Customer Reviews for

Hard Eight (Stephanie Plum Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 593 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(372)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

YUMMY

Stephanie's at it again, and it was worth the wait!! Yummy describes this book. I couldn't put it down, and had to re-read certain sections of the book because I couldn't get enough. My department at work consists of 4 women and 2 men--all the women are reading the s...
Stephanie's at it again, and it was worth the wait!! Yummy describes this book. I couldn't put it down, and had to re-read certain sections of the book because I couldn't get enough. My department at work consists of 4 women and 2 men--all the women are reading the series, and the men all know who Ranger and Morelli are! Can't wait for #9--Hurry up Janet!

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Why can't we have some resoultions

Janet needs to give some kind of answers to the story line and not just leave it blowing in wind.And please lets loose the Ranger and Stephanie things.Let them be co worker and flirts but nothing more. Let her and Morelli get together and stay stop all the mind games th...
Janet needs to give some kind of answers to the story line and not just leave it blowing in wind.And please lets loose the Ranger and Stephanie things.Let them be co worker and flirts but nothing more. Let her and Morelli get together and stay stop all the mind games that seems to be Janet's way of making us always wonder , VISIONS was a little to over the top.But hope the feeling will carry over to 9.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Disappointing compared to the rest

    Nothing in this book did it for me. I usually enjoy grandma for the humor, and she isn't in this one very much. The new side-kick wasn't very funny, verging on annoying in my opinion, almost like ja-ja in Star Wars episode 1. And has anyone noticed the author writes the same chemistry for both Morelli and Ranger? They're using the same lines "liar", "cupcake", etc for Stephanie; similiar descriptions for the way Morelli and Ranger touch Stephanie; I know I would like a little variation here. I think she writes off Morelli too suddenly and introduces Ranger's affection too fast. The crime was not engrossing as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Why can't we have some resoultions

    Janet needs to give some kind of answers to the story line and not just leave it blowing in wind.And please lets loose the Ranger and Stephanie things.Let them be co worker and flirts but nothing more. Let her and Morelli get together and stay stop all the mind games that seems to be Janet's way of making us always wonder , VISIONS was a little to over the top.But hope the feeling will carry over to 9.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Hoping Morelli and Steph back together in #9

    While I love the Stephanie Plum series, this wasn't one of the best. I'm glad Evanovich glossed over the love scene between Ranger and Stephanie because (to me anyway) I wouldn't have wanted to read it. She loves Morelli and I hope they get back together in #9. Stephanie had her fun with Ranger, now it's time for Morelli to get back in the picture. Still recommend reading this book, though. Not as great as the other ones but die-hard Plum fan have to read it to keep up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Heyyy

    Hey what happened to going on eight.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2003

    Reader Can Sell A Book

    I have read all of the 'number books' but have not enjoyed this one as much as the others. I find myself so consumed by the reader's voice that I have not been able to concentrate on the story. Readers 1 & 2 were very good, reader 3 was good but Ms. King does not do the story justice. She certainly is not from the 'berg' and Lulu should be offended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    Still up to her old tricks

    I have read all the previous novels and I must say that this eighth one is exactly like the other ones. Overall, it was good, but it got stale after the third or fourth (I lost count) car bombing. And the whole rabbit angle was beaten way too much. Hopefully in Stephanie Plum's next adventure, she grows some balls and starts acting tougher. Maybe give sister Valerie some more time in the book, she seems like a tough cookie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Not the best.

    This wasn't the best Stephanie Plum that I have read. I wonder if Janet has gone the way of many writers that have achieved a taste of fame and then the writing lags.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    ┬┐Miss Congeniality┬┐ (without the makeover and pageantry)!

    This timely novel is about a single woman making her way in the world to create her own identity. It is a ¿Miss Congeniality¿ (without the makeover and pageant). Stephanie Plum, a bond agent ¿Bounty Hunter of The Burg¿ which is a small suburb of New Jersey, has you whirling through more characters than you can recall in an electrifying adventure that keeps the pages turning. Stephanie puts herself out on a limb, as a favor for a little old lady who can¿t stop crying about a missing family member. Suspense centers on not knowing when, where or by whom she¿ll be whacked! Men seem to miraculously appear whenever trouble lurks and heroically rescue her. ¿A typical damsel in distress.¿ During all this excitement, she can¿t decide whose tongue she¿d like in unmentionable areas. It is hard to believe she could feel lonely and considers her life dull with ¿hard bodies¿ close by. This female ¿Rambo¿ knows how to work the jungle without a bazooka and is in constant evolution and self-analysis. At the end of the book, you find that your dialect has changed to that of the ¿Bronx¿ and conclude that the main character¿s auto insurance will be cancelled. The author becomes exhausted near the end of the book because the ending looses its zeal. Fortunately, from the background of the characters, you can make your own happy ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2002

    Loved it, yet hated it...

    I sit eagerly awaiting the next Stephanie Plum book, so let me begin by saying that Hard Eight is not my favorite of the series. I loved the humor in this volume it had me laughing out loud (as I had hoped for). Stephanie's adventure with her newest addition Kloughn had me ready to scream because he kept tagging along, but actually I came to love the scenes with him. I'm not giving a lot away by saying the dryer scene alone makes Kloughn one of the highlights of this episode in the Stephanie Plum series. I may be one of the few though who found the last 50 or so pages to be a non-stop rush of events that built from her heated flirting with Ranger to a blink of an eye event that made me go back to make sure I hadn't skipped over some pages. The book flashed over a scene between Stephanie and Ranger that made you think 'Wait, What happened?' It was like a cliffhanger that wasn't because you knew the answer but none of the facts. Let me just say Stephanie and Ranger have had some of the hottest flirting through several of the previous books and Hard Eight let it hit straight ice water. And Abruzzi (the bad guy of the book) was scary and had me jumpy, but in only a few pages it was over. The book seemed to heavily edited or something. I love that Janet is usually full of Stephanies thoughts about everything that happens to her and in this book two rather major events went wham bam thank you ma'am fast without satisfying me. I'll read the book over and over because I love the series but it's not my favorite. The humor of the book held me though, so it is worth a try, but if you wonder like I did what happened in the ending you aren't alone...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    A die hard Plum fan

    Hard Eight is not as entertaining as the previous S. Plum novels. The storyline was well worth developing, her characters still off-beat and yet it fell a bit flat. Perhaps the 'love scene' with Ranger was the most disappointing. How does Morelli rate pages and the pantingly erotic Ranger get a couple of paragraphs. For those of us that were looking forward to vicariously melting, it left much to be desired. But, I will reread this book as well as anything further that Ms. Evanovich delivers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    been there done that

    That is how this series is beginning to feel to me. While there are great moments with Bob the dog, and the new character Kloughn, the characters all need a reality check. There is great potential for the next book if there is character growth. Or at least if she figures out how to deal with a fugitive situation. At this point I think a smooth capture would be funnier than all these botched ones. And some more show and less tell would be great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    Learning curve dropout

    I have read the previous 7 books in the Stephanie Plum series with great enjoyment, but something in this 8th one seemed too much 'over the top' for me. The new characters seem more like caricatures than real people, the plot a little convoluted, and most importantly why has Stephanie not learned anything about being a bounty agent yet! She still goes headlong into dangerous situations with her gun in her purse or her pepper spray stuck into her tight jeans pocket. It is definitely time for her to have learned something about how to correctly do her job or else find a new profession!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4