Customer Reviews for

Hard Corps: From Gangster to Marine Hero

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Grewl

    Great book if you love or are you are in military

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    a true warriors book

    Hard corps is a amazing book, though some might be offended by martinez's teelling it like it is i (and probly many others) belive that it would not be a true marine memoir if he diddnt. Hard corps is and amazing book telling the story of Marco Martinez, and how he grew up a good for nothing, trash talking, gun toting, gangster, to a proud United States Marine, who was the first latino-american to be awarded the navy cross (second only to the medal of honor) since veitnom. the major themes are very easy to decipher in this book, Honor, Duty, Pride, and Faith are all present within it. anyone who likes military books or movies should read this and i have absolutly nothing bad to say about it. I give it a 12 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    Thoroughly Enjoyed Reading Marinez's Story

    I enjoyed reading Martinez's story and learning of his transformation from an aimless, self-absorbed, cowardly punk to a man steeled under fire by experiences that one would not wish on their enemy. I am very proud of men like Martinez and his fellow Marines past and present who have layed it all on the line and continue to do so for you and me. <BR/><BR/>I also appreciate him shooting from the hip and telling it like it is. Some may take offense at the truth Martinez shares with the reader. So if you are a whiny liberal you may not want to read a healthy dose of truth. Martinez clearly states how he feels "...The Marines I know don¿t have a lot of patience for b......t. In fact, a healthy hatred for b......t is hardwired into us; it¿s part of our training. Come to think of it, we Marines hate a lot of things: We hate .......Senator John "I married rich" Kerry who thinks their Ivy League diplomas somehow make them better than all us military dum-dums who didn't study hard enough and got "stuck in Iraq" (what an arogant ass that guy is)....." The truth is the truth and Martinez lays it out all there like it is. "If they want to say the Military breeds violence, I disagree. And I should know. Sometimes it takes having used violence for both evil as well as good to know there's a profond moral difference between the two. Violence isn't senseless. Senseless violence is senseless."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    A 'must read' for those who serve or have served in The Corps

    For those people who have any sort connection with the Marine Corps, I believe you will definitely enjoy this book. For those who don't and have ever wanted an honest insight into what life in the corps is like, this book is also for you. Martinez holds back nothing as he recounts his experiences growing up and as a grunt in the marines. And as you read, every word of will have you glued to the book from beginning to end. It is a quick and easy read however, don't underestimate it, it is no doubt an exciting, action packed, and motivating book to read. You may even stop from time to time and reminisce about some of your experiences in the Marine Corps while reading. I absolutely recommend this book to any and all Marines whether active, retired, or reservist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    Important facts to know before reading this book.

    While this book may be criticized for it's lack of a two sided approach to the war and it's participants, it's important to keep in mind these few things while reading or condsidering reading this book. One, the negative views of Swofford 'Author of Jarhead' are shared almost to a man among active duty Marines. Jarhead was Swofford's personal take on his experience and this is the view of Martinez. Martinez is the type of Marine you hope to serve with, lead or follow. Swofford spent his time over-analyizing the group of people he freely chose to serve with then threw them under the bus in his accounts of their accomplishments in battle (whether true or made up by him). Most would rather administratively seperate Swofford from active duty than serve with him whereas Martinez is what you'd like to make a platoon from. Two, a comparison of the authors isn't fair based on their backgrounds and own life experiences prior to joining the Marines. Martinez was a gang banger who grew up in the streets and became a Marine to escape that life. He entered the Corps a menace to society in most ways but returned to society as a positive example of what the Marines can do with a wayward young man and more importantly a war hero who loves his country and would lay down his life to defend her. Swofford joined the Marines probably as an effort to make his parents mad more than anything else and then whined about his experience as an effort to turn a buck. It worked for him and he was probably smart to give it a go, it is doubtful anything other than his experience in the Marines could have given him the motivation and hands on experience to write such a story in the first place. Well educated and well provided for, Swofford came not only from the other side of the fence than Martinez. He came from a completely different area code. If you enjoy reading stories of true combat experience from a warrior's perspective then by all means buy this book and recommend it to friends. If you prefer to read stories that are likely to be printed in the New York Times then buy a subscription to that filthy rag. Lord knows they could use the help these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1