BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My favorite Murakami book

Although Windup Bird Chronicles is better known, I enjoyed this book much more. There are parallel stories here, told by story-tellers with different voices (or is it one story-teller?). Uncertainty here is well worth the mental effort to work things out. If you're con...
Although Windup Bird Chronicles is better known, I enjoyed this book much more. There are parallel stories here, told by story-tellers with different voices (or is it one story-teller?). Uncertainty here is well worth the mental effort to work things out. If you're confused at first, press on! This is a quick read, and ultimately, a satisfying one.

I would recommend any of Murakami's books. I understand there is another to be released quite soon. I can hardly wait!

posted by UgandaJim on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

desirable addition to any science fiction collection

Haruki Murakami, one of Japan's most popular writers and author of A wild Sheep Chase, pits man against mind in a tale of two parallel worlds, one devoid of 'self', the other trapped by its demands. As the two stories develop they gradually reveal a degree of interdepe...
Haruki Murakami, one of Japan's most popular writers and author of A wild Sheep Chase, pits man against mind in a tale of two parallel worlds, one devoid of 'self', the other trapped by its demands. As the two stories develop they gradually reveal a degree of interdependence perhaps unexpected. The narrator is a middle-aged man, post family and divorced, led on a journey of self-actualization. Due to the sole success of an experimental program installed in his brain that can safeguard data, he finds himself a pawn in a complex power play for the key to this invaluable technology. Life as he knows it takes on new meanings as he comes to terms with an End of the World scenario. Murakami creates an accessible and entertaining vehicle to pose the question of one's influence over our own memories, desires, and our external world of 'reality'. The superficial symbols of pop-culture, treks through dark underground tunnels, and age-old myths the likes of unicorns and walled cities often invoke parallels of a political rather than psychological nature impeding on the story's ability to create a truly deep exploration of the quest for self. On the whole, it is a desirable addition to any science fiction collection.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    My favorite Murakami book

    Although Windup Bird Chronicles is better known, I enjoyed this book much more. There are parallel stories here, told by story-tellers with different voices (or is it one story-teller?). Uncertainty here is well worth the mental effort to work things out. If you're confused at first, press on! This is a quick read, and ultimately, a satisfying one.

    I would recommend any of Murakami's books. I understand there is another to be released quite soon. I can hardly wait!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Another great Murakami read

    The characters were well developed, mysterious and comical at times. I loved how the imagery in both story lines mimicked each other. Only thing that held me back from 5/5 was the somewhat predictable revelation of why the 2 worlds exist.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Intoxicating

    This book reads like an episode of Lost, at once intelectually fascinating as well as deeply moving. I feel like i need another read throgh to fully appreciate and untangle-if such a thing is even possible-the two overlapping stoies. Despite the underlyig complexity, this book is the most accesible Murakami i have read (with After Dark and The Wind Up Bird Chronicle being the othrr books i have read so far).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great intro to Murakami

    Wierd and compelling

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    I chose this book for a school project because I had been wanting to read something by Haruki Murakami. It is quite amazing! Murakami must have a very unique imagination. I loved his writing style and the characters that he created. I would definetely recommend this book, however it is not for the faint of heart. To say it plainly, it is a little odd, weird, crazy at times. But I like that. :) Anyways, I look forward to reading more of his books as he is a very talented writer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Characters

    This book is a quick read that keeps the reader interested throughout the book. There are two stories taking place (alternating chapters) which merge together at the end. I loved the characters in this book. They are all unique, interesting, and important. Good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT book from Haruki Murakami.

    I really enjoyed reading HARD-BOILED WONDERLAND AND THE END OF THE WORLD. This story was very inventive. The dream library is definatly a place I would like to check out; although I would not want my eyes changed. I found the protagonist to be a person I could relate to. He was a man caught up in a world that he had no control of. And like all puppets, he wanted to know the future and where he fitted into it. His 'present' being what it was that created that thirst. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    Hard Boiled Wonderland is pure genius

    Murakami's Hard Boiled Wonderland is the best book that I have ever read.The multiple themes blend together with such wit.Murakami's writing skill is on a higher level.The book leaves you in suspense 24-7.I was always looking forward to seeing what was going to happen next in the book.It is hard to describe the feeling that the book gives you.All I can say is buy the book,I promise you will not be disapointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    One of my favorites!

    One of my favorites!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Great Contemporary Japanese Fiction

    Haruki Murakami is easily one of my favorite authors, and this particular book is, in my eyes, one of his best works. Two tales run beside each other throughout the book, seemingly unrelated until a climactic finale. It is a realistic fiction story with a fantastic, paranormal twist. It is a book that you should read more than once if you intend to catch all of the little details along the way. If you're looking for somethooo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Great book, confusing organization

    This book is amazing, the characters the plot, the parallelism between both stories. Yet the writing style made me read it incorrectly at first being so engrossed by the first chapter I read every other chapter to finish "Hard Boiled Wonderland" then went back and read "End of the World". But afterwards I read both stories side by side and it shows so many more levels of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping and Original

    In Murakami's mysterious world of "Calcutecs" and "Symeotics" one man finds himself stuck in the middle of an information war. What he doesn't know or understand is that the end of the world is near and he is the key.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    Marvelous Insanity

    The best way to describe this novel is marvelous insanity. At first nothing seems to fit together, but as the story progresses the two simultaneous plots meet seamlessly. I enjoyed every letter of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    one of murakami's best

    i've read most of murakami's works and this one is the most seamless, perfectly packaged novel from beggining to end. i felt that HBW and ETW was a bit different from all of Murakami's other novels. Murakami generally writes about metaphysical dimensions, and abstract/ out of reach 'worlds'. This novel was the only one where that world was more clearly defined and explained in detail. It was like seeing it in color, as compared to the dreamlike and greyish settings visited in other novels. this isnt a bad thing at all. it gives the story a more definition. furthermore, HBW and ETW one of murakami's more action packed stories. great great book. highly recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Fabulous

    I loved this book. I went insane trying to figure out how the two different stories were connected. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to read something interesting and different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    A wonderful read

    This book is fantastic. It is tied for first place with 'Kafka on the Shore' for favorite Murakami book of mine. It was ambitious and imaginative. Murakami tells two stories at once, of two different worlds, that he ties wonderfully together at the end, AND the beginning. It doesn't make sense yet, read it and it will.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    A great read

    Having read many of Murakami's books, I have to say that Hard Boiled is one of the best, topped only by the 'Wind Up Bird'. I picked it up after a hiatus of reading due to exams and as a Murakami fix before the new book hit stores, and I found it truly amazing. I cannot wait for 'Kafka' and hope that it will be able to match the writing and plot of 'Hard Boiled'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    Shadows and Simulacrum

    This book is structurally and thematically more complex than anything else he's written to date(except maybe Wind-Up Bird Chronicle). HBW+ETW is enjoyable on multiple levels, though I found that I did not fully appreciate the conclusion until the third read (probably a failure on my part, though I've heard that he rewrote it several times before deciding on the current conclusion). Jean Baudrillard is a theorist whose work I found makes for an interesting and appropriate companion to this title, but if you're not into lit. theory the genius of this book is that it's still accessible. Danny Boy, paperclips, unicorns, and genius . . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    Hard-boiled wonderland and the end of the World

    I have read almost all of Murakami's work. This book keeps you in suspence. As you are reading it, you look forward to the turning point when the two stories will merge. Great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    Best Effing Book I Have Ever Read

    To Read Is To Know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4