Customer Reviews for

Hard to Love

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

I love her books. If you want a sweet love story that will make your heart swell, make you cry, and in need of a cold shower than this is it!

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I haven't started reading yet, just wanted to point out that thi

I haven't started reading yet, just wanted to point out that this story is only 129 pages. The product details says it has 226.

posted by BlueEyeBookReader on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great read

    I love this author. I wish the ending was more developed but it was still a great read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    He's a tattooed porn star, construction worker, former fighter,

    He's a tattooed porn star, construction worker, former fighter, AND he's an all out hero. Yep, he is Cade and totally swoon worthy. Cade has lived a hard life, being thrust into adult responsibilities when he merely a teenager. He lived with and cared for his ailing grandparents until they died, and he took on the full custody of his three-year old sister, Lily, who suffers from spina bifida. He is all about Lily and will do anything to ensure her care. But, when the medical bills start piling up, he needs more than just his meager construction wages, so he takes the only offer on the table that will yield him enough money to secure Lily's healthcare....that of a porn star. 




    Alexa has just hit the big 2-1, but she hasn't experienced all life has to offer. As a girl of privilege, she has always been too busy to really date, and has remained a virgin, but on her 21st birthday, her best friend MacKenzie plans to make sure she is taken care of in that department and who better than a porn star? Enter Cade....aww but this isn't the first time Alexa has laid eyes on Cade. She had the [awkward] pleasure of seeing and tending to Cade at the hospital where she is a nursing student. But upon seeing him at a bar during her birthday celebration, MacKenzie is all too eager to offer Alexa's vagina on a platter to Cade. Like any hot blooded male who has developed a crush on his nurse, Cade offers his address for when Alexa is ready to attend the Cade School of Sex, so to speak, and it isn't helping matters that Alexa has already been crushing on this beautiful specimen of pure overloaded testosterone.




    When Alexa makes use of Cade's address, but for different reasons, she is not prepared for what she sees. She doesn't see porn star Cade. She gets a glimpse of the REAL Cade ... with Lily.




    "I couldn't help but compare how very different our lives were. My parents and I vacationed in Italy and spent Christmases at our ski lodge, and I never wanted for anything growing up--except for maybe more freedom. Cade was saddled with a special-needs child." ~ Alexa








    The story evolves from here in such a sweet and heartfelt manner, it is hard to put this book down. The slow romance between Alexa and Cade is truly endearing. The common element they both share that feeds their romance is none other than an adorable six year old named Lily. The bonds that are formed between Lily and Alexa are inspiring and act as the catalyst to Cade's affection toward Alexa. But Cade doesn't feel he is good enough for the innocent and privileged Alexa...




    "How could I be enough for you, baby? You deserve the world. My own parents didn't even want me..." ~ Cade








    ...but Alexa knows what she wants and needs - Cade....




    "You might not have been who I ever pictured myself with, but you're exactly what I need..." ~ Alexa








    ...that is until her heart becomes at risk. Let the volley begin. Their romance suddenly is not just a risk of heartache for Cade and Alexa. Lily is fully invested in Alexa and that precious child's heart is also on the firing line with the push-away pull-together attraction these two feel for each other. 




    Kendall Ryan has written a heart warming love story of two polar opposites with a different type of humanity that we rarely see in our alpha males. The steam is scorching, yet not quite to the point of making me glisten in afterglow. The very first sentence had me laughing out loud, but the epilogue had me squeeing out loud, bringing the story full circle to the happy ever after I so badly wanted for these three characters. I really had a hard time putting this one down. This is a very fast read with a small degree of angst, but is very much worth reading. While I love the story, it didn't quite make the 5 star mark for me. There was just something missing in the evolution of the story keeping it at 3.5 to 4 stars in emotional reaction for me.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    TiWi

    Short Cute erotic story!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    GREAT FAST READ!

    Good story! Quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Hard to Love was a fun read with a great story. I enjoyed the ch

    Hard to Love was a fun read with a great story. I enjoyed the characters and loved the ending. I really liked the style of writing from two different points of view. That style really helped keep it fast paced for me because I couldn't wait to find out what the other person thoughts were or what their response would be. I definitely look forward to reading more books from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Cute, easy read.

