Customer Reviews for

The Hard Way (Jack Reacher Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I love Jack Reacher

This is the 10th in the Child's thriller franchise 'Jack Reacher'. I love Reacher and The Hard Way is the best. Reacher is ex-military and he lives off the books no phone, no address, carries his toothbrush in his pocket, no suitcase, and buys clothes, as he needs th...
This is the 10th in the Child's thriller franchise 'Jack Reacher'. I love Reacher and The Hard Way is the best. Reacher is ex-military and he lives off the books no phone, no address, carries his toothbrush in his pocket, no suitcase, and buys clothes, as he needs them. If you haven't read any of these exciting books, start with the Killing Floor. They don't have to be read in order, but when you're reading a series, knowing the back-story adds to your enjoyment of the current novel.

posted by Anonymous on August 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not at all his best

I'm a huge fan of the series overall but there have been one or two "less than thrilling" thrill rides, including The Hard Way. The first two hundred pages or so are not at all exciting.....rather, they're nearly DULL. The story starts to shift a little and pick up ...
I'm a huge fan of the series overall but there have been one or two "less than thrilling" thrill rides, including The Hard Way. The first two hundred pages or so are not at all exciting.....rather, they're nearly DULL. The story starts to shift a little and pick up right around the middle of the book and then BAM - the action, excitement and story itself all get rolling and do not stop. You definitely do not want to start with this book if you are new to the Jack Reacher series. If you're reading them in order, as I am, no need to skip this one. Just know it might take a little while to get into the story.

posted by SlapShot62 on April 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    I love Jack Reacher

    This is the 10th in the Child's thriller franchise 'Jack Reacher'. I love Reacher and The Hard Way is the best. Reacher is ex-military and he lives off the books no phone, no address, carries his toothbrush in his pocket, no suitcase, and buys clothes, as he needs them. If you haven't read any of these exciting books, start with the Killing Floor. They don't have to be read in order, but when you're reading a series, knowing the back-story adds to your enjoyment of the current novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great read!

    Excellent. Typical Reacher!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Jack Reacher

    Another awesome read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Simple, mindless and escapist

    But isnt that what some books should do? I enjoy the Reacher series. Jack rolls into town. Bad guys are doing bad things and reacher fixes them. Usually with violence. Add in a little romance. What more could a guy ask for.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    I love Jack Reacher!

    Another great tale from Lee Child. The only bad thing about this book is that I can't read it fast enough! Every time I think I have it solved, something else pops up and it's back to square one. Like all his books, a REALLY GREAT READ! I've been working my way through the series from #1, and hate the thought of getting to the end of them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Lee Child does it again, another great read.

    It draws you in and you don't know what's going to happen next. Jack Reacher is a different type of hero,not a goodie goodie , but someone who tries to do what right.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Reacher lives up to his boast of being a super investigator with

    Reacher lives up to his boast of being a super investigator with enough twists and turns in the plot to keep the going-ons suspenseful. good read!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    As always...Outstanding

    I just love this series. It will be a sad day when I'm caught up on the series. Takes you through another journey of Jack Reacher, his challenges and how he wins at the end of the day.

    Great Read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Made me go back

    I was looking for a new author and series of books to read. I started with The Hard Way. It was good enough that I went back to the beginning and started working my way up. Its a great series and I'm really enjoying it. Up to #3 already. Jack Reacher is a great character. LOL though....anybody whose read his stories has got the be thinking the same thing I am....Tom Cruise? Really?????

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Lee Childs is one of the few authors that I will walk into the b

    Lee Childs is one of the few authors that I will walk into the book store and pick up a copy of his latest book and buy it without even reading the blurb on the cover. I know it will be good.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Jack Reacher is the definition of Bad A$$. If you like "ta

    Jack Reacher is the definition of Bad A$$. If you like "take no prisoners" type characters with a pension for delivering street justice in a justifiably violent manner, then the Reacher series is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great Story

    Not one of his best, but definetly worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    Entertaining

    Typical Jack Reacher story. Lots of action, well put together. Still don't see how Tom Cruise will play Jack Reacher in the movies without a total rewrite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Jack Reacher stories are always interesting.

    There is a lot of violence in this very interesting story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not at all his best

    I'm a huge fan of the series overall but there have been one or two "less than thrilling" thrill rides, including The Hard Way. The first two hundred pages or so are not at all exciting.....rather, they're nearly DULL. The story starts to shift a little and pick up right around the middle of the book and then BAM - the action, excitement and story itself all get rolling and do not stop. You definitely do not want to start with this book if you are new to the Jack Reacher series. If you're reading them in order, as I am, no need to skip this one. Just know it might take a little while to get into the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Easy, pleasant reading!

    My first Lee Childs. Nicely written - sequential and smooth; easy to follow, suspenseful to the end. My husband enjoyed too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    When in doubt, reach for a Reacher

    This was the first Reacher novel that I read. I was hooked from the first few pages. If you're looking for a hero to root for with wit and action, then Jack Reacher is the character for you. I've since read all of the other Reacher novels and they are all Jakester Recommendations.<BR/><BR/>As my good friend Billy said, "Lee Child's Reacher has spoiled me from other characters and authors. Life is too short to pass up reading a Reacher if you have one available".<BR/><BR/>Well said.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    I'm a huge fan of Lee Child's books. He never disappoints. The Jack Reacher character is compelling, and the plot lines keep you guessing. The only problem with his books are that once you get started you can't put them down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    THE HARD WAY

    I chose this book because I wanted to listen to a book while I worked out. My local librarian suggested THE HARD WAY when I said I wanted a thriller, adventure type novel. I was not disappointed. After starting the story I became so interested in the plot that even after I finished my work-out I kept listening through some housework I had to do. And I couldn't stop listening so I dreamed up more housework to get done. Usually I don't like a lot of description in a novel because I think it slows the story but I thought Child did a very good job of balancing it with the faster paced, more interesting action and dialog. Child's hero, Reacher is ex-military and finds himself working for a sadistic mercernary whose wife has become kidnapped. He offers Reacher one million to find who took her. As the plot unravels, the reader and Reacher find it is difficult to tell who the real good guys are. I liked this story and would read another of Child's books. The actor reading THE HARD WAY did a fantastic job of different voices and acting out the parts, making my experience pleasant and entertaining. This novel helped me forget I was doing a boring work-out and tedious housework, so thank you Mr. Child. A. D. Tarbox, author of ALREADY ASLEEP and the six book NATURE'S BOUNTY series coming out August 2008

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    SUPER!!

    This is my first Reacher book -- I will read more! The only hero better is Spenser in the Robert Parker books. If you like ONE of these guys you must read the other at least once!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14