Customer Reviews for

Hard Choices

Average Rating 3
( 356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(154)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

124 out of 257 people found this review helpful.

I think a lot of these reviews are just because they dislike Mrs

I think a lot of these reviews are just because they dislike Mrs. Clinton and have not read the book at all. Just because you think you know what happpened at Benghazi and you have no clue as you were not there. Sad people cannot read a book with out politican nastiness...
I think a lot of these reviews are just because they dislike Mrs. Clinton and have not read the book at all. Just because you think you know what happpened at Benghazi and you have no clue as you were not there. Sad people cannot read a book with out politican nastiness.

posted by Bookster52 on June 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

89 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some

With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some other reviewers wrote I'm sure Hillary made a certain sign that she decided to go for President in the next election.




'Hard Choices' is a memoir that will equally divide the nation on the advocates and ...
With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some other reviewers wrote I'm sure Hillary made a certain sign that she decided to go for President in the next election.




'Hard Choices' is a memoir that will equally divide the nation on the advocates and opponents, and although I'm often telling in my reviews the book should be judged, not those who write them, in this case I have to say that this book was a more or less big disappointment.




On the positive side it cannot be denied that this work is written in good style, while Hillary in same time does not want to be too provocative, yet strives to intrigue the reader, but the reader after closing last of its 600 pages will wonder what added value this book offers, and what new we can learn from it that is already not known.




Therefore I think one does not need to bother whether you are democratic pro or Republican contra, but to be honest and say that this book simply does nothing to justify the overwhelming publicity that has been created around it. It's fully fair to say that 'Hard Choices' doesn't live up to the expectations that were created its release, but as I said in the beginning I'm certain that the future months will prove Clinton with its book unofficially announced her candidacy as a biographical book is always a great „litmus paper“ for such things.




Inside reader will find her story about the most important events which marked her four-year time spent on position of Secretary of State, divided in six parts marked by some common denominator, such as part where she discuss time she spent in Asian countries, war in the Middle East or part about the revolutions that marked few last years in Africa and Asia.




Although it is certain that the majority of people will have their opinion about the book when they see its cover, but still if you decide to read it I guess you'll feel just as I do now - as you could differently and in the better way spend invested time in its reading as book really does not offer anything particularly new and valuable due to which it would be worth to recommend its reading.

posted by LovetoReadRomance on June 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some

    With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some other reviewers wrote I'm sure Hillary made a certain sign that she decided to go for President in the next election.




    'Hard Choices' is a memoir that will equally divide the nation on the advocates and opponents, and although I'm often telling in my reviews the book should be judged, not those who write them, in this case I have to say that this book was a more or less big disappointment.




    On the positive side it cannot be denied that this work is written in good style, while Hillary in same time does not want to be too provocative, yet strives to intrigue the reader, but the reader after closing last of its 600 pages will wonder what added value this book offers, and what new we can learn from it that is already not known.




    Therefore I think one does not need to bother whether you are democratic pro or Republican contra, but to be honest and say that this book simply does nothing to justify the overwhelming publicity that has been created around it. It's fully fair to say that 'Hard Choices' doesn't live up to the expectations that were created its release, but as I said in the beginning I'm certain that the future months will prove Clinton with its book unofficially announced her candidacy as a biographical book is always a great „litmus paper“ for such things.




    Inside reader will find her story about the most important events which marked her four-year time spent on position of Secretary of State, divided in six parts marked by some common denominator, such as part where she discuss time she spent in Asian countries, war in the Middle East or part about the revolutions that marked few last years in Africa and Asia.




    Although it is certain that the majority of people will have their opinion about the book when they see its cover, but still if you decide to read it I guess you'll feel just as I do now - as you could differently and in the better way spend invested time in its reading as book really does not offer anything particularly new and valuable due to which it would be worth to recommend its reading.

    89 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    This has to be one of the worst books ever printed. It is a bori

    This has to be one of the worst books ever printed. It is a boring slow tedious read that does nothing to inform or entertain the reader. Definitely not worth the time or money spent.

    72 out of 180 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    This generation's Mein Kampf.  This book is a bunch of lies and

    This generation's Mein Kampf.  This book is a bunch of lies and a snoozefest.

    71 out of 268 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Minus stars

    What a waste of a tree. Nothing but lies a braggidocio about how great i am. This woman is nothing but a liar and a murderer that got 4 innocent men killed at benghazi. When confronted she replied what difference does it make. Do not waste money on this trash.

    63 out of 219 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    Started reading it yesterday.  Saw the interview with her last n

    Started reading it yesterday.  Saw the interview with her last night.  Couldn't read the book after watching her plastic facade.  She is admirable as a woman in what she went through and her strengths in dealing with bad times.  BUT..."Dead broke" after they left the White House?  THAT speaks volumes if you consider her level of quantifying what "broke" equates to.   In her own words "   first of all, we had to pay off all our debts which was, you know, we had to make double the money because of obviously taxes, and pay you have at debts, and get us houses and take care of family members."". Oh.  I am sorry, but I have trouble understanding what that means...Typical politician.  Threw the book in the recycle bin.  At least that way, the paper may get put to good use.    

    58 out of 161 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    okay forced myself to read a little wow really this is trash thi

    okay forced myself to read a little wow really this is trash this is a woman who did nothing as sec. of state did nothing as a senator and continues to do nothing shes like the paris Hilton of politics why is she famous and to top it off she stays with a guy who was screwing everything in site and she knows it she's a troll and this trash of a book is nothing more then her attempt at separating herself from Obama so she can run good thing I didn't waste my money on this and will certainly not waste my vote on her .