    Really short but its cute. The plot is okay. A fast short book to enjoy over a weekend or something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    if like hot love story this one make you cry and in need of a shower loved every bit of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Ok, yes, when I read the Book Description, what got me curious a

    Ok, yes, when I read the Book Description, what got me curious about reading this novel, was Cade being an adult movie actor, and I was interested in how he would meet a girl like Alexa, who is very, well I guess innocent, and so again I was like, how do they meet? Well, you will read that in the first chapter, and you'll read how Cade gets himself to the hospital, and thus is helped by nursing student, Alexa. To me, their first meeting, just really intrigued me to continue on in this story, and I've gotta say, this was a really good read. 
    I believe Cade is written really well, and it helped me to understand why he's in the adult film industry, by reading his POV, along with Alexa's. I really liked these two characters and felt that they definitely had a spark when they meet for the second time, and well along with their oh so very steamy scenes, I saw their compassionate sides with Lily, Cade's younger sister, who has a serious medical condition that really stacks medical costs, so to me, I understand why Cade did Adult films, cage fighting, and other jobs, because, he's her guardian, and through the Author's writing, you can tell, how much he loves and cares for Lily, and how she loves him back. Alexa too, takes not only genuine interest to be around Lily, but sees her as a package along with Cade, like if she was to be with Cade, Lily would be in the picture, and I think she really loves that, as I loved reading about Lily :)
    This is a definite great Adult Romance Read, and I won't write too much more, as I think you should really read this for yourself, and you'll read a story filled with drama, sex, possible feelings of love and lots more, so check it out! :)
    My Rating: 4.3/5R-Rated! Adults Only (18+) [Strong Language & Mature Sexual Content] 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    I won't lie, I saw porn star and I was pretty much sold. Hook. L

    I won't lie, I saw porn star and I was pretty much sold. Hook. Line. Sinker. Besides that, this sounded like a truly unique and intriguing story. I wasn't disappointed. I quickly fell in love with Cade and I really liked Alexa. 




    What I liked the most about Cade was that he works hard. He has custody of his disabled sister and will do what ever it takes to make sure she has the care she needs. Including staring in "adult" films. Doesn't that just melt your heart? Cade and his sister had such a great relationship. Now, said career, leads him to Alexa. While the circumstances surrounding their meeting were a bit unusual, I liked that Alexa seemed to see Cade underneath the "star". At least eventually. 




    Alexa was a genuinely caring person. She is a nurse, so you'd expect a bit of compassion with her chosen career, but I really admired her for really seeing Cade for who he was. Alexa came from a very different background than Cade. While she grew up in a loving household, Cade did not. I loved that she not only truly wanted to help his sister, but she also wanted to show them what a loving family life could be like. 




    As for the steam level...HOT. Cade has moves. No doubt. He is definitely blessed physically as well. Alexa is less than experienced, so at first she's a bit nervous about how this pony show will go. Never fear, Cade is a gentleman and he really does care for her, so he lets her set the pace. There were some sweet moments. There were steamy moments. Then there were the scorching HOT moments. And I loved every minute of it. 




    Overall, Hard to Love was a really good read for me. I liked the characters and the story was good. This is the second book I've read by Kendall Ryan and it certainly won't be my last. I think her talent lies in creating intriguing characters and truly interesting story lines. Not to mention her characters voices. They are so real and often times funny. They say things I would say to my friends. If you're looking for a short, sexy read that has substance, check this one out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kendall Ryan had me at porn star! Then add in a wonderful, feel

    Kendall Ryan had me at porn star! Then add in a wonderful, feel good- in so many ways- love story? Sold!

    "He was right that I did want it, but I wasn't about to tell him that. His cockiness was now really beginning to get on my nerves. 'Get over yourself. It'll be a cold day in hell when I come asking you for sex.' "

    In Hard to Love, Alexa is this determined, feisty, and self-assured (for the most part) woman who knows what she wants and doesn't take crap from anyone, including Cade. She also has this vulnerable side to her that surfaced. She never came across as weak and that was refreshing. I was cheering for her and crying with her!

    And then there's Cade, packing a python in his pants and a heart of gold. He does make some choices that made me want to smack him and say 'find another way!' At the same time, I hurt for him when he felt the choices were his only options. It certainly wasn't hard to love Cade when there was much to about him, including his caring for and selflessness toward his little sister, Lily.

    Cade & Cupcake - a hot, sexy, and fun love story. Kendall Ryan had me wrapped up in her characters’ lives and emotions right away. Another great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Short

    Too short of book 4 me but it wasa quick sexy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Liked

    I liked this book but didnt like that he slept with someone after sleeping with the girl he loved

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Saucey!

    Saucey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Heart warming

    Heart warming story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    good

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Very nice read. Unique story with heart warming characters with

    Very nice read. Unique story with heart warming characters with a little edge. Diffiently worth a look

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    cute

    liked it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3