Customer Reviews for

Hard Ball

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 15, 2013

                                                                    

                                                                           Average…




    This book is mainly about a country boy named Billy Baggs in Flint, Minnesota. A  Big feud between two families father through son.
     My favorite character has to be Billy. Why, because he is a underdog and is very cool to me, a country boy trying to be the best.
     The book has a steady pace until the middle of the book. It is something to look for.
     I feel the message of the book has to be try your hardest , and don’t let people get to you.
     I think there should have been more surprise.
    Overall it was a decent book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Hard Ball

    Shane Hunter was a great pitcher, and his dad was always his biggest fan. Shane had a good life he went to a very good private school, and played on an elite baseball team. One day after school, Shane came home to see his dad shot himself. Shane¿s dad had been doing illegal sales with Mexican drug lords. He was due to appear in court but before he got the chance he shot himself. Shane quit baseball because he couldn¿t focus when he was pitching and lost his touch. Everything in Shane¿s life took a turn for the worst. His mom sold there old house, Shane started going to a public school, and he was busted for drinking underage. Shane¿s parole officer told him he either had to play baseball or take therapy. He decided to play baseball for his public school and he brought a huge lift to his team. Shane¿s team got a game canceled so they decided to reschedule a game on that day with Shorelake (Shane¿s old team). Reece Robertson had bought Shane¿s old house and Shane always held a grudge against him. Shane set him up by throwing two pitches outside, to get him to crowd the plate, then throwing at his head. Shane hit Reece and Reece dropped to the ground with blood squirting out of his nose. From then on Shane lost his ability to pitch and Reece was always scared of hitting. They decided to get together during the summer to try to redevelop there skills. Can Shane pitch like he used to, and can Reece hit like he used to? This book was a very good book. I couldn¿t find anything in this book that I didn¿t like. Some of the in-between games stuff was boring, but after all of that got out of the way I really liked it. Anyone who likes to read sports stories would love this book. This story is a lot like Will Weaver sports novels. If you have read any of the Bill Baggs novels and like then, then you will love this novel. Hard Ball is not in a series. This story reminds me of Like Mike. Shane pitches really good and all of the sudden he starts not to pitch well. On Like Mike he plays really bad until he finds the Michael Jordan sneakers, then he plays really well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    A Crazy Feud Between Two Teenage Boys

    Billy and King are two teenage boys that go to the same school in Flint, Minnesota. The boys love to play baseball and have been life long enemies. King is a town kid and Billy is a farm kid, and apparently, they both like Suzy Langen. The town kids are playing the final game of the year against the farm team at Billy¿s farm. During the game Billy and King get into a fight over Suzy Langen and almost kill each other. The town teams coach, Coach Anderson, is tired of Billy and King fighting all of the time, so he thinks of a very unusual punishment for the two boys. Both King and Billy¿s parents agree on the punishment. Read the book and find out if Billy and King stay enemies forever or if maybe the problem goes farther back than just the boys. I loved this book. This story was very easy to follow along with, and I could really relate to Billy. Billy loves the farm and baseball, and I enjoy these things too. The book didn¿t start out slow, but it did slow down a little after about a quarter of the way through. After that, the book picked back up until the end. This book is the third book of the Billy Baggs series by Will Weaver. I think it would help you understand the book a little bit more if you read the first two books of the series first. This book doesn¿t really remind me of any movies or T.V. shows. I think if you¿re a boy in the 7th to 9th grade and you like baseball, you will love this book. Also, if you liked Dan Gutman as a kid, I think you will like this book Hard Ball by Will Weaver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    I Book I just couldn't put down

    This was a great book about two boys, one a farm boy and the other a rich city kid. The two boys are both rival pitchers and to make matter worse they both liked the same girl. You must read to find out how it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    The Coaches Plan

    Billy and King are probably the best two baseball players on Coach Anderson¿s team but they don¿t get along one bit. So Coach has this big plan for King to spend three days at Billy¿s house and for Billy to spend three days at Kings. This way they can get to know each other a little bit better. Of course neither likes the idea but they both agree to do it along with their parents. Will the plan make the two friends or will it make maters worse than before? I liked this book a lot because it really wraps up the series in a good way and it also has a lot of great action. There is always something going on in this book that is entertaining. I didn¿t like that it has so many chapters of rising action but you don¿t mind it too much while you¿re reading it because it keeps you into the book. That¿s basically the only part I didn¿t care for in this book. The book is apart of the Billy Baggs series. You don¿t really have to read them in order but it helps if you do because in every book it gives information that you can use in the next book. I would recommend this book to mainly guys because most of the main characters are guys but girls could read it also because it has some young love in it and a lot of stuff about friendships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    2 Boys and a Baseball

    Billy Baggs is a fourteen year-old boy growing up on a farm in Flint County, Minnesota during the Vietnam War. Billy is a great pitcher but so is his rival, King Kenwood. They fight over more then just baseball they also fight over Suzy Langean. King has been Suzy¿s boyfriend since kindergarten, but Billy has liked her that long too. Sometimes the two boys get so mad at each other they fight one another and almost kill themselves. Their high school baseball coach has been watching, and he has seen that Billy and King¿s dads don¿t like each other either. Their coach made a plan that Billy and King have to stay at each others house for a week, and be together the whole time too. If they don¿t cooperate neither of them will play high school baseball. My thought on this book was that it was the best baseball book I have ever read. There is never a boring moment, and it leaves you always wanting more. Some of the beginning is kind of boring, but once you start you¿ll never want to put it down. Will Weaver did a phenomenal job writing Hard Ball. Every time you start a new scene he paints a picture for you, and it feels like you¿re just following Billy around. This is the first of three book series about Billy Baggs. People who don¿t watch baseball or enjoy playing baseball wouldn¿t like it very much. A person who plays baseball should read this. If you have read a Matt Christopher book before and liked it you will probably like Will Weaver books also. Both of the authors have similar writing style that makes reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    *GOOD BOOK ALERT*

    I love this book, because it takes place in Minnesota. I like how Will Weaver uses real places and people in this story! This is a MUST read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Hardball, A Must Read!

    This is a great book about a young teenage boy who loves baseball. There is a big rivalry between this country boy and a city boy named Archer 'King' Kenwood. This rivalry isn't just between the two star pitchers, it's between there dads too. If that's not bad enough, they're in love with the same girl! The coach comes up with a plan. I highly recommend this book. I'm thirteen years old so I can really relate to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2001

    It is the best book ever!

    Hardball by Will Weaver is a really good book it is about a country boy and a rich city boy who likes the same girl. They all go to baseball games, and the girl is starting to like the country boy. I would recommend this book for either a boy are a girl because it is a really good book about relationships and about baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2000

    You can't stop reading this one!!

    This book was one of my favorite books. I'm sure you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1