Customer Reviews for

Hard Choices

Average Rating 3
( 355 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(153)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

124 out of 257 people found this review helpful.

I think a lot of these reviews are just because they dislike Mrs

I think a lot of these reviews are just because they dislike Mrs. Clinton and have not read the book at all. Just because you think you know what happpened at Benghazi and you have no clue as you were not there. Sad people cannot read a book with out politican nastiness...
I think a lot of these reviews are just because they dislike Mrs. Clinton and have not read the book at all. Just because you think you know what happpened at Benghazi and you have no clue as you were not there. Sad people cannot read a book with out politican nastiness.

posted by Bookster52 on June 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

89 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some

With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some other reviewers wrote I'm sure Hillary made a certain sign that she decided to go for President in the next election.




'Hard Choices' is a memoir that will equally divide the nation on the advocates and ...
With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some other reviewers wrote I'm sure Hillary made a certain sign that she decided to go for President in the next election.




'Hard Choices' is a memoir that will equally divide the nation on the advocates and opponents, and although I'm often telling in my reviews the book should be judged, not those who write them, in this case I have to say that this book was a more or less big disappointment.




On the positive side it cannot be denied that this work is written in good style, while Hillary in same time does not want to be too provocative, yet strives to intrigue the reader, but the reader after closing last of its 600 pages will wonder what added value this book offers, and what new we can learn from it that is already not known.




Therefore I think one does not need to bother whether you are democratic pro or Republican contra, but to be honest and say that this book simply does nothing to justify the overwhelming publicity that has been created around it. It's fully fair to say that 'Hard Choices' doesn't live up to the expectations that were created its release, but as I said in the beginning I'm certain that the future months will prove Clinton with its book unofficially announced her candidacy as a biographical book is always a great „litmus paper“ for such things.




Inside reader will find her story about the most important events which marked her four-year time spent on position of Secretary of State, divided in six parts marked by some common denominator, such as part where she discuss time she spent in Asian countries, war in the Middle East or part about the revolutions that marked few last years in Africa and Asia.




Although it is certain that the majority of people will have their opinion about the book when they see its cover, but still if you decide to read it I guess you'll feel just as I do now - as you could differently and in the better way spend invested time in its reading as book really does not offer anything particularly new and valuable due to which it would be worth to recommend its reading.

posted by LovetoReadRomance on June 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    I thought this area was for book review. Those who have given 1

    I thought this area was for book review. Those who have given 1 star are those who hate either the Democrats or Hillary Clinton.
    Is this a good book to read or not?

    I understand the Bengazi issue, but our former president Dick Chaney caused the death of lot more Americans in Iraq.

    19 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Enjoyed book

    Have to laugh at so many of these reviews! It appears that Fox News staffers and conservatives have been working overtime to write these negative comments! I enjoyed the book...a lot of insightful info. However, since this is basically a political book, I suggest people read it themselves and form their own opinions!

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    I find it hard to believe all of these negative reviews came fro

    I find it hard to believe all of these negative reviews came from people who actually read the book. Clearly, the campaign against Clinton has already started & extends to Barnes & Noble. Absurd!

    10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Informative--well worth it

    Hillary Clinton's book is organized by world region, with some history, a review of then-current people who are influential in the events, and an explanation on a "high" level of what occurred during her tenure as Secretary of State. It was interesting and informative to learn about the backgrounds, complexities, and personalities that were "in play"; I also found her articulation of the competing values and policies comprehensible and helpful. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to better understand our current events around the world.
    There are some "tediums" -- to many people to thank or praise (it's not that they do not deserve it -- it just gets tedious to read them all.) This was particularly true in the chapter about pulling her team together -- I skimmed it. But that was easy to do, and the content that was offered was well worth it.
    Yes, it had a second purpose of articulating her values and views for her presidential run. But she acknowledged mistakes made, held herself to a high standard of care, and demonstrated both values and strategies that would likely be implemented should she become president -- which in my view also makes it worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Recommend

    Putting partisan politics aside, this book provides a good review of world politics over the last decade with some personal asides about leaders which makes it less tedious to read. It gives an appreciation of how hard so of many world leaders are trying to make the right decisions in light of fear and mistrust. It is organized to focus on different areas of the world and keeping a map in view of that area helps one to understand how complex political, economical, and social issues are. This would be a good read for those who cannot keep up with the real world news because of life's schedules and lack of balance news on our cable tv stations.
    I have never thought of reading a 700 page book on news but this book kept my attention.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    People either gave this book 1 or 5 stars. Most of those who tra

    People either gave this book 1 or 5 stars. Most of those who trashed it seem to be very politically motivated. None of their reviews were helpful. 

