Customer Reviews for

Harem

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sisters In the Struggle

I just finished Harem and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I work for a major book store and hundreds of books are often just lying around the office, and I picked up this book and read it and I felt as though I was there in the kingdom with Gold Dust, the Shah, Raven an...
I just finished Harem and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I work for a major book store and hundreds of books are often just lying around the office, and I picked up this book and read it and I felt as though I was there in the kingdom with Gold Dust, the Shah, Raven and the others. The descriptions and vivid details were just wonderful. As an African American woman with little to no knowledge of ancient Persia, your book provided a look into a world I would have never known. I think the story was a universal story about the power and love of all women. Thanks Ms. Mossanen so much for a great book , and I look forward to reading your next novel.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too sexual

I'm no prude, but this book is little more than a trashy romance novel.

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Harem

    After reading HAREM, I realized how little we Americans know about the world out there and about lives of men and women in the middle east. HAREM was not only an enjoyable novel I couldn't put down, but I learned about the plight of women, about eunuchs, royalty, and the way of life in Persia. The characters kept me in their grip and I didn't want to leave this world where I could smell every smell, see every color, and experience the feelings of the characters. This novel is perfect for a movie Thank you Ms Mossanen

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Sisters In the Struggle

    I just finished Harem and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I work for a major book store and hundreds of books are often just lying around the office, and I picked up this book and read it and I felt as though I was there in the kingdom with Gold Dust, the Shah, Raven and the others. The descriptions and vivid details were just wonderful. As an African American woman with little to no knowledge of ancient Persia, your book provided a look into a world I would have never known. I think the story was a universal story about the power and love of all women. Thanks Ms. Mossanen so much for a great book , and I look forward to reading your next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2002

    Harem

    Ms Mossanen's novel, HAREM,is a rewarding and informative journey into the labyrinths of an exotic period I knew nothing about. The scope of her meticulous research is clear on every page. I can't wait to read her next novel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    Captivating!

    Harem was a delight to read! The atmosphere and enviroment of the time and place were so real that I thought about it throughout the day. Beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    wonderful

    this book was amazing i got so into it that when i finished it i couldnt stop thinking about the caracters the names were awsome i loved every bit of it i wished it neve ended. i cant wait for her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    Harem

    I work for a book store in Florida. I see hundereds of new books every week, but picked up HAREM because I was intrigued by the endorsements and by the beautiful cover. From the first page to the very last, I was amazed that a first time author could have such insight into her subject matter and know her characters so intimately. I had no previous knowledge of ancient Persia, Harems, eunuchs, or the wonderful and intricate world of court. I not only learned about the history of the time but was thoroughly engrossed by Rebekah, Raven, the king and his eunuch. I believe HAREM is destined to be a movie and have no doubt it will be optioned soon. I highly recommend the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    Excellent Historical detail and deeply satisfying

    I enjoy historical novels and have especially enjoyed HAREM. HAREM is the most authentic historical depiction of ancient Persia I have ever read. Clearly the author has done her homework. I also enjoyed the strong female characters and the interesting male protagonists. This was a very satisfying read, both informative and a page turner. Read HAREM! You will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Harem

    I read 'Harem,' and couldn't help but read aloud certain scenes to my girl friend. I was especially taken by the complexity of Rebekah, the protagonist, and the vast research the author had done to understand the psychology of eunuchs and the women who lived in harems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2002

    An engrossing journey into an unknown land

    luscious writing and a captivating story that seduces and captures the reader...an entire universe awaits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Harem

    I received my copy of 'Harem' three days ago and could not part from the gripping characters of this lush novel until the very end. The voice is beautiful and poetic, and the story woven with great expertise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    Harem

    I began reading the book two nights ago and couldn't put it down until two AM each night. Every page opened another exciting universe of eunuchs, kings, and harem women who were more resourceful than any contemporary politician. I can't wait to get back from work to finish this amazing novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Harem

    As a businessman, I wondered if I would enjoy a historical love story, but I did--very much so. The story moves smoothly from the life in the Jewish ghetto into the intricacies of the palace and its politics. I learned a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    Extremely Entertaining

    I enjoyed the book "Harem" so much that I am on my second reading! It's greatly entertaining and erotic. I've read a lot of novels in my time, but so far have never read a book twice! I recommend it highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    Imaginative tale of sex and revenge

    A work of phenomenal imagination; gripping intense tale of sex and revenge beautifully written. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    Harem

    A must read for every book club. Perfect summer reading. Engrossing. Fascinating. Erotic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    Harem

    A fascination epic spanning three generations of women who would stop at nothing to achieve their dreams. From the Jewish Quarter to the posh palace of the shah, every page was richly drawn and mesmerizing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    Harem

    I was completely captivated from the first page to the very last. Ms. Mossanen is an unparalleled guide who takes the reader by the hand and leads them into the erotic and dangerous world of the shah's harem. The images the author conjures are fascinating, and I learned more about the mesmerizing world of eunuchs and women in the harem, than I ever thought possible in a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    Harem

    I was captivated from the very first page of HAREM. I followed the mesmerizing character of Rebekah through the ghetto and into the HAREM of the king. I loved all the characters. Rebeakah, Gold Dust, the Shah. What a colorful cast. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1