Customer Reviews for

Hardwired

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

4.5 Stars Hardwired by Meredith Wild is a love a story and so mu

4.5 Stars
Hardwired by Meredith Wild is a love a story and so much more. The book is told in first person by Erica Hathaway; she is a fresh graduate from Harvard University, entrepreneur of her own Internet start-up fashion site–the company that she has poured her life ...
4.5 Stars
Hardwired by Meredith Wild is a love a story and so much more. The book is told in first person by Erica Hathaway; she is a fresh graduate from Harvard University, entrepreneur of her own Internet start-up fashion site–the company that she has poured her life into imagining and creating out of nothing. The company is her passion. She is alone in the world except for her mom’s best friend Maria and her two business partners, Allie and Sid.




Enter Blake Landon; he literally bumps into Erica, and the sensual sparks fly. Sexy and devilishly handsome, he is every woman’s fantasy man. The bump is short and sweet, but it leaves Erica with fantasy material, as the girl has no time for a social life. Psst, he is a billionaire control freak but a likeable billionaire control freak. He is going to have problems with ‘all career’ Erica and that is just how it is going to be. Her company is her single-minded focus, and she is a driven individual; she doesn’t have time for a man. So begins the journey of Erica and Blake meeting.




What I like about this book is that the plot was multifaceted. First you had the story line of Erica and her partners trying to get capital to grow their business. Erica and her partners Sid and Allie are having growing pains. They are all newly graduated from Harvard and expected to make their lives in the big bad non-academic world of real life. Each of the partners aren’t just cardboard cut out place holders in for the main romance plot. They are three-dimensional characters who have their own lives. Sid isn’t as fleshed out as Allie, but I expect that to happen as the series progresses.




Then, of course, you have the love story between Blake and Erica. No, this isn’t ‘I fall at your feet and worship you because you are a billionaire time’ for Erica. This is ‘I fight tooth and nail to ignore the pull for the billionaire and stand up for myself time’ for Erica. Hey, the girl is a scotch drinker, and I expected nothing less. If she would have drank one of those fruity drinks, then all bets were off. Now I just need to know her brand to know how committed I will be to Erica. Yes, I’m a Scotch snob. Sue Me.




Then there was a very interesting plot twist in the book revolving around Erica’s past, and guess what? I am not going to spoil it for anyone. But boy, it is a big blow-up-the-book type twist. This was an enjoyable book with characters I can’t wait to read more about, as there is a sequel coming entitled Hardpressed.

posted by Karen_E on September 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Do not believe reviews

This was a watered down version of Fifty Shades. I was disappointed by the writing. The story copied elements from Fifty but to me could not capture the feeling of passion. Okay read.

posted by 14084562 on April 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    4.5 Stars Hardwired by Meredith Wild is a love a story and so mu

    4.5 Stars
    Hardwired by Meredith Wild is a love a story and so much more. The book is told in first person by Erica Hathaway; she is a fresh graduate from Harvard University, entrepreneur of her own Internet start-up fashion site–the company that she has poured her life into imagining and creating out of nothing. The company is her passion. She is alone in the world except for her mom’s best friend Maria and her two business partners, Allie and Sid.




    Enter Blake Landon; he literally bumps into Erica, and the sensual sparks fly. Sexy and devilishly handsome, he is every woman’s fantasy man. The bump is short and sweet, but it leaves Erica with fantasy material, as the girl has no time for a social life. Psst, he is a billionaire control freak but a likeable billionaire control freak. He is going to have problems with ‘all career’ Erica and that is just how it is going to be. Her company is her single-minded focus, and she is a driven individual; she doesn’t have time for a man. So begins the journey of Erica and Blake meeting.




    What I like about this book is that the plot was multifaceted. First you had the story line of Erica and her partners trying to get capital to grow their business. Erica and her partners Sid and Allie are having growing pains. They are all newly graduated from Harvard and expected to make their lives in the big bad non-academic world of real life. Each of the partners aren’t just cardboard cut out place holders in for the main romance plot. They are three-dimensional characters who have their own lives. Sid isn’t as fleshed out as Allie, but I expect that to happen as the series progresses.




    Then, of course, you have the love story between Blake and Erica. No, this isn’t ‘I fall at your feet and worship you because you are a billionaire time’ for Erica. This is ‘I fight tooth and nail to ignore the pull for the billionaire and stand up for myself time’ for Erica. Hey, the girl is a scotch drinker, and I expected nothing less. If she would have drank one of those fruity drinks, then all bets were off. Now I just need to know her brand to know how committed I will be to Erica. Yes, I’m a Scotch snob. Sue Me.




    Then there was a very interesting plot twist in the book revolving around Erica’s past, and guess what? I am not going to spoil it for anyone. But boy, it is a big blow-up-the-book type twist. This was an enjoyable book with characters I can’t wait to read more about, as there is a sequel coming entitled Hardpressed.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Fantastic book!  Well written....thoroughly enjoyed.  Excited fo

    Fantastic book!  Well written....thoroughly enjoyed.  Excited for book 2 release!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I loved the book excited to see what Hardpressed will bring!!!

