Customer Reviews for

Hard Eight (Stephanie Plum Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 598 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(375)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stephanie Plum the Bond Enforcer!

From the moment you pick this book up till the moment you put it down. It will have you guessing all the way through it. You as the reader follows Stephanie throughout the story. Stephanie is in the Fugitive Apprehensive Business also known as Bond Enforcement. If you a...
From the moment you pick this book up till the moment you put it down. It will have you guessing all the way through it. You as the reader follows Stephanie throughout the story. Stephanie is in the Fugitive Apprehensive Business also known as Bond Enforcement. If you are comfortable with finding people who didn't show up for court and putting your life in danger, Then this is a regular job for you or if you are just a thrill seeker then this book is for you. Not only is the mystery part of it good but also the romance part of the story. How would you feel if the love of your life left you because of your career? Find out what Stephanie does in order to deal with that, all you have to do is buy this book and open up the first page.
In my opinion I feel that this book is an excellent book. I am not the type to pick up a book and actually finish it but as soon I picked this one up I never put it down. From the first page to the very last page I was always was satisfied with the story. I highly recommend this book.

posted by AnnabelleC on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Getting Stale

Ok, I have to be honest. I have read all the books in this series up to Hard Eight. The first 3 or so were enjoyable...but since then each book has been the same recycled stuff, and by now the attempts at comedy just sort of fall flat. Grandma Mazur talking about pri...
Ok, I have to be honest. I have read all the books in this series up to Hard Eight. The first 3 or so were enjoyable...but since then each book has been the same recycled stuff, and by now the attempts at comedy just sort of fall flat. Grandma Mazur talking about private parts and other inappropriates, mysterious Ranger trying to seduce Stephanie, Morelli and Stephanie bickering but still hot for each other, Stephanie, Lula and Joyce Barnhart getting into a physical altercation or two, Stephanie feeding her hampster Rex, Stephanie's mother being exasperated....its just getting old!! The part about Stephanie's sister Valerie attempting to become a lesbian was dumb, too. At this point I have no desire to read #9. I'm disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Quick Read

    Love Stephanie Plum!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Another great book in the Stephanie Plum Series!

    If you love the Stephanie Plum series books by Janet Evanovich, you can add another to your list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    HIGHLY

    ANOTHER GREAT ONE IN A GREAT SERIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!

    I just finished book 9 and so far I have been so amused by all the books!
    Evanovich does a great job at keep true to the story line but inventing different situations for the characters that keep you coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Very Enjoyable

    So far, all the Stephanie Plum book are entertaining and very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Almost there, but not quite

    I still love the series, but this was the one that started things going downhill....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    Good

    Another good addition to the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    It's a Very Good Read! Enjoy!

    Yes, I like the characters with all their flaws. This is a very good read. Thanks Janet E.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Great Read, Full of Spice

    If you were left holding your breath or picking your jaw off the floor at the conclusion of Seven Up, then you are in for a real treat in Hard Eight. Fugitive Apprehension Agent 'aka Bounty Hunter' Stephanie Plum is back trying to make the streets of Trenton, New Jersey a little safer. Her parents neighbor Mabel Markvitz approaches Stephanie to try to enlist her help to find her daughter Evelyn and her granddaughter Annie. Mabel fears this has something to do with Evelyn¿s ex-husband Steven Soder. Unfortunately for Stephanie, she soon learns that Steven¿s business partner Eddie Abruzzi wants something for Evelyn too. Abruzzi declares war on Stephanie, leaving his goons to make her life miserable and dangerous. Stepanie, LuLu and Evelyn¿s attorney Albert Kloughn are on the hunt for Evelyn, Annie, and the FTA Andy Bender. After losing several pairs of handcuffs, a few cars not to mention a rabid rabbit on the loose Stephanie is forced to enlist the aid of Ranger, Bounty Hunter extraordinaire. Ranger is more than willing to help and collect on his debt, which leaves Stephanie panting and nervous. Not to mention Joe Morelli, her on again off again boyfriend/ fiancé etc. around every corner. Once again Janet Evanovich uses well-executed storylines and witty character narratives to pull the reader on an exciting roller coaster. Full of laughs, twists and a night alone with Ranger, Hard Eight delivers everything the reader wants and then some. Valerie Jones

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    Hard Eight Brings Stephanie Back to life!