    53 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Awful

    I was hoping to read a non fiction book. What I read was a book of complete fiction that was not put together well at all. If Mrs. Clinton decides to write another book I hope her thoughts are more organized and truthful.

    51 out of 144 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Sigh....what a waste of my time. I was hoping for more authentic

    Sigh....what a waste of my time. I was hoping for more authenticity in this book.

    46 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Come on Hillary...show some passion, something. This stinks!

    Come on Hillary...show some passion, something. This stinks!

    42 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    4 More Years?

    Sad. We need a new generation of ghost writers.

    37 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My five word simple review: What difference does it make?

    My five word simple review: What difference does it make?

    29 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Boring

    Boring

    22 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    "What difference does it make":   Whether HRC or some

    "What difference does it make":  

    Whether HRC or someone else wrote this book, whether the reset button was really a restart button with Russia,
    whether as SOS she ignored her personal friend Ambassador Stevens' requests for more security in Benghazi, whether
    she was dead broke when leaving the White House or had $12 million plus waiting in the bank, whether or not she
    as a novice turned $1K into $100K investing in cattle futures almost over night, whether she genuinely champions
    women's issues except for those women who were victims of hubby's sexual aggressions, whether she hid subpoena
    court-ordered documents in the WH map room for over 2 years.  Yes, "what difference does it make" if like John Kerry
    she was for the Iraqi war and to appease the hard left is now against it.  

    As the late great NYT columnists William Safire once wrote, "Americans of all political persuasions are coming to the
    sad realization that our First Lady - a woman of undoubted talents who was a role model for many in her
    generation -- is a congenital liar."

    20 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Anonymous

    Ms Clinton's actions speak much louder than her words (lies)! Have not or will not waste my few dollars on her bunch of BS!

    19 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    My thoughts

    How can you stupid democrats believe such lies!! Hillary is the reason 4 americans are DEAD!!!! Have fun explaining to their families that they died because Hillary "didn't read her emails". Honestly not only does she lie and lie but some idots in this country are really dumb enough to believe her! On top of that, she is not a good role model for women!!! Her husband while PRESIDENT cheated on her, yet she forgave the jerk. I really hope she is not our next president because she would be and evan bigger failure and embarrasment than Obama. So yes if you dislike her don't spend your money on this waste of paper. No I have not read her book because I have no respect for her. And all you liberals out there that are pro-abortion a.k.a pro-death killing is wrong no matter what age the person is, life is sacred from conception to natural death, you need to find Jesus.

    19 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    My sister is a huge progressive and was set to vote for Hillary.

    My sister is a huge progressive and was set to vote for Hillary... until she read this book. I was happy she was finally coming to the side of reason. She finished it and asked me to read it, at first I refused, but then I decided to at least try and read it. I was literally unable to get passed the first 50 pages before I got nauseous. I wouldn't buy it.

    18 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Reviews are better than the book.

    I read all of the posted reviews prior to placing my review and found a lot of the reviews were a hoot. Yes, I agree many reviews are based on one's party of choice. However, I'm sorry to point out that Dick Chaney has never been president. I also think we live in an awesome country no matter whom is in office.

    My reasons for giving this book one star is it's boring, and and poorly written. Mrs. Clinton was passing blame and didn't clearly own up to anything. This book rambles and is hard to keep reading. A true waste of time and money.

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Liar



    Does anyone really trust this woman
    ?

    18 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    I hate everything she stands for and her.

    I hate everything she stands for and her.

    18 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    To be fair, I wasn't going to read this book. I am not a fan of

    To be fair, I wasn't going to read this book. I am not a fan of Hillary Clinton - not because of her questionable activity with Benghazi - which has reconfirmed my opinion of her, but because, as a woman, I viewed her behavior with her known-philandering husband and her support of him as self-serving, dishonest, and I believe she set back the true woman's movement by a century. So my review can be viewed as biased.

    But I attempted to read this book with an open mind - and you as a reader of my review can view this as a true attempt.

    What I read was a Campaign for a Future Wannabe President with questionable experience and very dark spots on her past. Everyone reading this will do themselves a favor to research the Real Hillary - back to her anti-Nixon/campus protest days. I have followed news - watching and reading anything I can - not just biased coverage from the left or the right - for many years. Watching the biased and complicit mainstream media's coverage of anything Hillary-focused illustrates why our country is failing.

    But back to HARD CHOICES - a very weird title, if you ask me.

    This book - I did not buy it but did it the cheap way so as not to support her cause - was read in installments at my local book store along with segments released to the press for advertising over the past few days. I eventually decided not to finish reading it. It is fiction. Her story is filled with loopholes and lies. What is said in the book does not match up with what had really occurred. If I wanted to read fiction, I'd go to a different section of the book store.

    Knowing she will eventually put her hat in the ring to be POTUS scares me because she appeals to many - a woman, a wife of a cheater, a hater of men, the misinformed, the under-informed, the people who have something to gain - but the reality is that these are her faults as well. Hillary is a dangerous woman with a dangerous agenda and a large audience. She is incompetent and mostly, she lies. (Haven't we heard enough lies?)

    This book illustrates how comfortable Hillary Rodham Clinton is making up things that never occurred or that can be proven to be fictional.

    16 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8