BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hard Country

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    True grit!

    I absolutely love this book and have recommended it to others who enjoy reading about the "West." While reading, I really felt I knew these characters for who/what they were. Love this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    I'm a huge McGarrity fan -- have read all of his books set in New Mexico. This book goes back in time when settlers first started coming to New Mexico. Very well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Excellent

    This book reminded me of books by Louis LaAmour. However, here we have more character development. I liked the accuracy displayed in the historical setting as well as the locations used in the development of the story.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Loved this book!! Couldn't put it down. Please, oh please have

    Loved this book!! Couldn't put it down. Please, oh please have a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    This epic backstory blew me away

    Right from the start you understand the title. Hard Country indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Didnt like Thought it would be good to many fill in words gibberish

    I thought i would like it to many fill in the story places gibberish i wont read another

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    LIKED IT VERY MUCH, BUT YOU DIDNT FINISH THE STORY. I ASSUME THE

    LIKED IT VERY MUCH, BUT YOU DIDNT FINISH THE STORY. I ASSUME THERE WILL BE A SEQUEL. I SURE HOPE SO. IF SO-WHEN?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Great Book. Fun Read,

    Gave a great review of what life experiences were in that era and showed
    the way progress helped and hindered different aspects of their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    It has been a long time since I read a great book with a western setting. I came upon Hard Country during a browsing books session, and quickly read the review. I am not interested in "cowboy and indian" stories, but am tremendously interested in books about the old west. This seemed to be just the book I would enjoy. It was, and I did.

    I loved the book. McGarrity began the story immediately. The gist of the story began in the first couple of pages; there was no continual page turning before you began to understand where McGarrity was going with his plot. The major characters were quickly and firmly established. The surprise element of that part of the plot was magnificently developed. It was a bit difficult, however, keeping up with all of the outlaws woven into the story - not all were necessary. It was one of those books you need to keep pen and pad in hand to jot down minor characters as they appeared - a bit too many to keep in mind, which was a minor distraction along with locations of the story as it unfolded. My major criticism is McGarrity did not include a map of the New Mexico territory to help the reader orient themselves. Even being from New Mexico I had trouble identifying all locations in my mind.

    It was such a story that one finds themself caught up with the family as an unseen member. I loved reading this book, therefore it was hard for me to put down. However, the closer I came to the end the slower I read as I did not want the book to end.

    I hope Mr. McGarrity treats us to another of his stories very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Great book...I highly recommend

    Great historical novel with lots of twist and turns. You won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    5 star!!

    Living in the area that is being described it's easy to visualize
    the places being talked about but is also difficult to imagine the time it took to travel to the various areas in comparison to the times in these modern times..
    McGarrity had to do a lot of research to detail the story so accurately and many of the names mentioned were known as we had heard them from the historians.
    He is an excellent author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Highly recommended. An excellent read.

    McGarrity departs from his usual crime novels, to this historically accurate and compelling story of survival and redemption on the western frontier. The characters are believable and memorable. A week after finishing the book, I am still living with them and revisiting the story. It is especially great for anyone who enjoys good historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    This book is truly a Western epic novel. I home Michael will wr

    This book is truly a Western epic novel. I home Michael will write more historical Western novels since it obvious he has a great talent for it. I hated for it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Another great read from McGarrity

    I won't say it was my favorite McGarrity book, but if he continued the story with a sequel, I'd get it the day it came out. I've read all his books, some more than once & the way he tells a story brings you right in & you can't put it down. His descriptions of New Mexico's landscapes is so vivid, you can see it. Thanks Micheal, now get back to work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2