Customer Reviews for

Harbor Lights (Chesapeake Shores Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good to be back

I am reading Harbor Lights as a write this. This is the 3rd in the series and is a relaxing, good read. The O'Brien family is always interesting. They have a wonderful way of working together to help each other in their daily lives. Woods writing flows with the stor...
I am reading Harbor Lights as a write this. This is the 3rd in the series and is a relaxing, good read. The O'Brien family is always interesting. They have a wonderful way of working together to help each other in their daily lives. Woods writing flows with the story.
Enjoy!!

posted by Lady1 on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not great!

This is the 3rd in the series that I read. The meddling family was a bit too much. I wanted to slap Kevin's sisters!

posted by 122664 on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    The perfect book, romatic and human kind. The family O'Brien were full of love and protection each other. They care for each other and even people in the Chesapeake Shores town

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read for the romantic and anyone with a meddling a fa

    Excellent read for the romantic and anyone with a meddling a family or not. I got so absorbed I ended up reading this novel within twelve hours (and no I am not a speed reader) taking only time out for dinner, bathroom breaks and five hours of sleep. Ended up completing this novel over morning coffee and toast as didn't want totake time for a more extended breakfast. My only regret is I did not start with the first of the series but have no problem going back to the first to catch up.
    Please take the time to read this novel and enjoy it in which it is meant to be enjoyed; with an open mind and an open heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Read The Inn At Eagle Point (Chesapeake Shores Series #1). I enjoyed that so much, I have read 2, 3, 4, and 5. I'm am now reading Moonlight Cove #6. It is enjoyable keeping up with the O'brien family and friends. Read and enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Great novel in this series

    Sherryl Woods will grab your attention in this novel like she is able to do with the others. You will not be disappointed in Harbor Lights. Read On!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Aga..Chesapeake shores would be a great place to visit

    Again, another great book in the series. Life, at times, seems so complicated for the O'Briens,yet, with all the twist and turns they always manage to find happiness for themselves.



    I

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Time to Heal and Move On!

    Kevin O'Brien has returned to the beloved O'Brien clan with his son Davy, devastated from his wife's death while serving in the Army in Iraq. He just wants to be left alone to freely and fully grieve. His family honors his needs for a while, but then they realize he has a son who needs him. In other words, he needs to slowly join the living in spite of and through his grief. A large, daunting task to be sure! But the O'Brien clan is up to the task as well.

    At the same time young Shanna Carlyle has arrived in Chesapeake Bay and is about to open her dream store, a place where the locals and tourists can buy books, games, small toys and puzzles, as well as have a place to have a cup of coffee while they relax and browse through the merchandise. She's got an accounting background to put to good use here but she's also hoping to escape a searingly painful past that she views as damaged.

    The day comes when Kevin is finally talked into visiting his sister who owns the store next to Shanna. Finding her shop closed, he stops by and thus begins one of the most cautious, intriguing and endearing romances a reader could imagine. Both are initially ultra-gun shy about calling their relationship anything more than a casual friendship, but to other eyes the sparks are flying whenever they are together.

    You'll meet some other fascinating characters, all of whom are desperately trying to matchmake this burgeoning relationship but who have issues of their own that frequently cause conflict between Kevin and Shanna. Is there hope for the couple? What is it that each character needs to face and admit before they can even dream of more than the frightened and grief-filled moments they suffer? Be warned; this sounds complex and heavy but it's definitely not so. Sherryl Woods has a knack of putting just enough tension into a story and then relieving it graciously and beautifully with a scene where the bonds between all of these characters begins to heal and strengthens.

    The fictional tale also turns to a realistic, very important environmental issue as well, done lightly but with significant focus!

    Harbor Lights is a glorious, enchanting, light-hearted, intriguing and precious story written by an author who just keeps improving with time! Wonderful story to be cherished by readers in any time of the year!

    Reviewed by Viviane Crystal on July 14, 2009

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great ending to a great series

    After having read the first 2 books in this series, I thought I had things figured out for the O'Neills. Not so much. I love how Sherryl writes in a way that makes me feel like one of her characters. I like to be able to relate to situations proposed by authors. In this series, Sherrly allowed me to become part of the family by her continuation of a story about the family and it's coming together. As with many, family situations rarely are a snapshot of perfection. This pens true for this family, except for how the differences become a means of support for each person.
    I was totally enamored with each book in the series and this last one proved to be a fabulous finale.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    LIGHTINGSTARS BIO

    NAME-LIGHTINGSTAR/EYE COLOR-AMBER/PELT COLOR-BLACK WITH YELLOW STRIPES RUNING ACROSS HER SIDES WICH LOOKS LIKE LIGHTING/MATE-NONE YET/KITS-NONE YET/SPECAIL TRAITS-EXTRA LONG CLAWS CAN JUMP HIGH/PESANALITY-GOOD TEMPERED BUT IF SHE HAS TO SHE CAN PUT UP A GOOD FIGHT LOVING AND CARING

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Kat

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    The girl

    She lay asleep and then her breathing ceased and she lay completely still

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    The baby

    Falls aasleep

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    To Mace

    Dude ur dead jut admit it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Dashkoff in the house

    Anyone here? Please i dont have a lot of time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Haley

    LIKE A BOSS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Sam

    Hey guys what up Adam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    TO LINK

    Ra'eesa is at "hi res"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Dani

    *disappears*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Adam

    YO BREE! UH I GTG COURTNEY'S GIVING MEH A DITY LOOK....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Dez

    She starts to chop of Barbie dolls' hair. Leaving them with short choppy hair, split ends, mohawks, and patches.* not everyone has perfect hair......*she says referring to her newly being diagnosed w/ cancer. She set the Barbies on fire w/ her eyesand hangs them by the necks above the door outside the cabin. The flames keep burning black rire and with never die out*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    SAPH TO ANYONE AND EVERYONE IMPORTANT

    IM CABIN LEADER NEED ANYTHING AND TALK TO MEH ILL MAKE IT HAPPEN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3