Customer Reviews for

Hard Measures: How Aggressive CIA Actions after 9/11 Saved American Lives

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Fast paced and inteligent

Reads like a tom clancy novel except its true! A must read!!!

posted by 4384449 on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Must read but should be read with Black Banners by Ali Soufan

This book covers much of the same material as The Black Banners by Ali Soufan but from the CIA perspective. This book is best read with the Black Banners. The two books sometimes supplement each other. They sometimes complement each other. They sometimes contradict each...
This book covers much of the same material as The Black Banners by Ali Soufan but from the CIA perspective. This book is best read with the Black Banners. The two books sometimes supplement each other. They sometimes complement each other. They sometimes contradict each other. Together they present a fuller and more accurate account of the war against Al Qaeda. What I found most interesting is the difference in viewpoints about what to do with the terrorists after you stop them. The FBI wants to convict and imprison them. The CIA seems to feel this is not their business. The result is the limbo of Guantanamo prison which is neither a civilian prison nor a POW camp but something of both.

posted by lgken on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Fast paced and inteligent

    Reads like a tom clancy novel except its true! A must read!!!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    WOW! This is a real eye opener. I don't think I would be able to

    WOW! This is a real eye opener. I don't think I would be able to put up with one tenth of the horse hooey that those folks who dedicate thier lives to keeping the rest of us safe have to deal with. And i don't mean all the really horrible bad guys they shield us from every day, I mean thier own government and fellow citizens, the ones who should be the most supportive! It is astounding to me that our best and brightest still choose to serve.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Highly Rcommended

    Excellent read, Jose Rodriguez is a great patriot.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Excellent reading. Warning... Not for LIberals

    This book shows just how screwed up our politicians and our political process CAN be!!!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Corrects misperceptions

    Hard Measures shows the reader in detail just what enhanced interrogations are.

    It clearly shows that waterboarding is NOT torture. Our own military people are subjected to this. The enemy has long been prepared for this. Loud music and standing for long times .....also not torture.

    The book points out that by just killing with drones, we do not get any intelligence to stop future attacks.

    This book is for anyone who wants to learn the truth about our government and our military.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Spesking truth indeed

    Well written and compelling narrative must read story of a greatly undervalued American hero

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Must read but should be read with Black Banners by Ali Soufan

    This book covers much of the same material as The Black Banners by Ali Soufan but from the CIA perspective. This book is best read with the Black Banners. The two books sometimes supplement each other. They sometimes complement each other. They sometimes contradict each other. Together they present a fuller and more accurate account of the war against Al Qaeda. What I found most interesting is the difference in viewpoints about what to do with the terrorists after you stop them. The FBI wants to convict and imprison them. The CIA seems to feel this is not their business. The result is the limbo of Guantanamo prison which is neither a civilian prison nor a POW camp but something of both.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Insightful

    It is a shame to see how honorable members of one of our governments most important organizations are repeatedly dragged over the coals for doing the legal and right thing. To cause a terrorist discomfort in order to save lives (American, European, Middle Eastern or other) is not a crime, it's a necessity. This book was very good at showing how our intelligence service responded after the attacks on 9/11 and the techniques that they used to save lives. Very, very well written insightful book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    A must read before next election!

    I read after seeing his interview on 60 Minutes. We owe a debt of gratitude for all willing to put themselves in such a position to protect our country...in or out of uniform!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    you must check it out

    the book sounds factual.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Very well written book by Jose Rodriguez. After you read this book you have a full understanding of the value of interrogation programs that thwart more terrorist attacks and help make our country safer. You leave with a better understanding of how Courageous CIA Officers really are putting themselves in harm's way to protect our nation. A Must Read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    A Very Slippery slope

    From Evernote:
    Rodriguez book
    I really didn't know what to expect from the Rodriguez book as I began to read it. As a special forces officer in Vietnam, I encountered the Vietnamese torturing VC prisoners. They employed "crank up" wired telephones. I suspect the VC thought the electricity would hurt them, but maybe they thought they were at a great risk of being killed. I often tried to intervene, as did my colleagues, but the Vietnamese officers saw no problem. Later, as a military psychologist and a leader in my profession, I found myself clearly believing and advocating for ethical (values, attitudes and beliefs) and moral (behavior) as a foundation of our profession as warriors and Americans that can not be compromised.

    "Water boarded" prisoners initially believed their life was at risk. Even if the operators thought it was not - the prisoner experienced the threat to his life - and that constitutes "torture". Rodriguez states otherwise. He addressed the physical act of death and not the psychological fear and expectation of death.

    Means can not be justified in terms of outcomes or ends in America. Not if we dream of being who we claim to be and want to be. Ends never justify means. The only way anyone can justify means is to be blind to the secondary and long the effects of our behavior. The actions of Rodriguez and colleagues HAS changed how we are perceived by ourselves as well as the world.

    Legal does not equate to ethical or moral. There is a more simple test: is it legal?; is it ethical?; is it the right thing to do and consistent with whom we are? Just imagine all of the governments that have called immoral behavior "legal" out of expediency. "Draw and quarter" was legal. Burning at the stake was legal. Dunking witches was legal. "Legal" is not enough.

    But we will always be able to find people who will "protect" us and the Nation with expediency.

    Maybe they are heroes to some, but for all the reasons against what Rodriguez administered that he identifies in his book and attempts to argue against, he has led us to the dark side.

    Maybe he and his colleagues truly believed they had to do what they did - but they must be willing to accept the consequences.

    My first cadet company commander, Nick Rowe, would agree. We must prepare our warriors to resist techniques our enemies would use, but we cannot become them.

    My impression upon finishing the book was that it is a report of a person who is unable to see the long term effects of his actions and who has drawn us closer to an America that we do not believe in. I believe that he is sincere in his views, but misguided in the long term harm these actions do to our view of ourselves as Americans. The book is more of a psychological discovery on Rodriguez, the person, than a defense of the interrogation tactics used.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Review

    Great book but more of an apologia for his CIA career than an expose'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Hard measures lives up to its title!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Did not like

    Rodriquez spends the entire book blaming other people and defending what he had done. I thought it would give some great insight into the CIA and on second thought it may.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Excellent

    Very well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2