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Foreign Policy Is Different in the 21st Century!

    Hilary Clinton's account of her time as Secretary of State reflects the present time we are living through at the beginning of the 21st Century. The world has been in transition for decades, but the speed in which change is occurring in all countries throughout the world demands new thinking and policies. The role of the U.S. is being transformed due to technology and shifts in thinking in so many more countries than in the last century. Hilary Clinton explains her rationale for traveling as Secretary to mend fences with countries after the previous administration's actions that did have a negative effect, and she, also, explains fully her foresight in the importance in establishing new relationships with big and small Asian countries and fostering dialogue with major Asian countries such as India, China, and Japan. The U.S. relationship and alliances must be reviewed and even in some cases shift. Hilary Clinton explains how diplomacy must be valued and contacts established and maintained if the U.S. is to continue it's standing in the world.

    Perhaps, many reviewers, journalists, and politicians wanted Hilary Clinton to bad mouth, and get into the dirt--they want drama! This book does not feed those who are driven by drama and the dissing of others, but does give an accounting of Hilary Clinton's work as Secretary of State.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Interim review

    It is quite a large book to read, so I have not finished it yet, but I am enjoying it thoroughly so far. I'm only about 150 pages into the book. Based on what I have read to date, I'd highly recommend it to anyone. Hillary's thought process and reasoning are very enlightening. I find it very interesting - as I do in almost all memoirs and autobiographies I've read - to read about how and why various writers analyse and play out the very multifacetted situations they face and come to the decisions they make. Hillary is obviously a very bright and capable person who will most probably be a very fine president, should she decide to run for that office again and get voted in of course.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    Whether a person likes or dislikes Mrs. Clinton for whatever rea

    Whether a person likes or dislikes Mrs. Clinton for whatever reason(s) is beside the point.  This is a book that should be read by everyone.  It is  an interesting read, relevant to what is making news, and whether you believe the narrative, give the author the time and space to make her point, then decide for yourself how you feel.  I'm not sure she is my choice for president (at this point) but everyone deserves a hearing.  Don't allow yourself to be informed by the news media alone, read the book thoughtfully and make up your own mind.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Good book

    Tear your eyes away from fox news for one second and you just might remember you had a mind of your own once upon a time. All you naysayers clawing and tearing your hair out because you miss your dick cheney regime. So nasty.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Intetesting read

    Gives an idea of what makes her tick and the age and environment she comes from. A hard driving person starting with her college years. Loves her family, benghazi was interesting, not in depth.. i admire her intelligence. It isnt a page turner but woth the read.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Ava

    A girl slept quietly in her bed, naked due to the heat of the night, a breeze blowing from her open window

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    I did read it

    Unlike wing nut trolls who were encouraged to trash this book even though they did not read it, I did. The book shows a brilliant mind with a steel trap memory for every detail. This kind of mind is essential for the international tight rope Clinton navigated. Unfortunately the book reads like a political treatise, often bogged in unnecessary detail. Clinton dealt with multiple situations, firmly and gracefully. She is a credit to the nation. (5***** for content, 3*** for style which does affect readability.)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    much better than anticipated

    I was expecting another fluff piece written for campaign purposes. It is actually much better than that. This is a very interesting history of American diplomacy under Obama/Hillary. Every voter should read this to get a better understanding of how diplomacy functions and the unbelievable complexity that pervades every step.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    I really enjoyed the book. Easy read and have always appreciate

    I really enjoyed the book. Easy read and have always appreciated her spirit and determination. She is a great role model.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    Very interesting to read her perspectives on our relationships w

    Very interesting to read her perspectives on our relationships with other countries. Makes you realize just how much is occurring behind the scenes. Sometimes she pushes her political agenda and differentiates herself from other possible candidates, but overall it will give you a good perspective of her thoughts, beliefs, and abilities to work with other governments and other politicians. Recommend it to anyone trying to learn more about prospective presidential candidates.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2