Customer Reviews for

Hardly Knew Her (Short Story)

Average Rating 3
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

B&N Bait and Switch

I love short stories and wanted to try this new author. I read the previous 2 reviews, but carefully read the product description as a collection of short stories at 304 pages. I made the (very wrong) assumption that the file had been corrected and that this was as adve...
I love short stories and wanted to try this new author. I read the previous 2 reviews, but carefully read the product description as a collection of short stories at 304 pages. I made the (very wrong) assumption that the file had been corrected and that this was as advertised. After all, B&N wouldn't be on notice from at least 2 people that it was touting a single story of 21 pages as one that was 304 pages, and then continue that tactic, would it? Apparently so. I purchased my download on Friday night. I was shocked to see that it was still 21 pages. As soon as I received the email with my order number, I wrote an email to customer service expressing my extreme displeasure with the bait and switch (which it now seemed it was, vs just an error), and telling them I wanted a refund. On Monday I received a generic email indicating that my email had been received and directing me to the FAQS or to call customer service. I responded and asked them to reply to the email, which as of Tuesday morning they have not. And this morning, my credit card was charged. I am completely disgusted with B&N for the way they are handling this and will never make another online purchase from them.

posted by DebbDL on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Warning!!! Do not buy. This is a single short story, not a book of stories.

The description says it is a book of short stories and I just bought it and it is ONE short story. I sent an email to customer service and requested a refund or the full book as advertised. We'll see how that goes.

posted by purple_lady on January 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    B&N Bait and Switch

    I love short stories and wanted to try this new author. I read the previous 2 reviews, but carefully read the product description as a collection of short stories at 304 pages. I made the (very wrong) assumption that the file had been corrected and that this was as advertised. After all, B&N wouldn't be on notice from at least 2 people that it was touting a single story of 21 pages as one that was 304 pages, and then continue that tactic, would it? Apparently so. I purchased my download on Friday night. I was shocked to see that it was still 21 pages. As soon as I received the email with my order number, I wrote an email to customer service expressing my extreme displeasure with the bait and switch (which it now seemed it was, vs just an error), and telling them I wanted a refund. On Monday I received a generic email indicating that my email had been received and directing me to the FAQS or to call customer service. I responded and asked them to reply to the email, which as of Tuesday morning they have not. And this morning, my credit card was charged. I am completely disgusted with B&N for the way they are handling this and will never make another online purchase from them.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not a book of short stories, just one 21-pager.

    After perusing the table of contents and other info clearly indicating a complete book of multiple short stories, I bought this ebook and got a 21-page short story. Look at the other similar review comments before you buy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Warning!!! Do not buy. This is a single short story, not a book of stories.

    The description says it is a book of short stories and I just bought it and it is ONE short story. I sent an email to customer service and requested a refund or the full book as advertised. We'll see how that goes.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Misleading

    This is NOT a collection of her short stories, rather, it is ONE short story only 21 pages. The story is decent, but who wants to download and pay for one very short story???

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    CAREFUL!

    This is just the title short story not the entire book. Meanwhile, Amazon is offering the book at this price. I have been ripped off!!

    It's an excellent collection but BN is misrepresenting what they are selling here!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    Master of the Short Story

    I picked this book up thinking it was another mystery NOVEL written by Laura Lippman. Twice friends have given me books of short stories only to hear me moan, but I DON'T like short stories. Now I can say I do if they are written by Laura Lippman. The twist, the turns, the wonderful characters and all some how compacted into bite size stories. Wow! If you are like me and always thought you didn't like short stories, give these a try and they just might change your mind. Thank you Laura Lippman!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    21 pages - a ripoff!!

    don't bother

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Great

    Great short story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    THIS IS NOT THE FULL BOOK

    THIS IS BEING SOLD AS THE FULL BOOK. THIS IS ONLY A SINGLE STORY AND 21pp. B&N will not do anything but refund your money, you will not be able to get the book at the advertised price, if you want the full book, it's $7.99.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2