    I loved the book excited to see what Hardpressed will bring!!!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    I LOVED HARDWIRED Didn't seem to have any problems on my Nook th

    I LOVED HARDWIRED
    Didn't seem to have any problems on my Nook they must have fixed what ever the problem was. Anyways I couldn't put the book down. This is my new favorite author for sure! Totally in love with Blake!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Love it!

    I couldn't put this book down! I can't wait for Hardpressed to come out!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    THE BOOK LOOKS GREAT ON NOOK NOW!!! I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! There

    THE BOOK LOOKS GREAT ON NOOK NOW!!!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! There was a bug on NOOK copies ordered before the 12th of September. If you ordered before then you can just "LEND" your copy to yourself and it'll be the new bug free version. 

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    WORTH THE WAIT!  Can't wait to read Hardpressed next!  Thank you

    WORTH THE WAIT!  Can't wait to read Hardpressed next!  Thank you for finally making this book available for Nook readers!! I waited a couple months to read Hardwired and it did not disappoint! I LOVED THIS BOOK! 

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! Can't wait for Hardpressed!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! Can't wait for Hardpressed!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Do not believe reviews

    This was a watered down version of Fifty Shades. I was disappointed by the writing. The story copied elements from Fifty but to me could not capture the feeling of passion. Okay read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    anxious for the next installment

    The character relationship is strained and left me wondering if sexual attraction is enough to base a relationship on. I love how the characters walls started to come down. I would have liked more character building to appreciate the dynamics. Main character seems beyond naive in her actions. Dispite all that I am beyond anxious to see where the author chooses to take these two.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    2 Stars. Book + Reviews = Disappointed! I purchased this book b

    2 Stars. Book + Reviews = Disappointed!

    I purchased this book because B&N showed it in the "Customers Who Bought This Also Bought" section. I enjoyed Shayla Black''s novels and the Fifty Shades Trilogy (lacked writing skills, but it was entertaining) and books similar to this genre, so the high ratings and positive feedback about this novel enticed me.

    I was disappointed from beginning to end. It wasn't anything refreshing, in fact, it felt like a copycat version of Fifty Shades. Rich guy with issues, young girl with issues - it's been done many times before. Also, the characters and their relationship felt rushed. Erica seemed bipolar - one minute she lusts for Blake, then she despises him...it's a smorgasbord of shallow emotions that left me confused. If you really want to read this, I suggest purchasing the Nook version so you don't waste your money on the paperback.

    Happy reading! =)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Nook's fault, not the author's

    When I came to page 20, right before the page break, I noticed that the a line continued off the page and apparently a bunch happened that I've missed because after the break, they're discussing the fun night they had. I really wish i could sewer exactly what they were talking about.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Great

    Really enjoyed this one. The characters and the story were well developed and the writing was very good. The background story was quite original, setting it apart from the stereorypical billionaire-meets-poor-girl type of romance. The heroine was smart and independent, which was a welcome departure from the lacklustered heroines of most romance books. Add to that the suspense surrounding the primary and secondary characters, and you get an intriguing plot intertwined with a scorching romance that keeps you turning pages. I already bought the sequel book and look forward to reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Meredith Wild is my new favorite author! I just loved Hardwired!

    Meredith Wild is my new favorite author! I just loved Hardwired!  LOVE BLAKE! I hope that Hardpressed gets released on Nook soon!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Not what you think

    This is not fifty shades of grey. Yes blake is a controling rich guy who likes bdsm but thats were the similarities end. Although it wasnt what i expected i fell in love with the charaters. It was a good book the only problem i had was that the walls they built keeping others out came down way to fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Worst Book Ever

    Someone said this book was kind of like Fifty shades of grey(really)... please tell me what pages or chapters y'all was reading. Worsted Ever!!!! No star's but that one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Must Read

    Great Book. I could not put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    Good read

    Good read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Same theme as the Fifty Shades and Crossfire series (dominating

    Same theme as the Fifty Shades and Crossfire series (dominating rich guy, troubled past...yada yada yada). Overall not a bad story, good enough I plan to continue on to the next book. Lacks the depth you get from Fifty Shades and I found myself really not feeling the emotional connection between the characthers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    YardieBookFanatic

    This is definitely not a FSOG or a Crossfire comparison. The story was all over the placd and so was Eric. Submissive, meek then dominant full of angst... Okay for a 'supposingly' strong minded female sure had issues. Blake was a strong Alpha male who surprisingly confessed love early on. Erica's BFF was flakey, Allie and so not a BF. The sex scenes were so flowery and verbous in some scenes.. I bought the series so I will finish reasding it. This won't be a re-read for me.
    LOVETOREAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7