Customer Reviews for

The Happy Herbivore Cookbook: Over 175 Delicious Fat-Free and Low-Fat Vegan Recipes

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend - Think vegan is too hard, new to it? GET THIS

Lindsay begins this book by making her intentions very clear: to show people a vegan diet can be easy, tasty, and for everyone. I assume people always read the beginning of their cookbooks, as these tend to have valuable information. If you read this information, you sh...
Lindsay begins this book by making her intentions very clear: to show people a vegan diet can be easy, tasty, and for everyone. I assume people always read the beginning of their cookbooks, as these tend to have valuable information. If you read this information, you should know perfectly well what you're getting into with this cookbook. EASE OF USE In the intro and appendix, Lindsay provides great tips on stocking your kitchen, removes the mystery surrounding some terms longtime vegans tend to take for granted, and helps the newbie get started. Lindsay also provides various tips for someone not only new to vegan cooking, but cooking IN GENERAL. In addition, she provides a very clear legend to use when choosing a recipe - my favorites being Quick, Kid-Friendly, and Omni-Friendly. This legend, as well, should give you a hint as to what she's going for with this book. RECIPES This is an excellent cookbook for someone new to veganism, and even cooking as a whole. The recipes are VERY easy. No complicated ingredients or uncommon tools. As she explains, she's trying to remove unnecessary fats, oils, sugars, and processed grains. You will find some vegan meat subs and canned items; but this is hardly the greatest sin in vegan cooking. If you have the time and prefer fresh ingredients, by ALL means, use them! Personally, I prefer dried beans; but eliminating all canned and convenience items could be daunting to a new vegan. I feel Lindsay was wise to set things up the way she did. LAYOUT/PHOTOS Beautiful! I think Lindsay has done a fantastic job showing new vegans that food can still be beautiful and appealing, even to non-vegans. The book, recipe pages, and photos are colorful and fun. I get the impression they match Lindsay's personality nicely. SUMMARY Lindsay's provided a lovely book here for both new vegans and experienced vegans looking for quick, no-fuss, omni-friendly recipes. Her comments are light, fun, and useful. There are VERY few recipes in this book I don't see myself making. Immediately after purchasing my own copy, I went back and purchased another copy for a dear friend trying to make her way to a vegan lifestyle. She's already made nearly half a dozen recipes and loves it. If you are struggling with some of the delicious but complicated recipes in many vegan cookbooks, if you know someone trying to make the switch, or if you know someone just trying to work more meat-free recipes into their diet - this book is an EXCELLENT investment.

posted by ThatFeistyVegan on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I got great reviews of this book from friends, and was inspired

I got great reviews of this book from friends, and was inspired by the fact that many recipes do not contain meat substitutes. I purchased the Nook version of the book, and while it is beautiful and the recipes are great, I do have a pretty major complaint. The left s...
I got great reviews of this book from friends, and was inspired by the fact that many recipes do not contain meat substitutes. I purchased the Nook version of the book, and while it is beautiful and the recipes are great, I do have a pretty major complaint. The left side of each page is cut off, so the measurement for each ingredient is not visible! Incredibly annoying!!!

posted by AhimsaMama on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    I LOVE THIS COOKBOOK!!

    I'm a fan of Happy Herbivore's online recipes so knew I had to get this cookbook. It doesn't disappoint! I love it even more than I thought I would. For starters, it's a beautiful cookbook. Tons of full page color pictures, which for the price of this book, is rare. I like the selection of recipes, from brunch to dinner to dessert. Love that it doesn't include a giant section of salads and salad dressings as so many other vegan cookbooks do. Previously when I thought of low-fat food, I thought of bland, boring, dry food. Lindsay has changed my mind completely about that! Her cupcakes are moist and delicious, all with very little fat and low calorie! I also love her chocolate chip cookies and butter bean cookies (butter bean recipe is on her website). I've had the cookbook a few days and have made the following recipes: tofu scramble, cajun home fries, gingerbread mini loaves, cornbread, tuna salad, blue corn chickpea tacos, chickpeas and dumplings, baked ziti, spaghetti and meatless balls, oatmeal cookies, chocolate cupcakes, and chocolate chip cookies. Luckily many of the recipes don't make a ton of food, so I could sample a lot of different recipes. Every single recipe has been good and will make all of them again! Another great thing about this cookbook is the recipes use simple to find ingredients and come together in a snap. I can honestly see myself cooking from this book at least once every single day, the recipes are so quick and delicious. I can only say that about one other cookbook I own, but it isn't low-fat. What a great gift this cookbook will be for friends and family looking to lose weight, eat healthy, and/or sample great vegan food!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    You need to buy this book!