    Hard Eight is a great book for those of you who are fans of the plum series. I was starting to loose interest after seven up which I found to be a liitle too predictable and less funny than the previous books. But Hard Eight brought back the excitment and laughter that drew me the series in the first place. The characters are funnier than ever and you never stop wondering how Stephanie will ever get herself in the messes she find herself in! I thought is was great book to keep fans interested and charging forward to the next Stephanie adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    FUNNY! FUNNY! FUNNY!

    I am originally from Trenton, NJ. I have read all of her books (except to the nines) and I thought this was the funniest. I laughed so hard I cried. I hope she writes many, many more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Good book

    Bella (sammyandoslo@yahoo.com), a lover of Janet Evanovich novels, July 3, 2003, hilarious I have read to all of these books. I was reading this one on at work during lunch time and I was laughing so hard! I like all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Hard Eight?

    This one wasn't bad, I really enjoyed 6 & 7 but this one was kinda flat...But it doesn't mean I can wait too much longer for 9! I have really loved reading this series. Keep it up Janet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Can't wait for Nine

    Stephanie is up to her old tricks. I must say the car destruction is getting alittle old. I don't see how Stephanie can continue to get insurance. But all in all, a really good read with the usual - and some new - humorous characters and conflicts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    Hilarious and Sexy! READ IT!!!

    This was my first Stephanie Plum Novel and thought it was great... then i read all the others and still thought it was great but not as good as 1-7. Definetly looking forward to reading Visions of Sugar Plums and Nine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    Stephanie Plum gets her men

    Bounty Hunter Stephanie Plum is at it again. Readers are in for another bumpy ride as the usual crises come her way and they just keep on coming from page one to the very end. And as for her love life that continues to be bumpy (well something like that) as well, between Morelli and Ranger. I think Evanovich is the most amusing writer writing today and how she makes such tragic events funny is her own art form. Can¿t wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    It Doesn't get hotter than this

    Wow! Stephanie goes from being attacked by tarantulas, to being chased by a rabbit but, its ranger, who finally catches her and the heat is on. This is a must read! It is Stephanie at her all time best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    getting lucky!

    Wow, Stephanie went from getting none to getting it from Ranger and Morelli. It's about time with Ranger! I can imagine him being so sexy! Anyway...great book. I find myself laughing out loud , my husband looking at me like I've just lost my mind. As usual Janet's writing is hilarious. I hope she keeps them coming. Surely Steph isn't going to call it quits!? Or time for a new series of books??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    Laugh-out-loud scenes highlight Hard Eight

    The passage about Kloughn in the dryer was worth the price of Hard Eight. I laughed out loud--repeatedly! Several other scenes elicited a chuckle too. The cast of characters was not as engaging as those in previous books, though. While I enjoyed this very quick read, I do hope that Stephanie can learn--at least a little bit--from her mistakes. I don't think that will make her a less interesting character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Bring back Stephanie's Jersey accent!

    This is a great series, light and exciting, enough romance without being sappy, but enough action to make it interesting. I was introduced to the first one as an audio book and I was hooked. One of the best things about Stephanie is her 'Jersey-ness', she's spunky and she is a product of her environment, which makes the things that happen to her more believable. This was great when Lori Petty was Stephanie's voice on the first couple of books and even still good on the next few with Debi Mazar. In the last two books Stephanie is missing some of her spunk and sounds like she's aged 10 years. For those of us who enjoy the listening experience, please bring back a performer who can capture the feeling of the character. Many of the quips are hilarious if done correctly, but fall flat without the accent. Stephanie's great and I want to see more of her, and, in case anyone is keeping score, I vote for Morelli!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7