Customer Reviews for

Happy Hour of the Damned

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Seattle Undead life !

Happy Hour of the Dammed sounds like my life story right? Amanda Feral ad exec and zombie'yes you heard me!' has perhaps the best fashion sense in the undead world. Balancing on her Loubatians, she doles out advice, solves a mystery and gets romantic all in the Seattle...
Happy Hour of the Dammed sounds like my life story right? Amanda Feral ad exec and zombie'yes you heard me!' has perhaps the best fashion sense in the undead world. Balancing on her Loubatians, she doles out advice, solves a mystery and gets romantic all in the Seattle preternatural world.' while managing a square meal or 50' With best friends Gil and Wendy at her side how can a zombie gal lose? Henry's book isn't snarky, it's frickin hilarious, comedy at it's best. Filled with generation x'er references cocktail recipes and life lessons it's a read not to be missed. I literally snorted diet coke out my nose while reading this one folks. On Feb 26th go out, no RUN out and get this one. You won't be sorry!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Definitely not happy hour

I have had this book for over a month now and still have not finished it. It is slow moving and all the extra side comments are snarky and unnecessary. To much time is spent on describing things from cupcakes to drink mixes, or to explain what the character meant by a...
I have had this book for over a month now and still have not finished it. It is slow moving and all the extra side comments are snarky and unnecessary. To much time is spent on describing things from cupcakes to drink mixes, or to explain what the character meant by a comment. It insults the intelligence and imagination of the readers.
Not a book I would recommend unless you are really hard up for something to read.

posted by JudySD on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A-list Zombies - funny and ascerbic

    Becoming a zombie in the most un-fabulous way, going to paranomal orientation classes, dealing with the vanity of the Sex in the City crowd when you're dead (morgue make-up!), learning to enjoy eating only the truly despicable (mostly) people, and throwing down when the lame zombie crowd shows up breathes new life (ha!) into a twice-dead genre.

    The fantastically shallow tag hag of a character invokes sympathy from a reader because she says the things all the rest of us think when we're being total jerks. The sarcastic asides, snarky remarks, and absolute b*&^itude are completely forgivable seeing as she's had the Karma slap of being dead. And just when you want to hate her, she becomes human and does what's right even though it will totally eff up her tres chic ensemble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun zombie read!

    Amanda's had a rough life, and it's not held her back one bit. She's serious about life and a successful partner in an Advertising firm and is serious about life. Until she smells the stinky breathe of that man in the elevator and has a clumsy accident afterward. All to find out... she is now a zombie. So what is a beautiful, successful woman to do now that she is one of the undead? Why, enjoy life to the fullest! But first, to find make-up to take care of the pasty pale skin. But when a friend goes missing will Amanda go in search or try to save her drying skin? Amanda ends up on a mystery case looking into the incidents of what happened to her friends, just to stumble upon a bigger mystery with the pesky mistake zombies showing up in herds at Starbucks.

    Amanda is a character I enjoyed. She is hard, and self-centered. Amanda makes flying leaps at growth in her character in this book. She makes friends with others similar to her in her manor of thinking. We learn how Amanda meets each of these characters through their fun incidents in the first section of the book. Then after we get to know them we find somewhere along the way Amanda has started to worry about them. And starts to enjoy life. Amanda and her friends make comments and jokes of things that many might find mean, but it is said in fun with these characters. I had to chuckle many times with the jokes made and the priorities of the characters. Oh, and who would want to break into a funeral home? I loved that scene.

    I enjoy the writing style in this book. Mark Henry uses a unique writing style as we are getting the story from Amanda's view. There are footnotes sporadically through the book in which Amanda makes comments to add her inner thoughts at the moment. For me this was fun and a humorous way to get to know Amanda's character a little better.

    I will definitely be picking up the second book, Road Trip of the Living Dead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Definitely not happy hour

    I have had this book for over a month now and still have not finished it. It is slow moving and all the extra side comments are snarky and unnecessary. To much time is spent on describing things from cupcakes to drink mixes, or to explain what the character meant by a comment. It insults the intelligence and imagination of the readers.
    Not a book I would recommend unless you are really hard up for something to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great zombie novel for women...and men

    I ran across this book while working in S/F. I read the back of it and giggled. It sounded like a great combo of my favorite things...strong female leads and ZOMBIES! I saw that there was 2 installments and picked both of them up. I thought the footnotes in this book was a little strange at first but man they were funny. The more I read the more excited I got when I knew a footnote was coming up cause I couldn't wait to see what Amanda was going to say. Mark Henry has been added to my list of authors that I hand sell at work. Give me more fashion crazed party zombies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Like a Kevin Smith movie with zombies

    A good urban fantasy can be like a mixed drink. It's got to have the right flavor-but it's also got to have a lot of kick. Not so much, of course, that you'll regret it the next morning. The characters in Mark Henry's Happy Hour of the Damned might not liken themselves to mixed drinks, but they would certainly appreciate the allusion. Because few zombies appreciate liquor like the heroines in Henry's novel.

    Rightly called both a "zomedy" and an "urban fantasy attack on political correctness" by the author, Happy Hour of the Damned reads like a Kevin Smith movie, if Kevin Smith were ever to feature the undead elite in his films.

    Read my full review at http://www.flamesrising.com/happy-hour-damned-review/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Snark with Bite

    This book has everything one needs for an irreverent little romp through the dark comedy mind. The characters are unabashedly nasty (and make no apologies for it) and are monsters that are really monsters. Sure they may hit the clubs and run through the social clubs of the undead, but they are real, eat your face if you happen to be there kind of monsters.

    If you are willing to suspend your desire for the "Hollywood Happy Ending" then they are a heck of a lot of fun to follow around as well. They are still monsters though, so keep in mind there will be some gory parts. If my wife could make it through them, I think anyone can.