    Vegan or not. Food snob or not. I personally think everyone should buy this book just to make great tasting healthy meals. I first followed the author on twitter after finding her website. Of course I became obsessed with the recipes. Everyone I tried worked out great. I love how she makes things sinple but full of flavor. The previous bad reviewer must not be a happy (chuckles) person because each recipe is fun and tastes great. It may be simple but you get great results. Just because she gives you time saving items (pre-made meat alternatives) does not take away from the food. It just gives you more time to enjoy what you cook! Try the pumpkin bread, doughnuts or anything else. Everything tastes and looks great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I was eager to finally get the book after all the hoopla on the internet about it, only to be bitterly disappointed.

    The first recipe I tried was the black bean brownies. They were okay, but more like banana bars. I'd hardly call it a brownie. Next I tried the cinnamon rolls. I followed the recipe step by step and came out with HARD inedible cinnamon rolls. I threw them out. (I AM NOT NEW TO VEGAN BAKING) The meatball recipe was good, but how hard is it to make meatballs from Gimme Lean Beef Style mixture? The tomato soup with spaghetti squash was okay, but I'd rather use fresh tomatoes instead of canned.

    I think this cookbook would be great for someone interested in converting to the vegan diet. Maybe I've turned into a vegan snob over the years? I prefer FRESH over canned/frozen/prepared foods. I get that there should be an "easy" factor, but I'd rather make a more complicated meal and be totally satisfied by the deliciousness rather than take shortcuts with disappointing results.

    The book itself is beautiful. I think the author did a wonderful job with the layout, pictures and nutritional information but the recipes are definitely not for hard core vegans who love to cook.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    This is the second review I have ever written on a product. I hope this tells you how much I love this book and how confident I am that anyone who purchases this book will be very pleased as well. Every recipe I tried in this book has has been delicious. My Omnivore husband even liked the recipes!!! If you are thinking about buying this book... hesitate no more, you will not be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Must read for easy vegan recipes

    I absolutely LOVE Lyndsay's work. She's created tons of recipes that are simple and quick and best of all, they're delicious. As the back of her book reads, there is nothing more discouraging than reading a complicated recipe that involves equipment you can't afford, so she makes it quick and simple. A must have for people who want to live or even just try a plant-based diet. Nothing to lose(except weight)and a lot to gain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By far one of the best cookbooks I have ever used. I tried nearl

    By far one of the best cookbooks I have ever used.
    I tried nearly every recipe in this cookbook and not one has failed in taste, quality, and freshness! Because of this cookbook, I have converted my sister to become a vegan and got my mom even interested. I am a new vegan and really needed some help on getting an idea on substitutes to make in cooking and ideas on meals without getting too fatty. This cookbook helped tremendously! Her recipes are easy and clear to understand. And after getting the hang of vegan cooking, I have even created a few of my own recipes from hers such as strawberry banana pudding.

    I was really happy to see that she included substitutes for simple things like "chicken" or hamburgers (by using black beans for the patties).

