is in a band,has a problem with drugs and alcohol.She only thinks of Ted.Ted is married and she doesn't seem to care.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    Love this author!

    Great book that completely draws you in and you are sad when the story is over. I want to know more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    Great Book, Great Author

    I had read Good Grief and was excited to read this book as well. There was no disappointment as this book has a little bit of everything-humor, drama, sadness, etc. I would recommend reading this book to anyone who is a chick lit fan and wants a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Disappointing

    I was very disappointed in this one. It starts out very well, fast paced and then it just gets bogged down. I never liked any of the characters--I thought the whole thing was incredibly whiny. I loved Good Grief. I hope her next one is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    First Read of this Author

    This book was on the bargain table and looked interesting. While it is chick lit, it tells a beautiful story of relationships, loss and finding happiness in yourself rather than others. The characters are all quite unique and the story line compelling-read it in a day. Can't wait to buy her first book 'Good Grief' and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Beautifully written

    I loved this book! I love how Winston is not afraid to take on real tragedy. She has a gift and I can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Good Grief was way better

    I really liked Good Grief, so gave this one a shot. What happens when you and your husband can't conceive and then, to cap it all, you find out he's cheating on you with a buff, cheerful, single-mother, fitness-instructor? Elinor Mackey tackles her situation with humor, a bit of weirdness (like becoming really attached to an ancient tree in her front yard and naming him Warren), and an affair of her own... with the tree surgeon. Starts out good... This did not live up to Good Grief, although I do like Winston's style of humor and wackiness. Some language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Could not put this book down!

    Happiness sold seperately...like Good Grief...is a very 'real life' book. It's impossible not to relate and love each of the characters. I read this book in 1 day and wish that it never ended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    believeable

    I really enjoyed this second novel by Lolly Winston as I did her first. All the characters are believeable and likable. Shane being the exception, but I found myself feeling sorry for him. I even liked the 'other woman' and wanted her to find happiness as well as Elinor. Having personally gone through infertility troubles in the past, I really connected w/the Mackeys. We have since been blessed w/a beautiful son. But reading this book really took me back to those days of hoping, wishing,praying and heartaches. I am hoping w/the way Ms Winston ended this book, that a series may be in the works? I would love to see how and where these characters move on from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2007

    Started off great but ended lame

    I was pretty dissapointed with this book. It started off really funny and was honestly emotional and heart warming. I really was into this book at first, reading it in almost 2 days but then towards the end it got boring and weird. I felt like it could have been such a great story had it had a better ending. Toby was hilarious and Gina was just annoying. Sorry Lolly, better luck next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    i was really disappointed in this book. i read Good Grief and absolutely LOVED it! this book just simply did not compare. she developed too many characters 'with extreme depth' that didnt have very important roles in the overall story line. it ended up just being confusing and honestly a waste of time. i was bored after the first half and had trouble getting through the rest of the book desperately hoping the end would make it all worth it... unfortunately that was not the case. it just seemed rushed, and wandering, and like the author wasnt sure how to end the book or where to go next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    EMOTiONAL AND AWESOME

    I loved this book. The details are great and she puts so much into her charachers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3