    The snark is another story though. Many people just do not get it. It is an unashamed, non-PC look at things with a cynical bite to it that is almost as bad as the zombie bites the main characters pack. If you like dark humor, snark and monsters - this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Not Your Typical Urban Fantasy

    To be honest, Happy Hour of the Damned by Mark Henry was not the kind of book that I normally read. I love to love my protagonists from the start and you have to fall in love with Amanda Feral- but you do! Also, his style is not one that I've encountered before and not on the top of my list for what I like to read, but his technique made me forget that. Many things kept me reading: 1. His Wit: Mark has a way with words. He creates wonderful imagery with just a few syllables or the turn of a phrase. It kept me laughing, chuckling, snorting, and guffawing (not necessarily in that order). 2. Character Building: Amanda may not be my typical heroine, but he stayed perfectly true to who she is and how she thinks all the while seamlessly making her grow without losing her core. That snot snuck it right in under my nose!! 3. World Building: I've read many amazing worlds having devoured well over 1000 books but Mark's was not only a completely new spin on some old ideas, but it was whole. I put him in the ranks of Tolkein, Anne McCaffrey, Brandon Sanderson, and Diana Pharoah Francis (the 4 people on the top of my list) in the creation of a whole new civilization that I could easily believe (I didn't like coffee before and I'm sure as heck staying away from Starbucks now!). A must read and a must buy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Wildly entertaining

    I must confess that I'm often a bit wary about any book or movie billed as a horror/humor hybrid, as this can be an awfully fine line for a storyteller to walk. However, when both elements are smoothly blended into an original narrative that chugs along with ferocious intent, the results can be pretty spectacular. I believe Mark Henry has pulled off just such a coup with Happy Hour For The Damned, and readers should rejoice. There's a heck of a lot to savor here, from quotable dialogue to hairpin plot turns to vivid atmosphere. All in all, a very good read. I'd strongly recommend anyone who enjoys this book also check out Crimson Orgy by Austin Williams, another new release that somehow manages to make humor and horror work together with killer results.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Seattle Undead life !

    Happy Hour of the Dammed sounds like my life story right? Amanda Feral ad exec and zombie'yes you heard me!' has perhaps the best fashion sense in the undead world. Balancing on her Loubatians, she doles out advice, solves a mystery and gets romantic all in the Seattle preternatural world.' while managing a square meal or 50' With best friends Gil and Wendy at her side how can a zombie gal lose? Henry's book isn't snarky, it's frickin hilarious, comedy at it's best. Filled with generation x'er references cocktail recipes and life lessons it's a read not to be missed. I literally snorted diet coke out my nose while reading this one folks. On Feb 26th go out, no RUN out and get this one. You won't be sorry!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing chick lit urban fantasy

    There are two distinct zombie species. First there are the Breathers who just need to exhale on a person to convert them to the living dead and then there are those changed by a bite or scratch. In Seattle advertising executive Amanda Feral was riding an elevator when she was breathed on when she next awakens she has no idea what happened to her. She is walking in confusion on when Gil the vampire stops her and explains to her what she has become. He further informs her that there is a world of the supernatural with stores and clubs for paranormal shoppers that mortals cannot see. Horrified by her suddenly pale sickly complexion, Amanda breaks into a mortuary to obtain some make-up for the recently departed. There she meets fellow zombie Wendy seeking cosmetics too. At a HAPPY HOUR OF THE DAMNED club, the two females meet Lisle the succubus who turns the twosome into the three supernatural musketeers. Though time has a different connotation, not long afterward Lisle sends a text message ¿help¿ to her two pals. They fear for their buddy who vanished immediate after hitting send. As they search for Lisle, Amanda and Wendy uncover a plot to turn the world into a zombie playpen by using a zombie virus. To prevent this from happening, they need to uncover the identity of the mastermind, a devilishly diabolical genius. --- This chick lit urban fantasy is an amusing tale that lampoons chick lit urban fantasies. Amanda and Wendy come across as ¿Valley Girls¿ a la the 1980s movie Night of the Comet while Gil and Lisle add biting humor by satirizing vampire romantic thrillers. The plot is fun with its spoof of save civilization as we know it theme. Mark Henry provides an enjoyable tale in his opening salvo that will have readers who appreciate a lighthearted romp waiting for future happy hour stories. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Loved the snark!

    I loved everything about this book! I loved the strong female lead, her crazy friends, the zombies, vamps, weres, etc., the plot, the world building, but I loved the snark the best. The added bonus--there wasn't an angst-filled, whiny, romance ir love triangle to be found!! This was just a great Urban Fantasy to be enjoyed with laughter and with the realization that Amanda verbalizes what we all think at one time or another but never say outloud. Thanks for the great read. I have already purchased the next two books and hope there are more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    stay away from this one

    It is no wonder that the series has been canceled. I picked this book up thinking it wiukd be a light, fun, and trashy read. Instead, I got a book chick full if 1 dimensional characters and really groan worthy prose. Even worse if this is what the author thinks women think/act/speak like, my heart gies out to hus female friends and family.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I was searching for a new author

    I am a fan of certain writing styles, and if you like works by Michele Bardsley and MaryJanice Davidson, you will love Mark Henry. This was a fast clipped, sarcastic, and hilarious read. Action, comedy, horror, mystery, and some adult action scenes as well, but not so much as to derail the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Just Absolutely Awful

    The author has no idea how to write; the storyline is slow and boring. The characters are cardboard real and non-inspiring. There is no one to really cheer for, and the concept of vampires being zombies is just so far from the myth and legend that the author has simply taken too many liberties with his creativity. Stick to the basics if you want to sell a really good novel and not some cheap knock-off that this novel is destined to become.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3