Customer Reviews for

Hard Times

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    Thank you for spoiling everything!

    Thank you to the nimrod who, in a very self-aggrandizing sort of way, just gave away the entire PLOT to Hard Times. First of all, I've already read the book so your forsoothly monologue didn't tell me anything I didn't already know (and I have written a few papers on the book) and second of all, who's actually going to want to go out and buy the book now? THINK next time before you post! Okay? If people want the Cliffs Notes version, they can purchase it at Barnes & Noble!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Boring.

    Nothing much happened, just a lot of talking.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Wolvine

    I was aware about the grey ting, but dont kniw what he said will you tell me?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Loathe

    Hisses slowly getting up. He glared hatefully. Take them and go. Dissipears.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Svarton

    *squawks,then drops a stink bomb on megatron. xD*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Sonicfeet

    *pokes arcee*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Nightbird rper

    This is so wierd...i post more than one post! XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Hey. It's Dickens. Of course it's good.

    Not Dickens' best. Lots of loose ends, especially in modern editions. Also not quite the harangue on England's unjust social conditions it's often said to be. Nonetheless, Dickens is a great story teller and this fits that mold. Plus it's short by his standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    A novel worthy of our utmost approbation.

    When she was half-a-dozen years younger, Louisa had been overheard to begin a conversation with her brother one day, by saying, ¿Tom, I wonder¿¿upon which Mr. Gradgrind, who was the person overhearing, stepped forth into the light, and said, ¿Louisa, never wonder!¿ 'pg. 52' It is known, to the force of a single pound weight, what the engine will do. But, not all the calculators of the National Debt can tell me the capacity for good or evil, for love or hatred, for patriotism or discontent, for the decomposition of virtue into vice, or the reverse, at any single moment in the soul of one of these its quiet servants, with the composed faces and the regulated actions. There is no mystery in it. There is an unfathomable mystery in the meanest of them, forever¿ supposing we were to reserve our arithmetic for material objects, and to govern these awful unknown quantities by other means! 'pg. 71' The above excerpts perfectly exemplify the two most prominent themes in Hard Times: the importance of imagination and compassion. In the very first page, we are introduced to Mr. Gradgrind¿s morbid philosophy, which seeks to teach children nothing but facts, to live one¿s life based on reason and exact calculations, and to abstain from anything that approaches Fancy. Mr. Gradgrind¿s name implies his theory, for he veritably grinds the imagination out of his children, turning them into morose machine-like vessels full of facts. It seems Gradgrind can put anything into a tabular statement or answer any question, whether it would be wiser to answer with one¿s heart or not, mathematically. Consequently, his children are taught to do the same. Neither knowing how to navigate life with their heart, they both fall into terrible situations. They cannot feel. They are deadened, lifeless textbooks. However, Louisa¿s soul is under much more constraint than is Tom¿s. She often daydreams and is aware of what her father¿s philosophy destroyed in her infancy. She is compassionate despite her upbringing and cares much for her brother. But the attention and consideration she gives her brother is unrequited. The Gradgrind household is regulated by facts. Coketown is regulated by facts. The workers, called ¿Hands¿, are as apathetic and gloomy as the incessant trails of smoke that emanate from the factory chimneys. Their imaginations have also been stifled. The Coketown magnates are only concerned with monetary gains, and so measure all things with their avarice. The Hands are nearly indistinguishable from the machinery. They are machinery! Each passage pertaining to Coketown adequately and beautifully illustrates how suffocating this industrialized town is, where the inhabitants are only to work and who have no creative outlet or moment of respite. Hard Times states that we cannot govern people with numbers alone. They cannot be regulated by Gradgrind¿s facts, nor are the lower class lazy, ungrateful scum as the self-made man Bounderby would have us believe. People need imaginative stimuli to escape the dreary, monotonous reality of everyday life and their ¿owners¿ need be as concerned about their workers¿ well-being as they are their profits. Yes, Dickens¿ plotting is exact and his characters are exaggerated, but that¿s what I love about his novels. Yes, the villains receive their comeuppance in the end and the heroes and heroines shine as brightly as halos, but this is also something I love about Dickens. I would also like to bring attention to another aspect of Hard Times, and all other Dickens novels, and that is the language. I love the language in this book. It took me twice as long to read this book as it should have and that¿s because I couldn¿t persuade myself to move on from certain passages. I actually read every chapter twice and some paragraphs I cannot count the number of times I read. I loved this book. If you have the faintest interest in classical literature, you¿ll love this book. I could do nothing after reading this book but sig

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    shall another book ever be conceived to exceed hard times' intoxicating lulaby?

    being longwinded is what makes dickens great, but even he has outdone himself once more with this novel. throughout the novel dickens writes without much thought onto how much he is giving away, and later on tries to 'suprise' the reader by confirming those 'hints' on the characters. there are many childrens books that just say see jane run, run jane run, and ettcettra that still have a greater flow than that which may be called hard times... 'they were the best of times, for they were the worst of times' there are countless similarities when comparing this statement to the monotonous ordeal of reading hard times. the only way i have found to stay awake while reading it was to have a pitcher of tea next to me at all times. i would recomend 'the life of Dr. Bejimin Franklin as writen by himself' 'Across the nightinggale floor', and the rest of the 'tales of the otori' series they have alot more action and drop you into the action from the begining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Ok

    I read this book in two weeks as a school assignment this year in eigth grade. It was ok, but I believe Charles Dicken's other novels captured my attention much more than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    Relative

    Dicken's Hard Times is one of the easiest books that I have ever read; I myself suffered the depression of the factories for years before becoming a writer. Although some of his characters are a little larger than life, most of the soul stealing torture in the factory is also large to the point of mystical. I do not reccomend this to anyone who has never enjoyed true defeat. As with any great writing, Hard Times is as true as life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    Its Good ,Really Good

    Personally I find the book curiously interesting.Charles Dickens did a great job and I understand it completly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    A book for Hard Times

    If you read this book you will be glad that you were not part of the time then. Although there were lots of changes, still there was much control in what people could or could not do in their lives and work was limited to class, and education was also. Thie era was good to read about, but I just would not want to live in the way that most people lived then. The book was three books in one. The first was on 'Sowing* It was shown how the seeds were sown here. The the next one was *Reaping* which showed the outcome of actions that had come before, and then the third was *Garnering*, where all the pieces came together that were left, and put in order. I enjoyed the progression of the books in one. Was bored sometimes, because I did not see that there was a strong enough plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Book was o.k. but difficult

    Charles Dickens was a challenge for me. Four months I have been reading books and none of my other books were as difficult as this one. In the begining of the book, the author threw me off by the Old English writing. The story was okay but it probably would have been better if it did a little less detailing and more getting to the point. My problem was that I could read on in the book and not hardly comprehend anything. To tell the truth, I had to go to sparknotes.com just for better understanding of the book. The story was good, but the way the book was written just threw me off a little. So if your a reader out there looking for a challenge in your reading, I suggest that you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    Good Choice

    This book is an interesting book and very detailed. Some parts in this book get complicated, but I would read it again. The begging of it starts out slow but by the time you get to the end you wish it wasn't over. Just when you think everything is going smoothly there is someone there to cause conflict rather it be Tom, Louisa, Stephen or Sissy. If you like books that explain almost every detail this is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2