    I've made a ton of the desserts. Oatmeal/raisin cookies, apple oatmeal muffins, scones, cheesecake, and she even has recipes on how to make vegan frosting like vanilla or chocolate.
    Some of the ingredients like vegan chocolate chips or seitan might be hard to come by. Luckily I have stores that provide vegan/vegetarian friendly foods. I highly HIGHLY recommend this book, even if you're NOT vegan and just want to make some healthier lifestyle choices with your food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great recipes

    I LOVE the recipes in this book. I have only made a few so far but I'm really looking forward to trying them all. They are healthy and delicious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    A Must Have for Vegetarians

    To begin, I'm neither a vegan or strictly vegetarian- I'm just trying to thoughtfully fill my diet with more veg. options. So I use milk instead of vegan alternatives etc. The recipes are great and easy to use. We particularly liked the Green Goblin Muffins and Apple Crisp Muffins. I'm going to try out the Tempeh Joes later this week. The missing star is that I think a lot of these recipes are available for free on her website. For the Nook reader, the color pictures are beautiful but you will need to check your font setting so that the amounts in the recipe fit on the page. Do that before you have messy hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Cookbook

    My wife and I LOVE this cookbook! Some of the best recipes include: Cheater Pad Thai, Chili Sans Carne, Tempeh Joes, and Enchiladas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    LOVE IT!

    I am new to being vegan, and this book has been a life saver! I also have The Happy Herbivore - 30 Minutes or Less. Lindsay Nixon has a talented way of bringing ingredients together into easy, fun, and delicious recipes! My boyfriend is a non-vegan, and has enjoyed every recipe we have tried.

    In addition, Lindsay is the most responsive author and blogger I have met. She has answered all my questions within a few hours of posting them! Check out Lindsay's website, (in the book), for weekly meal plans, blogs on being vegan in the real world, and more!

    Thanks for making Vegan easier!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    LOVE HH

    Lindsay is amazing, and this book is nothing less. This is my go-to cookbook and everything is healthy and delicious! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    A Must Have!

    I'm not vegan, nor will I ever be but I wanted some healthier alternatives to my faves. Not only did I get that (Tortilla Soup, Yam Fries), I found so many new and exciting recipes (Pumpkin Bread, Black Bean Burgers, and "Tuna" Salad). Well done, Lindsay, and I can't wait for your new book out this fall!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Simply Delicious!

    This book was so much fun to read. new, low fat twists of my favorite foods, sign me up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    BUY THIS BOOK, Vegans!!!! It's cheap, fast, easy and delicious!!!

    Happy Herbivore is by far the best book that I have ever picked up. I got it as a gift last February (Thanks Jenn!!!) and I have been cooking out of it ever since. I just learned that I have managed to create twenty-three recipes out of this cookbook! I have never managed to make that many out of any cookbook. I mean I usually just flip through the pages and drool and then only think about cooking any of the delicious recipes.

    Anyways, I love cooking. I want to be a cook. I want a vegan cafe. But, until then, I will slave away and practice my cooking skills with the help of books like The Happy Herbivore! Oh, and I counted that I've already made more than 20 recipes! They are all so delicious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A must in every kitchen!!

    Delicious recipes! Easy-to-make, quick, no hard-to-find ingredients required. The recipes I made were all loved by omni and vegan alike (especially the Fettucini Alfredo, Potato Salad, Black Bean Enchiladas and Portobello Steaks) This is now one of my top 3 favourite go-to vegan cookbooks. A must in every kitchen!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Delicious, easy recipes with every day ingredients!!

    LOVE this cookbook...everything I've made is great from the banana bread to the chocolate zucchini muffins, chickpea tacos and wait for it: brownies with black beans.

    The recipes are written in a simple enough way that even a novice cook like me can grasp them.

    I also love that there are pictures of every recipe...major pet peeve when cookbooks only have pictures for select recipes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Tasting, Healthy Food!

    This is has quickly become one of my favorite cookbooks. Even meat-eaters will love these recipes. Almost every recipe calls for fewer than 10 ingredients, and they are simple. Delicious, easy to cook, and cruelty-free! Some of my favorites are Soul Burgers, Cheater Pad Thai, Oatmeal Cookies, Root Beer Float Cupcakes, Corncakes, and Quick Queso Sauce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4