Customer Reviews for

Happiness at Work: Be Resilient, Motivated, and Successful - No Matter What

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Happy at Work? YES !!! It is possible!!

    Dr. Rao has written a very important book. I never believed it was possible to be happy at work. After reading this book, that thought has changed. I now believe you can absolutely be happy, no matter where you work! Thank you to Dr. Rao for helping me to finally see the light.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Moonkit

    Name Moonkit Gender she Appearance silver with big blue eyes Other wont eat and throws up when she eats

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Fleetfoot

    Name fleetfoot Aperence cream with ginger patches and bright blue eyes Personality kind loyal but stuborn Mate none but is looking Kits none History lived in a calm clan but they were atacked and many of them died Other is a relitive of firestar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Shinepool

    NAME: Shinepool AGE: 13 moons RANK: Medicine cat APPEARANCE: Light gray she cat with silver stteaks and big blue eyes PERSONALITY: Loyal, kind, helpful MATE: Duh! KITS: Duh! KIN: Mother Tawnyfur (dead). Father Thunder (dead). No siblingsm HISTORY: Born as a loner. Jer mother was a warrior of ThunderClan and her father was a loner. They named her Shine and she lived as a loner with her father. Her mother got killed by digs and her father accidentally ate deathberries. She then lived by erself and leared herbs. She gave herself the name Shuepool and joined this clan as med cat. SIGNATURE: $hinepool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Sparrowflight

    Name: Sparrowflight • Apperance: light grey she cat with green eyes • mate: none • kits: expecting • personality: kind, caring, somewhat shy, unwiling to give up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Greyfur (updated)

    Position: warrior age: 12 moons description: handsome grey tom with green eyes mate: raintail kits: oceankit rainkit moonkit and wolfkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Icefrost

    Name: Icefrost••• Gender: she••• Looks: black with pale blue blind eyes and a diamond marking on chest••• Personality: sweet, helpful, and quiet. Is calm in nervous situations, which is good when being a med cat••• Rank: med cat••• Family: mom- Snowysky (dead) dad- Thundergrowl (dead) sister(s)- Quietheart and Puddlepool (puddlepool is also a med cat) Brother(s)- Moonwolf••• Mate: can't•••Crush: none••• Kits: none••• History: was born in WindClan. Left before apprenticeship. Was trained as a med cat by a cat named Warriorheart. The family split apart when Snowysky and Thundergrowl died. Icefrost came here•••

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    One of the best book's in it's category

    The cover of 'Happiness at Work' is deceiving. The title is set above a pair of shiny black men's dress shoes with comically large springs. It looks like it's about jump-starting your career, which really didn't interest me.

    Luckily, I stumbled upon a wonderful interview of the author, Srikumar Rao, in a podcast by the Greater Good Science Center at the University of California, Berkeley. After reading the book, I am happy to report the content is much more interesting than the cover suggests. 'Happiness at Work' is a step-by step manual on the inner workings of happiness.

    This is a book of solid steps we can take and if practiced mindfully they will not only lead to more happiness but make us better people.

    Here are a few steps to finding happiness:
    - Stop labeling things "good" or "bad"
    - Invest in the process, not the outcome
    - Life is a stage and we are the actor, not the character.
    - Changing our mental model (our beliefs) will change our world.

    Rao tells stories and fables that help explain these steps further and his gentle, polite tone throughout the book makes it a pleasure to read. This is one of the best book's in it's category. It's message is an inspiration for those who are looking improve their life, find happiness and to be a better person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1