Customer Reviews for

Hard Luck (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 495 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

417 out of 778 people found this review helpful.

Diary of a wimpy kid

Sooooooooooooooooooooo good

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

531 out of 647 people found this review helpful.

I am so excited for this to come out

Omg i love the wimpy series! I am a huge fan! I am almost eleven and i started reading the series when i was 9 and i love them i recommend them for all ages I am so excited for the 8th one to come out! I highly recommend this book

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Load

    I am a very big fan of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, I think all the books are amazing. However this book will not load so I don't know if I'm being charged for nothing

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    It wont load

    It won't load!!!!!!:(

    19 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Nice

    Just by reading the sample I want it but why is it that all the good books are not free

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Test

    Ok

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Good book just will not load

    Will not load

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    It wont let me read

    I am not happy about it

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Oh, dear me! Another ┬┐Wimpy Kid┬┐ book? What is this now, numbe

    Oh, dear me! Another “Wimpy Kid” book? What is this now, number 8? How many more will there be? I wonder if down the road we’ll be reading “Diary of a Wimpy Senior Citizen” about Greg Heffley’s activities while living in a nursing home (I made a similar comment in my review of the previous “Wimpy Kid” book too). These “Wimpy Kid” books are apparently extremely popular, and many people evidently like them. As you may tell, however, I do not, yet the publisher keeps sending me each new one for review. In Hard Luck, the story revolves around the fact Greg’s best friend, Rowley Jefferson, has ditched him because Rowley now has a girlfriend, Abigail. A lot of godly parents strenuously object to children’s books which emphasize the dating/going steady scene for kids, especially as young as middle school.

    Along the way, the plot, what little of it there is, meanders through a Rottweiler named Rebel, the Mingo kids who live in the woods on the way to school, the Heffley’s strange relatives, a bunch of students who run an old assignments recycling racket in an unused school storeroom, even Greg’s new friend Fregley who can blow bubbles by “chewing” gum with his belly button, and a “Magic 8 Ball.” There are some references to “dog poop,” and the euphemistic “darn it” is used once. Greg reads all the books in “the Slumber Party Pal series” and thinks that popularity is based on stuff like what kinds of brand-name clothes one wears or what kind of cell phone he has. One of Greg’s aunts is into psychics, and his Gramma supposedly has ESP. Also a reference to playing the lottery occurs. A lot of parents I know would just as soon that their children NOT have many of these kinds of things paraded before them.

    As I’ve said of the other “Wimpy Kid” books that I’ve reviewed, Hard Luck isn’t an evil or even necessarily a bad story. However, the book illustrates all the things about public school life which have caused so many parents to pull their kids out and homeschool them so that they can have more positive experiences. Also, as we were raising our boys, we had much better hopes for our family than what the Heffleys exemplify. If what happens to them and what they do are “normal,” it may well help to explain why our culture is headed downward. Each family will have to decide whether the “Wimpy Kid” books are appropriate for their children or not, but I don’t really recommend them. From a Biblical worldview and even a literary standpoint, so much truly good, beneficial children’s literature is available that it is a shame to waste one’s reading time on what amounts to junk.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Good read for Kids and adults!

    My 11-year old grandson was thrilled to receive this book for his 12/1 birthday. He has read the whole series and this boy is not typically a reader. His aunt read it after him and also enjoyed it. I can recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Boo

    Short sample. BOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Didnt cut it this time

    Okay wasn't as good as the other ones not.worth the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2